We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Estherea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Estherea to your Saves list
Hotel Estherea
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Romantic Getaway
Ranked #10 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Sheffield
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2009

We stayed at the hotel for four days to celebrate our silver wedng anniversary - a fact which saw us upgraded by the hotel to an exquisite room with a canal view from the basic double I'd booked. Beautifully decorated public area and room, with an extremely comfy bed and lovely linen. Slightly small bathroom (although given the upgrade I shouldn't complain!) but well fitted out with nice complementary lotions and potions and plenty of towels. Some other reviews have been less than complimentary about the hotel staff - we found them to be excellent striking the right balance between seeing to / anticipating guests' needs but not being overly obsequious. Excellent buffet breakfast with all items regularly replaced or filled up - eggs, bacon,sausage,toast,bread,meats and cheeses,croissants and pastries - however, not included in the room rate and somewhat pricey at 16 euros per person! There's a good sandwich shop 30 seconds away from the hotel who do croissants and coffee for 3.50 euros (Berts Broodjies). Coffee,chocolate and teas are available 24 hours free of charge from machines in the lounge area, and during the day there's a varying selection of yummy cakes, biscuits and pastries to go with it. Beautiful hotel in a lovely central location. We chose it for a special occasion and it would have lived up to our expectations even without the upgrade. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,561
    619
    112
    28
    23
See reviews for
375
1,267
77
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2009

I stayed at Hotel Estherea from the 22nd to the 25th of October 2009, room 103 (deluxe room), with a friend. We both loved it!!!

The hotel is centrally located on the Singel Canal. The hotel is within walking distance of most sites in Amsterdam and it's about 10 minutes away, walking, to the nearest Hop On - Hop Off Canal Cruise stop; it's about 15-20 minutes walk to Centraal Station.

The room was absolutely beautiful and spotlessly clean. The bed was big and very confortable.

We found the staff very friendly, particularly one of the receptionists who was a really funny guy. He helped us with booking a table for an Indonesian restaurant and managed to convince them to get us a table for the time we wanted instead of what the restaurant wanted. They were all great.

The hotel looks like you're entering a 19 century mansion, with the odd mod-com to make sure you don't loose touch with the present. We found the free tea/coffee+cookies area to be a nice touch and really useful for when we were coming back from another day out in beautiful Amsterdam or from yet another wild night in crazy Amsterdam!

Maybe the only thing I can say on a negative note is that our room, despite being beautiful, was on the 1st floor, which meant it was too close to the street; unfortunately we were awake more than once, during the night by people who had had a drink too many, speaking/laughing/shouting out loud. Surprisingly, we couldn't hear a sound coming from the other rooms, despite the hotel being full, which was good.

Buffet breakfast was varied and abundant.

The Estherea will be definitely ourchoice for when we return to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2009

If during my decades of travel every hotel experience matched this one, I'd have fewer gray hairs. What a delightful establishment. We had a wonderful room on the top floor overlooking the canal. We stayed five nights. It was old-school decorated which matches our taste. The service was gracious and helpful. Could not ask for anything more from a hotel. [Perfectly located too. Nearly everything is within walking distance.]

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2009

We flew into Amsterdam a few days before we were embark on a Rhine/Main/Danube River cruise. Our pre-arranged transportation picked us up at the airport and wisked us off to the Hotel Estherea. We arrived at the hotel around 9:30 and were quite jet lagged. The hotel staff stored our luggage and we were able to get something to drink from their coffee/cocoa bar which adjoins their breakfast room. Thanks to the expedious housekeeping staff and the folks at the front desk, we were in our room in less than an hour and were able to nap for a few hours. The front desk was very helpful. Their recommendations for dinner were spot-on (Casa Di David is a must!) and they were very accommodating in providing directions and making reservations (use them to get tix to the Anne Frank House to avoid the lines). The room was clean & spacious in keeping with the pictures from their website. They serve a delicious breakfast every morning; it's a bit pricey but the convenience is well worth it - venture out for lunch and dinner to try the local eateries. The hotel is centrally located and close to their metro so it's easy to get to the train station to venture into the countryside if you like. Watch out for the bicyclists! If we return to Amsterdam we'll definitely stay at Hotel Estherea again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takoma Park, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2009

I took a solo trip to Amsterdam to celebrate my 33rd birthday. I wanted to treat myself and this hotel didn't disappoint. The staff were lovely, and the room was small but beautifully appointed. The fabrics were lux, the bed super comfortable, and the bathroom was just right for one person. The location is perfect - just a short walk to everything I wanted to see. I highly recommend staying here. When I got back to London, I realized I had left a brand new belt in the room. I phoned the hotel and they mailed it to me right away, with no cost.

Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericia, Denmark
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2009

Stayed at the hotel at the beginning of October. We were very happy with our stay, stayed in a classic room, and it was more than adequate. Nice size bathroom, clean and comfortable. Perfect for a stay in Amsterdam, when you do not stay much in your room anyway. Had breakfast one morning and it was not bad. Worth your money if you eat a lot. The coffe, chocolate, candy, cookies were great, plus the lobby felt nice and relaxing to hang out in. Did not experience long waits waiting to access the free internet pc's so no complaints there. Location was perfect and the street was not very noisy. We stayed at the Toren during our last visit in April, and we like the Estherea better, so much that we just have booked another stay over New Years.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2009

I often wonder when reading the reviews on TA if we are all staying at the same place...We stayed at Hotel Estherea for 4 nights Oct 20-24. We were treated very nicely by all of the staff day and evening. From the moment we checked in and shown to our room by Ryan to the morning we left. We had reserved a canal side room which was comfortable and nicely decorated. The bathroom was large and even had a temporary clothes line if you needed to do a handwash of small items. The room was spotless every day. The hotel is located on the Singal within walking to major attractions and many restaurants. We did have breakfast there one time it is 16 euros but includes eggs,bacon,sausage, cereals, fruits etc. The hotel has nice little touches that make you want to return from the lemon water by the bar, the hot tea and coffee, and the jars of sweets it is all very inviting. The free internet service was a plus. They helped with restaurant recommendations and directions. If you indulge there is a nice coffee shop right down the street from the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Estherea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.