We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent hotel but nothing special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of NH Schiller

Save Saved
You added NH Schiller to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
NH Schiller
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rembrandtplein 26-36, 1017 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Golden Tulip Schiller) (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Buffet Breakfast
Ranked #148 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A decent hotel but nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

A decent hotel in a very central and well connected area of Amsterdam, ideal if you want to be near the museum district, the flower market and walking distance to the main shopping district.

The problem is that it is situated on a popular night life spot and therefore rooms facing the square suffer from a lot of noise until the early hours of the morning.

On the plus side, rooms are fairly nice and clean even though they're rather small and the staff are very friendly and attentive.

Breakfast was what is expected from a 4 star hotel although the buffet could do with being restocked more frequently with fresh produce as things were a bit stale towards the final hour of service.

All and all a decent hotel for the price and star rating and if you bag an online offer then it can be good value for money.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    140
    244
    137
    40
    15
See reviews for
45
226
44
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

I read TripAdvisor before we went to this hotel and was ready at reception to deal with the reported problem of noisy rooms. On checking in I said about the reviews all reporting the noise at the front of the hotel and asked for a quiet room at the back.
'No problem' and gave me a room 318. This turned out to be on the side wall of the hotel , shared with 2 clubs!!! The base sounds went on well into the night and sleep was impossible.
The following morning they reassigned us to an up graded room in the back,centre of the hotel...which was great.
Shame it took 3 goes, and a rubbish night to get it right.

Room Tip: Be insistent at checking in that you want a quiet room, unless you are going clubbing anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

I been amsterdam a good few times a year and is my favourite city my. First time staying at the nh schiller and was concerned with the reviews of noise and yet I never found it a problem , I booked for a standard double a month ago and on arrival was upgraded for free to a gorgeous spacious room on the first floor with a gorgeous huge balcony with amazing views of the square. I am 27 so I don't mind noise but I didn't hear any I woke each morning to beautiful views of the square and people starting there day. The service was amazing and a very clean place I will be coming back ! Close to everything and brilliant for couples

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
basingstoke
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We booked this through Lastminute.com using one of their "top secret" hotels. A mistake we shall not make again. Hadn't done this before but thought it might be fun! When we had booked and then the hotel was revealed, we were a little concerned at reading the reviews on Schiller, especially about them supplying earplugs, but thought we'd go with it anyway.
The hotel is tired and in my opinion is no way worthy of 4 stars. We were given a room on the 4th floor overlooking the square, which looked very pretty with all the lights. The room was smallish, but would have been adequate if it weren't for the ridiculous lack of storage. There was just one single wardrobe (photos below) which contained the safe and the tea and coffee making facilities and some hangers for half height hanging. When putting a t-shirt on a hanger it then draped all over the cups etc. No drawers or even hooks on backs of doors so nowhere to hang long winter coats.
But the noise from Rembrandt square was horrendous until the early hours. Coupled with a not very comfy bed either.
Next morning we asked to change rooms and this was happily done to a slightly larger room on the 2nd floor at the back of the hotel (with some storage!) This did help with the noise issue to a certain degree, but it was just so loud that we could still hear the bass beating away at 3:30am and again the bed was wickedly firm.
Cleanliness was adequate, nice crisp sheets.
Breakfast was fabulous. If you book the day before it is 15 euros otherwise 20 euros on the morning. We did pre-book but the bill given to us each morning was for 20, but was amended when mentioned. Plenty of juices, breads and pastries, chesses and meats, cereals, yogurts, fruits and gorgeous tiny pancakes. Kept me going all day long.
But no matter how good the breakfast we shall not be going back.

Room Tip: Ask if they have a soundproofed one?
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
braintree
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We left the hotel this morning after spending two days in the city.

After an early morning flight, a short train ride to the central amsterdam station we took a tram to rembrandtsplein. Needn't have bothered should have walked as it's about 15 minutes walk.

Hotel easy to find and allowed us to checkin at 11:00 given it was a Monday morning, still appreciated as we could dump our bags and hit the streets early. We did see a few bags behind the reception desks so looks like you have a safe place to leave your stuff if necessary.

We were provided with a great room, #417, facing the front of the hotel. We were provided with earplugs but didn't need them given the time of year. Front facing was great though as we had a great view of the square.

We had breakfast one of the days and for 15 euros it represented excellent value for money. Hot and cold selection. Normal fare.

Plenty of access to the old town from this hotel no need for tram passes etc as you can walk everywhere.

Didn't eat in the restaurant but would have done if we were there for more time.

In short great hotel, great staff, a little dated but safe (safe in room) clean and very well priced.

100% satisfied.

Hotel has art deco style, all original :)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

I stayed 3 night i booked a junior suite from 11th of january till 14th the check inn took a second the lady at check inn was so friendly and smiling the room was of a good size and a view of a back yard and other houses which was nice and quite this was my first time staying at nh schiller and defiantly i will choose this hotel again.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the junior suit its worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Restaurant, Cit...
Show More
Rembrandtplein
NH Caransa
NH Caransa
#125 of 343 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 366 reviews
Quiet, Luxury...
Show More
NH Doelen
NH Doelen
#228 of 343 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 524 reviews
Quiet, Restaura...
Show More
Rembrandtplein
NH Carlton Amsterdam
NH Carlton Amsterdam
#197 of 343 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mid-range, Free...
Show More
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#149 of 343 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 1,356 reviews
City Center, Ch...
Show More
Vondelpark
NH Amsterdam Centre
NH Amsterdam Centre
#101 of 343 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,007 reviews
Restaurant, Cit...
Show More
Rembrandtplein
Eden Hotel Amsterdam - Hampshire Eden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Schiller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Schiller

Address: Rembrandtplein 26-36, 1017 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Golden Tulip Schiller)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#77 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Schiller 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel dating from 1912 offers modern comforts and amenities and displays 350 Schiller paintings; located in the historic district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, NHHotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Otel so you can book your NH Schiller reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Schiller Amsterdam
Nh Schiller Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Schiller, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.