We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strong Recommendation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Estherea

Save Saved
You added Hotel Estherea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Estherea
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Romantic Getaway
Ranked #15 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Strong Recommendation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2007

My girlfriend and I stayed at this hotel for three nights from Feb 15-18 (Thu-Sun), 2007 and very highly recommend it.

Positives include an excellent location, very helpful and friendly staff, beautiful lobby, beautiful and clean room. Very slight negatives are room noise, construction.

Location: very short walk to The Dam; Singel is the innermost of the four concentric major canals. Street and area are very pretty. Very central location. Major post office a few blocks away, great Greek restaurant next door (ate there twice), great Italian place a little down on Singel.

Staff: manager insisted on helping us w/ bags out of the cab (the g/f packed heavily). Bellhop friendly and very helpful. Staff gave great advice about shipping back a big item we considered buying. Upon checkout one woman called a cab immediately after I mentioned wanting one to another. Service was also nice. Also, reservation via e-mail a few months in advance went very smoothly. They offered a 10% discount upon checkout with cash payment, which we accepted.

Lobby/common areas: All absolutely gorgeous. Construction was loud at times, but not too early in the morning. We slept in a bunch b/c we'd just 'roughed it' in Iceland for five days, but the work didn't start too early. Our room (319) had an exposed hole in the wall above the closets where they're installing central heat but the room is still beautiful. Elevator very helpful.

Room: #319. very clean, huge. Three big windows overlooking another street, a little street noise on Fri/Sat nights but hardly worth noting. Pics attached.

Room noise: Loud footsteps from rooms above but it's an old building and definitely nothing major. Construction noted earlier has to be noted but does not at all detract from our love of the room, hotel and staff.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,127 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,397
    571
    107
    29
    23
See reviews for
334
1138
73
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2007

I travel to Amsterdam frequently on business and have stayed in many hotels in the city. I like the Estherea very much - lovely location, quality of the rooms is superb and the cost of the hotel not so extortionate. There is a great Greek deli just next to the hotel if you are looking for a simple casual evening meal - perfect for a lone traveller like me! My only complaint is that breakfast starts at 7am - it would be nice if it could start a little earlier. The hotel is a brisk 10 min walk to Central Station - along the lovely canal, what is not to like? Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Breakfast starts late at 7am
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2007

Lobby is absolutely beautiful and the staff is very friendly and helpful! Our room was absolutely terrible and faced inward toward nothing at all. Good budget hotel in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed February 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire, UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2007

What a fantastic hotel this is. It is very convenient, quiet, immaculately clean, and has probably the best staff I've encountered anywhere. They booked a concert for us, taxis and restaurants, and were always ready to give advice and suggestions or just to have a chat. If a light bulb went out, it was changed at once. The aquarium was amazing: I never even knew that you could grow corals like this.The constantly available chocolate, tea etc and cookies or cake were so much better than tea-making in the room.
Our room was a little dark as there was scaffolding outside, but what the hell, we were only there to sleep. The room had everything we wanted, (including BBC1 &2 on the TV). Even though the refurbishment was going on, it didn't inconvenience us and the workmen were very polite and tried to minimise the effect of their works. Amazing to see the corridors newly papered in a day!
This family owned and run hotel is an example to all.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2007

With kids aged 9, 7 and 4, finding the right hotel with inter-connecting or adjacent rooms is vital. Despite having been promised this, the rooms we were given were separated by an internal courtyard and some distance apart, albeit neighbouring.

The next day, we were offered alternative rooms which were right next to each other and from this moment on, we had a fantastic stay. The hotel was excellent with really friendly staff who used their initiative and for whom nothing was any trouble.

Rooms were very good, well-equipped and very attractive. Worth getting rooms with a view if you can, not on the internal courtyard so you have natural light.

Breakfast was not cheap at 14 euros each, but it was good and free for children under 12.

The location is great with good access to tourist attractions and a variety of good local restaurants.

This was our first visit to Amsterdam and it is a great city, even with kids. All the main sites are worth visiting and many are free for the children except Nemo which was 11.50 euros each. Riding the trams and walking the canals alone are worth the journey!

The hotel was undergoing re-decoration whilst we were staying and the weather was pretty poor, even by UK standards, and despite this, we had a great time and would have no hesitation in recommending the hotel.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2007

Stayed at the hotel Estherea after reading excellent reviews on trip advisor. I travel a lot and am always a bit dubious about trusting reviews but this really is an excellent hotel, one of the best boutique hotels I have stayed in. The decor is elegant but the hotel is very relaxed with a friendly and cosy ambiance. Our room had been very recently renovated and was immaculate combining traditional decor, furniture and comforts with all the modern extras you would expect from a discerning hotel including an LCD flat screen.
Unfortunately for us as our room was so newly renovated,the room next door was in the process of being renovated which we found out as we were awoken at 7.30am to the sounds of drilling and sawing!. Was very very disapointed that a hotel with such apparant high standards would not have pre warned us of the buiding work at such close proximity, especially as I had e-mailed the hotel just 2 days earlier. The hotel were appologetic but only after I had approached them and I was compensated but would have rather enjoyed a more relaxing stay.
Would still rate this hotel very highly as the buiding work is coing to an end, and guests arriving after the renovations are complete will have a wonderfull stay, however, if your stay is soon, I would check with the hotel before your arrival to avoid dissapointment.
The hotel is idealy located for all attractions and there are some great neighbourhood resteraunts and bars. In particualr Casa di david @ Singel 420, about 5 mins walk, is an excellent Italian.

  • Liked — Decor
  • Disliked — Buiding work
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2007

My parents celebrated their birthdays here recently and thoroughly enjoyed their stay. The management were very helpful and gave us a choice of rooms and even left birthday gifts for my parents, which was a nice touch. The canal setting is lovely and the location within easy walking distance of many sights. I can highly recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — lovely decor
  • Disliked — workmen starting work at 7.30 am on monday morning !
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Boutique, City...
Show More
The Toren
The Toren
#3 of 343 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 1,319 reviews
Romantic, Bouti...
Show More
Jordaan
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#8 of 343 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 654 reviews
Quiet, Restaura...
Show More
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charming, Quiet...
Show More
Dam Square
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
City Center, Fr...
Show More
citizenM Amsterdam
citizenM Amsterdam
#33 of 343 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,585 reviews
Romantic, City...
Show More
Rembrandtplein
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#5 of 343 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Venere, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Estherea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.