We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location, Cheap and Cheerful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rembrandt Classic Hotel

Save Saved
You added Rembrandt Classic Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rembrandt Classic Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 255, 1016 BJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #226 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Rotherham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing location, Cheap and Cheerful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

When we booked this hotel we thought the price was to go to be true, but we were very pleasantly surprised. When we arrived before our room was available we were invited to leave our cases in the secure luggage room, the staff were so helpful in giving directions and advice on where to go to eat etc.. The location was central and perfect, no more than a five minute walk to Dam Square and maybe a 20 minute walk to the train station. Although basic the three-bed room I stayed in was spacious, clean and comfortable. Will be staying again next year and I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    80
    246
    220
    93
    49
See reviews for
87
282
38
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Andover, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

we have stayed at this hotel many times due to its location and price, it is only a 5 minute walk to dam square and a fifteen min walk from central station
the staff at the hotel have been very Helpfull and marielle the front office manager was very Helpfull and would always offer advice and help on Amsterdam City
we look forward to returning

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Booked the Rembrandt mainly for its location close to all main Amsterdam attractions and it didn't disappoint in any way and lots of great restaurants and bars close by. Initially given a room that stank of smoke but after complaining were given a great room with canal view and a bath with piping hot water most welcome after a day sight seeing. Contrary to hotel description no tea or coffee in room this was to be found only on two floors by the lifts between 3 and 8pm so if you wanted a wake up drink there wasn't one only from the coffee machine in reception or breakfast lounge at extra cost. So bring your own kettle. The staff were delightful but room service very slow. It was noisy on occassions could hear people in the bathroom in other rooms and street noise too but then this is Amsterdam. Would definitely stay again as location is excellent and with a hire bike available from the hotel it's easy to get anywhere quickly and was fun. But, bring a kettle if your brain needs caffeine first thing in the morning.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Booked this hotel on the recommendation of someone who had stayed here before. Location was perfect, nice and central to everything.

We only had one working power point, which was fine as we only remembered to bring one travel adapter..

There was a safe in the room and a TV with remote and plenty of channels.

It could be a bit noisy, which you would probably expect of any cheap hotel... and the back of the hotel (where we stayed) absolutely stank of weed. I guess that's to be expected too.

The room included free wifi.. although the username/passwords we were given to use were a bit hit or miss (many codes had already expired). Still did the job.

The other thing to look out for is the €50 deposit required. Wasn't expecting that. Then there is the room tax they spring on you when you check out (wasn't expecting that either).

Overall I would say that the hotel was generally satisfactory

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Prober blu one of the worst hotels iv stayed in! We didn't want to spend too much for our hotel for valentines weekend and the location sold this too us. Well what a mistake we made the hotel smelt from the moment we walked in old and musty! Outdated and everything we asked for was "unavailable" iron & ironing board, travel adapter, pay phone, and ice/ice bucket! The bar was never open over the 4 days we were there, fri-mon. Just generally old smelly and in need of a big update!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasov, Romania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

The location is really old and unrefurbished, is very well located in the central part of Amsterdam.

I liked:
Room size
Confortable matress
Great location.

I didn't like:
Rooms are really big, but very old furniture and bathrooms.
The windows are not closing very well and you can hear every noise in the night.
Small tv-set with poor tv channel plan.
Internet speed was really slow and unstable, and as well the WiFi coverage is really bad.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with back side view. The channel view rooms are noisy in the night because of the win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rembrandt Classic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rembrandt Classic Hotel

Address: Herengracht 255, 1016 BJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #226 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rembrandt Classic Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rembrandt Classic Hotel is a comfortable 3 star hotel situated on the Herengracht, one of the most prestigious and peaceful canals, in the city centre of Amsterdam.Set in beautiful seventeenth and nineteenth century houses and close to Dam square and most important tourist attractions, you can enjoy the true atmosphere of Amsterdam.The hotel is close to the main shopping streets, a stone throw away from Dam square, 10 to 15 minutes walking distance from the Central Station and the night life areas.Famous museums like Anne Frank house, Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh museum can be easily reached by foot or tram. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, Tingo, Travelocity, Agoda and EasyToBook so you can book your Rembrandt Classic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Rembrandt
Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Rembrandt Amsterdam
Rembrandt Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rembrandt Classic Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.