We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms, good value, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Estherea

Save Saved
You added Hotel Estherea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Estherea
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Romantic Getaway
Ranked #15 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Nice rooms, good value, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2010

I thought this was a very nice hotel. The staff was genuinely warm and very professional.
It felt like a hotel should -- a reading room with international newspapers, a library, a bar, computers, complimentary coffee and mint water.
I asked to see a few rooms and thought all were clean and nice. The one for 119 euros was very small but for a few euros (I think 135) more you could get a much larger room with a "spa/jacuzzi" type bath tub. Our room had a view of Spui street which was nice.
The decorations with the flower wallpaper were a little over the top, one wall would have been enough but the linens on the bed with great. I like modern, clean design so the entire hotel was a little too old fashion for my taste but I liked it anyway.

The shampoo, lotions were of good quality.

I really liked this place.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,172 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,428
    583
    110
    28
    23
See reviews for
347
1167
75
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2010

We stayed in this hotel in 2 rooms - single and double. The double is very nice, clean, cozy, but the windows were not on the channels (which is ok, since we didn't send any special request for it). Although the single room was one of the best I've ever stayed in! it was on the top of the building (in these special Dutch roofs) - very cute, nice!!! And it turned out that it has 2 beds (one is just hidden in the wall), so it might be perfectly occupied by 2 adults. So I definitely encourage you to ask for the room 510! this view from the window... you will never forget it.
The only thing that turned out to be disappointing for me that it is not possible to ask for a cold breakfast or something of that kind if you are leaving early in the morning before breakfast starts to be served.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2010

I stayed at the Estherea in 2009 and had a very nice stay. Unfortunately the second time was less than charming. There is a huge discrepancy in many of the rooms...some of them are not very nice. It was freezing all of the time, the cleaning people would always turn off the heat and open the windows? And extremely noisy! The cleaning staff would vacuum and talk very loudly from 7am onwards. I requested a particular room and they did not take this into account and put us in a not very nice one. When i questioned the front staff they were extremely unfriendly and did nothing to help us, not even an apology...very disappointing. On another night we tried to get a glass of wine at 12, but the bar closed at 12 and they refused to serve us...? Even though the waiter was there? Not cheap and i'm sure there are many other hotels for the same price with MUCH nicer rooms and staff!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2010

We stayed for two nights at the Hotel Estherea and its an immaculate hotel. The canal view room was both beautiful and comfy, with a king size four poster and a lovely view of the singel canal.
The nice touches of free coffee n cakes after a days sight seeing and slippers and toiletries in your rooms add to the luxury feel.
My only gripes would be that the room walls are a tad thin and you can hear the guests and the outside noise, we would have prefered tea/ coffee facilities in the room and the hotel charged us slightly a little more than the price at the time of booking.
Try the Casa Di David authentic Italian restaurant nearby if you visit , its mind blowing x

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toledo
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2010

The best hotel in Amsterdam,room /service/breakfast/position. I love this Hotel

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at the Estherea. The rooms were lovely - quite small, but that is to be expected in a city centre. The bathrooms in the deluxe rooms we had were really great, with separate showers and jacuzzi baths. The location is very good - with most attractions within an easy distance. It was also quiet. The breakfast was a bit disappointing - a very cramped breakfast room where guests had to find their own coffee as well as the usual buffet breakfast. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2010

Fantastic hotel....wonderful and helpful staff... amazing ambiance.... great room! We only stayed for a night on transit from Den Haag but it was truly worth the stay...we could have stayed on except for the fact that our flight was the following day...checked in before lunch and the room was ready! no hassle!

You can take an easy stroll to the Dam (central) and all other attractions... would most definitely check in again when in Amsterdam!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsNL, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Estherea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.