We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location, lovely stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Schiller

Save Saved
You added NH Schiller to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
NH Schiller
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rembrandtplein 26-36, Amsterdam 1017 CV, The Netherlands (Formerly Golden Tulip Schiller) (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #142 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Ideal location, lovely stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We spent only one night here due to a mix up at our other hotel and ended up wishing we'd spent all our nights here. It is, I consider, simply the best location in Amsterdam. Forget staying near Dam Square, this is the place to be with the lovely Rembrandtplein outside in which to sit and enjoy the atmosphere, and everything you want to see just a few stops away on the tram.
We arrived early and only one our rooms was ready. They let us check in and leave all our luggage and promised us that our other room would be ready soon and that they would be close together. Not to waste the day, we left. But when we came back much later the staff had given our other room to someone else and put the other half of our party (my two teenagers) in an upgraded room at no extra cost. It did mean they were on a seperate floor but they weren't worried. The staff were very helpful about other things too. They gave us maps of the city, were very informative about everything we asked about, and very friendly. When we checked out we were able to leave our bags, with no cost, to collect them when we were ready.
Both our rooms were lovely and clean, the beds were comfortable, the rooms were just the right temperature and bathrooms also clean with great furnishings. The upgraded room was huge. We slept well. There is a bar/restaurant on site but we didn't use it as breakfast wasn't included in the price we paid.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    127
    230
    123
    34
    13
See reviews for
42
205
39
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Service: 4/10
Reception gave me another person's room to me. When the other person arrived, he almost walked in on me naked.

Cleanliness: 7/10
Lobby looks dirty and there's a little foul smell. Room is surprisingly clean and smells good. When I entered the lobby, I thought the hotel would be terrible. Luckily the room is good.

Wifi: 3/10
Free wifi is extremely slow.......

Location: 8/10
There'a s tram station right outside the hotel which will take you to PC Hooftstraat (Branded Shopping Street). It is also 15 minutes walking distance. So you can choose between walking and tram. Red Light district is also 15 minutes walking distance.

Restaurants around the hotel: 8/10
The hotel is along Rembrandtplein where many great restaurants resides.
- Pelangi - Indonesian food is only 3 doors away. They offers great rice tables. The "rendang" is a must try.
- Wagamama - Japanese food. The ribs there is great!
- La Madonnina - Italian. Great Tortellini
- Club Smokey - 2 doors away. Their "brownies" are one of the better tasting ones in amsterdam..

Room Tip: Quieter rooms are those away from the streets. Do note that as there are many coffee shops nearby. i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I stayed in the hotel for 2 nights. My room was rather small but I would not mind it if it was really clean. Unfortunately it was very dusty - there was a dus layer in the table and a thick dust layer on skirting-boards. Furthermore, the room was smelly! The bathroom smelled of sewage and the room smelled mouldy.
Beware that the Rembrandt square is a very busy and noisy place.
On the positive side: free wifi.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

I had a conference nearby and this was a great hotel to stay. Even though it's located in Rembrandt square, which is busy 24/7, if you get a room at the back of the hotel you won't hear a thing. The rooms are decent and there is wifi in them, though not very fast. The beds are ok, although they could use some oil, the springs are quite loud. But still, for a business visit, great hotel, easy location.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

When we arrived our rooms were in the back of the hotel with no elevator access, an emergency door right next to our room that was propped open so that all people in Amsterdam had access to the hotel and our room. It was noisy as well. The staff did not seem interested in helping with the issue of the emergency door. The location is excellent.

Room Tip: You may need to ask to see the room prior to accepting the room they give you
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to NH Schiller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Schiller

Also Known As:
Nh Schiller Amsterdam
Nh Schiller Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Rembrandtplein 26-36, Amsterdam 1017 CV, The Netherlands (Formerly Golden Tulip Schiller)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#72 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Schiller 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel dating from 1912 offers modern comforts and amenities and displays 350 Schiller paintings; located in the historic district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your NH Schiller reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Schiller, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.