We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite hotel for us” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Estherea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Estherea to your Saves list
Hotel Estherea
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #17 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
San Jose, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Favorite hotel for us”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

We travelled to Amsterdam, Rome and Paris and this was my favorite hotel.

We had to call because we arrived late, and the guy at the front desk was very nice and tried to help us figure out how to get there. When we got there it was pretty late, and he upgraded us to a suite the room was nice with a jacuzzi tub and on one of the top floors. The staff there was very nice.

I liked how they had the drink machine downstairs, every morning we would get hot chocolate or the chocochino which was great. They also had pastries sometimes in the mornings. Internet 2 computers downstairs was convenient with the printer but it was usually crowded. This hotel is really close to many food and shopping places.

Disliked the shower, the drain is weird. Kept splashing outside of the actual shower. Nice how they had shampoo dispenser in there though. Also some mornings the drink machine was closed for cleaning. Other than a few minor things, the hotel was really nice, we even had our own private elevator. That elevator is only meant for 2 people though, so when 2 other people got in with us, that was dumb. Just wait for the next one people!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,715
    688
    119
    32
    26
See reviews for
415
1,396
84
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights prior to leaving on a river cruise on the Rhine River to Basel, Switzerland. It was one of the nicest hotels in which I have stayed. The service was helpful and courteous. It was in a easily accessible location close to public transportation. It had a large bathroom with a jacuzzi and twin sinks. The bed was very comfortable. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

This is a great hotel in a fantastic location. Staff were very helpful and will go out of their way to accomodate your needs.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

Spent considerable time viewing many hotels on the internet before choosing this hotel. Judging the reviews and the hotel website we decided on Hotel Etherea. Bad start to stay as we had travelled over 12 hours without sleep and had to wait two hours for our room. When we arrived we were told the room would be ready in half an hour. We waited and waited by reception but the receptionist only feet away forgot about us. When we enquired we were told that the room was in fact ready and apologised profusely. Good points to the hotel were the location and the decor. We paid what I believe was the top rate for room with canal view. Very disappointed that there was no shower cubicle as was on the website. The bathroom was extremely small and there were no doors (only see through louvre doors!!) to give some degree of privacy. There were no facilities for hot drinks in the room. The fridge was well stocked with two small bottles of water that were replaced daily, no other choices. I expected more for what we paid to stay here and even though there were many good points to the hotel we would not book it again for our regular visits to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad & Tobago
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

This was a last minute booking as I arrived a day early in Amsterdam. The hotel was an unexpected meeting point of elegance, charm, great location with attention to detail. Although the room was not large, the layout and design was very pleasing, including the bathroom with modern fixtures which had both a large tub and a shower with a double sink. The bed and its bedding were very comfortable and after 5 hours of a long drive from Hattonchatel in France, was very welcomed.
I did notneed to unpack, but there was adequate cupboard space, safe and an iron with ironing board. At the foot of the bed was a small table with magazines and outlet for charging devices.
The next morning, I discovered that the hotel was located very close to the heart of the city. A walk out to the left and first left would take you to the small pedestrian streets for shopping and great food.
I tried to extend my stay by a day but the price had almost doubled.( I hope that the upcoming SAIL event had something to with that.) If not I would suggest that you book early for a good deal.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

Stayed in a lovely room with canal (Singel) views, hotel is situated close to everything in the centre of Amsterdam yet far enough away for peace and quiet. Top quality service, which is rare in Amsterdam!

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

Our friends and we had 3 rooms for 4 nights at this hotel. First I have to say that we were thrilled upon arrival to find out we had been upgraded to larger rooms. The hotel has a wonderful feel to it and this is one hotel that the photos do not do the hotel justice. It has a wonderful lobby with several sitting rooms to just have a coffee or read. There is a great coffee station on the main floor with cookies throughout the day. The location is fantastic as it is only a few minutes from the Dam and a large grocery store. One nice touch in the room is an empty fridge for your personal items. There is loads of storage in the room, although the standard room, which we asked to see, are not quite as large. This was at least our fourth stay in AmDam and this was by far the best hotel. The only thing that could be improved upon is that their breakfast was not included and really we did not think offered good value. Other than that, our room was excellent and since we were upgraded to a larger room we did not try to pay for an upgrade to a canal view room. I don't think we were disadvantage by the room not being on the canal. Our stay far exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, EasyToBook and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Estherea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.