We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Views! Recommended Hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Schiller

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added NH Amsterdam Schiller to your Saves list
NH Amsterdam Schiller
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rembrandtplein, 26, 1017CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Schiller) (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5% EXTRA DISCOUNT
Ranked #136 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Views! Recommended Hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Booked this hotel with booking.com,very smooth transaction, hotel polite over the phone and respond to any queries via email quickly speak good English!

Beautiful location.
Stylish and Spacious Rooms.
Polite Staff
Free WIFI
Room cleaned everyday when me and my partner was there. ( 5 nights )

Lovely views from our room at the front. ( requested this via email with my booking and was provided a room with a view over the main square )

slept pretty well considering the bar/club two doors down played music till early hours of the morning on the Saturday night.

overall location perfect! so close to all restaurants/attractions
you can pretty much walk everywhere, also trams are a bonus if you don't want to walk.

if you come to Amsterdam! check out the floating Chinese restaurant left of the main train station! its amazing, but make sure you book a reservation first.

the shopping is pretty good! they have a few shops you would find in England.
plus they have a MAC store!! bonus!

Overall this stay was perfect! would stay here again when I next travel to the Netherlands!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    340
    188
    55
    25
See reviews for
80
338
55
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We travelled with another couple for a four day break and were disappointed with the hotel. When we arrived we were told one room was ready and one not so after check-in we decided to leave all the bags in the one room for safety. When we got to the room it had not been made-up from the previous guest and was very dirty!!! We left the bags and after arranging to have the room serviced headed out. When we came back we were told the other room was ready so we collected our bags from our friends now serviced room and wen to our room. This was a very small single. My partner went to complain and was told they had no other rooms so we would have to stay put!!! Reception were very unhelpful so he came back to discuss options!!! We both then went back to reception to complain and we're told straight away by a more helpful staff member that she agreed the room was unsuitable and moved us straight away!!! Eventually 4 hours after arriving we both had a clean double room!!!! Rooms were both are the back which was very quiet - hotel is excellently located for nightlife, bars and restaurants and did have a nice relaxed feel about it. Our room was okay ...... Minibar wasn't restocked (we like fresh water for nights) and the bathroom extractor did not work meaning that the room had a slightly stale smell but not too bad. We did not eat at the hotel at all so I can't comment on the food! It was just a shame we had the trouble with the rooms initially as this did put a bit of a damper of the whole experience but if this had not happened the hotel would have got a higher rating. Just not up to the standard I expected but still not a bad hotel - due to location would probably give it a go again to see if things had improved.

Room Tip: Pick room at the back if you are a light sleeper!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stay in NH hotels a lot and this (I am sad to say) is not one of the better ones. The hotel is in an excellent position (provided you can take the noise which on Rembrantplein can go on until 5.00 in the morning - the hotel provide earplugs!). The junior suite we had (their top rooom opition) was good and large (for Amsterdam) but was hardly a suite, but really just a big room. The daily cleaning service was eratic at best and twice we had to call down to get things done that had not been - we were told it had been recently contracted out and this seems like it might be teething problems but at this price I did not want to be experimetned on for the maid servcie economics. That said, the building itself is interesting, it is well placed for the cultural end of town, and we still had a great stay. The staff were fine and friendly, and as always NH put on a good buffet breakfast.

Room Tip: Broadly speeking if you are a light sleeper, avoid this hotel; but if you can take the noise it is v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in mid December. The location is excellent, several handy trams stop at Rembrandtplein, and is only about 5-6 stops from the station.
The room was very clean and spacious, nicely furnished, nice bathroom with good toiletries, free wifi. The room was modern, even if the hotel itself is an older, charming building.
I had been warned about the noise in the square, and requested a room at the back at check-in; but, as it turned out, there was no nightlife when I was there at all, so even a front room would have been quiet.
The reception staff was very efficient and courteous, always accommodating my requests.

I can't comment on food, I didn't eat in the hotel at all, but the restaurant looked tempting.

Only niggle that I must mention to other travellers, probably because of the 'lazy Sunday' product they offer at check out, if you do check in on a Sunday, like I did, your room won't be ready until 3pm.
Other than that, nothing wrong, and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back or at least the side, if you're there in a season when Rembrandtplein is in fu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Just arrived back from a 2 night stay in this hotel the weekend between Christmas and New Year. It was a perfect time to visit when Rembrandt Square was decorated for Christmas. This is an older hotel, very charming seeped in history but due to recent refurbishment of the restaurant it now has a few very modern touches. Our room was very spacious, very well heated and we loved the lovely deep bath, constant hot water and very powerful shower. The breakfast was very tasty, you can help yourself to as much as you want, I recommend the scrambled egg which was to die for and the best I have ever tasted.

Even thought this was a busy holiday weekend we were not bothered by any noise. There is no music to be heard, we were aware of people talking but we were on the fourth floor and it didnt really bother us.

We absolutely loved the free soaps and shampoos, replenished every day and smelling of oranges and fresh fruits - other 4 star hotels will have a job to complete with these I would think!

Also we love the "lazy Sunday" product which allows subject to availability a free late check out and you can even enjoy breakfast up to 1200 - a bonus if you enjoy Sunday at your leisure! I dont know of any other hotel group who offer this and it is ideal if you are on a weekend trip as we were.

I strongly recommend this hotel, the location is great, the staff are very helpful and we would definitely go back.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper request a room on a higher floor also the view to the front over the squa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Had heard some nightmarish stories of accommodation in Amsterdam, so worked on the budget to pay a bit more then normal and stay at NH Schiller. Very friendly and helpful staff - sympathised with us after a trek from the airport since the trains were off due to fire... Our double room was very spacious and clean, well appointed ensuite and room facilities. Free wifi reliable. Super location right in Rembrandt square, with many restaurants and bars. But, if you're not joining in the local nightlife then be prepared to be disturbed til around 4am, and the possibility of waking up to some marching band (!) outside at 9am. Ear plugs were provided in our room (which was facing the square) and I'd recommend you use them! Light sleepers should avoid.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

The main attraction of the Hotel Schiller is its central location in Rembrandtsplein, 50m from a tram stop and within walking distance of many attractions and restaurants. The hotel is rather old fashioned and in need of some refurbishment. Many paintings and prints by the founder, Fritz Schiller, adorn both the public areas and bedrooms.
The front of the hotel, on the square, can be noisy, so a room at the back is preferable. The bedrooms are of a good size and the bathroom adequate although our basin was cracked and there was no extractor fan. The hotel staff are friendly, albeit somewhat disorganised.
Breakfast can be taken in the brasserie - an attractive pair of rooms. There is a good range of cold food plus bacon and eggs. Cost of breakfast is €20 unless pre-booked through the hotel when it reduces to €15. Communication between hotel reception and restaurant was poor - on one morning we were given the wrong breakfast times and on another morning our reservation had not been passed to the restaurant and we were rather rudely challenged by the waitress.
Overall an adequate hotel but with the benefit of an excellent location.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to NH Amsterdam Schiller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Schiller

Address: Rembrandtplein, 26, 1017CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Schiller)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#73 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#107 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Schiller 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One look at NH Amsterdam Schiller’s sculpted facade, wrought-iron ornaments, and art deco embellishments and you’ll know you’ve stumbled upon a place rich with history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, NHHotels, Booking.com, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your NH Amsterdam Schiller reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Schiller Amsterdam
Nh Schiller Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam Schiller, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.