We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Amsterdam!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rembrandt Classic Hotel

Save Saved
You added Rembrandt Classic Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rembrandt Classic Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 255, 1016 BJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #226 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Ciudad Del Este, Paraguay
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Classic Amsterdam!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This is a classic Amsterdam hotel very well located, facing the canal. You can go everywhere (turistand historical sites) just walking or renting a bike.
The rooms are ok: spacious, low wood-cealing (classical Amsterdam), wifi, nice beds and comfortable bathrooms.
They offered breakfast for surcharge but the didn't tried it. Just around the corner there's an organic cafeteria that we loved!!! (tried the bagel filled with cream chesse, honey and walnuts... incredible)
The staff was really nice and helpfull (our flight was cancelled after we checked-out and they contacted the airline for arrangements, as well as find us a new room in the hotel).
It's just a few blocks from Dam Sq. and Owde Kerk it's around the corner. The area looked pretty safe even at night. The view of the canal at night with the lighted bridge is really nice.
I could definatelly stayed here if I go to Amsterdam again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    250
    221
    93
    49
See reviews for
87
284
39
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The Hotel Is a little out of the way, but easily accessible by tram and a short walk. The lady at check-in was somewhat surprised that I had booked a double bed for myself and my same-sex partner (and suggested I didn't want this, not that she was a relationship councillor), the room was basic, the price was adequate. Not a bad hotel for a short sight seeing trip, wouldn't stay here if I were planning and extended trip or for business.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

The hotel was chosen aiming it from the center, with easy access from every direction and the same exit. Comfortable rooms are spacious, cleanliness of the room was fine, the area quiet during the day and you can enjoy a relaxing throughout the day., We enjoyed the hotel that wherever we came easily and in a short time, when we were need help we have received all the necessary help from the reception site

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

The place was nice. We booked it for friends group but its more suitable for a couple with kids. Staff is nice but only available on chek-in and chek-out time. location is conveniet for everything. Security is also good.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

This is my second stay at this hotel, the first time left a great impression when taking into account the location (5 minutes max from Dam square) and the canal view we had, as a result I decided to return. Whilst I probably would consider staying here again it would be on the basis of a different room being provided in my most recent stay. I was given room 14 which is by reception and as a result you can here every person who enters the hotel, all night, and I was getting in late or early depending on how you look at it.

The staff are all very helpful and seem to speak a wide range of languages, the rooms are clean although a little dated you get what you pay for and value for money wise they are good enough. The location is just great, an easy walk to Dam square and a range of local attractions bars restaurants.

Would I recommend going here? that depends on the room you get, the first time we stayed in one of the first floor canal view rooms and it was beautiful to wake up to each morning with good sound proofing on this basis I would highly recommend. The second time looked out over a little courtyard (not a terrible view but far from the canal view) and had terrible soundproofing were I not getting so late it would have proved a serious issue.

Please note I paid the same price for both of these rooms.

My advise do stay here Yes, but not in room 14! Happy travels!

Room Tip: Not 14!! Canal view rooms are great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

My partner and I stayed at this hotel for one night and for the money we paid, we were happy with our stay. The location is great. Very close to Dam square, Anne Frank's house, the gay district, the red light district and all the shops. The room was basic but clean. The bathroom was limited. To shower, we has to sit in the bath and hold the shower head over us, avoiding the low angled ceiling, but it was ok. Even though the room was 'non smoking', it was clear by the smell that smoking had taken place in the room. You have to pay a €50 deposit on check in too. Make sure you have the cash!! Otherwise it takes one month to go back on your card! Overall, not bad for the price. Don't expect luxury but for the price it's very good and comfortable.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

I travel to Amsterdam a lot of times a year and for a hotel in the centre for the price I don't thin you could get better

Friendly staff, clean room and just a 10-15 mins walk to the city centre, what more could you want! The room was a fair size and the bathroom was a good size, clean and fresh and the bed was very comfortable. It was tastefully decorated for a hotel in the centre.

I usually stop further out due to the standard of the hotel. But for right in the centre this is a fantastic hotel and would recommend this to anyone who wants to stop in the centre for a reasonable price and doesn't want to use the local transport.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rembrandt Classic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rembrandt Classic Hotel

Address: Herengracht 255, 1016 BJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #226 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rembrandt Classic Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rembrandt Classic Hotel is a comfortable 3 star hotel situated on the Herengracht, one of the most prestigious and peaceful canals, in the city centre of Amsterdam.Set in beautiful seventeenth and nineteenth century houses and close to Dam square and most important tourist attractions, you can enjoy the true atmosphere of Amsterdam.The hotel is close to the main shopping streets, a stone throw away from Dam square, 10 to 15 minutes walking distance from the Central Station and the night life areas.Famous museums like Anne Frank house, Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh museum can be easily reached by foot or tram. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsNL, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Rembrandt Classic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Rembrandt
Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Rembrandt Amsterdam
Rembrandt Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rembrandt Classic Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.