We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simply the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Estherea

Save Saved
You added Hotel Estherea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Estherea
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Romantic Getaway
Ranked #15 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
wv
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“simply the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

We first stayed at the Estherea for three nights in July, after a decade-long hiatus. It was the first Amsterdam hotel we ever stayed in. We have stayed elsewhere on the half dozen trips we have made since that inaugural visit a decade ago, not because we were disappointed by the first visit, but because it always seems to be booked. And no wonder, it has undergone some serious renovation since our fist visit and entered the world of luxury boutique hotels. That said, the staff are courteous, welcoming, and not at all pretentious--which distinguishes the Estherea from other hotels. The rooms are absolutely beautiful, quiet, and air-conditioned (which given the heat wave, was a god send). The hotel is ideally located, the surrounding neighborhood offers all kinds of dining options, and it is a 15 minute walk from central station. We will never stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,159 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,420
    578
    110
    28
    23
See reviews for
344
1162
74
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

Little gem in the center of Amsterdam.... Rooms are incredible, not big but sooo cute, perfectly decorated in best Amsterdam's traditions, i loved the chandelier and wallpapers, they put me in the great mood instantly. Huge spacious bathroom with jacuzzi tube, and a sea-salt if you want to relax... The only thing - this hotel is mostly occupied by elderly people in their 50-60, I am a young girl who was travelling with friends and seemed like we didn't completely fit in there, but it was still great. Complimentary coffee, hot chocolate and sweets (which was a MUST!) in the lobby. Also very nice complimentary cold mint water in the bar and marshmallows :) - a nice refreshment during the hot summer day!
10 minutes walk to the red light district.
I highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

Hotel Estherea was a delight from the beginning of our stay until the end. We travelled with 3 generations, aged grandparents, middle aged parents and teenage, children, staying in 4 rooms, 3 canal view superior rooms and one standard room overlooking the internal courtyard. All were beautifully decorated, each with a different theme, clean, and - by European standards - spacious. The hotel really could not be faulted - beautiful rooms, a charming study/library/salon/bar, friendly and knowledgable staff who made excellent recommendations for restaurants and tours, and great service all round. The breakfast deserves special mention - absolutely superb and well worth the additional tariff. I have not had better anywhere. It is also in a great location, close to everything but quiet - even on the night the Netherlands got through to the world cup final and the whole country partied all night!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

We had a two night stay at the Hotel Estherea in June, and could not have had a better time.

On arrival we were immediately given a room upgrade and the room was fabulous - spacious, big bathroom, comfortable bed and airconditioning (which was a welcome change from most other hotels we stayed in on our trip!).

The hotel offers free coffee, tea and snacks in the lobby which is really nice.

The location was fantastic - right on the Singel canal in a quiet spot and walking distance from everything - restaurants, sights, you name it.

The only negative thing I can think of is that the breakfast was rather expensive at 16 Euros per person. We had it on our second morning and didn't think it was worth the money, especially when compared to other breakfasts we had on our trip.

However, I would still highly recommend the Hotel Estherea!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

Good base for staying in Amsterdam,
Great location.
Enjoyable breakfast.

Very nice greek place to eat beside the hotel-closed Mon and Tue.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

A very nice hotel with excellent service. The room was perfectly clean had everything I needed. The bathroom was split into two sections, on separate sides of the room. Shower on one side, sink and toilet on the other, both had doors as usual, just a little different. The coffee/tea/cookie area was an excellent place to stop whether 2am or 2pm. Really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

We stayed there with our family and loved the hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the location was perfect---very close to the action but on a quiet canal.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Estherea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.