We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STAY HERE! YOU WILL NOT BE DISSAPOINTED!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Estherea

Save Saved
You added Hotel Estherea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Estherea
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Singel 303-309, Amsterdam 1012 WJ, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Romantic Getaway
Ranked #17 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
NYC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“STAY HERE! YOU WILL NOT BE DISSAPOINTED!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

After weeks of research on every internet side imaginable I found this hotel and had a good feeling, so I booked it. My wife and I were immediately excited as soon as we stepped into the hotel. The decor is very classy and has an old world feel. The people that work there are super friendly, helpful and will do anything they can to help you find or get somewhere. The room was a suite with a four poster bed overlooking the canal. it was perfect. The bed was comfortable too. Every morning and night there was always complimentary fruit or cookies and always fresh coffee or hot chocolate. My wife and i travel a lot and try to get a lot of value for the dollar. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,094 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,371
    565
    106
    29
    23
See reviews for
326
1116
72
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Illinois
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2009

I carefully chose this hotel based on Tripadvisor reviews and other sources. I was quite disappointed (for the first time with Tripadvisor). We chose a canal view deluxe room based on other posts. I booked on their web site and paid full price, so I wasn't being "punished". The room (410) was quite plain, two small chairs and a small desk. You need to leave the bathroom to towel off. A shallow closet (too shallow for hangers to hang perpendicular to the wall) and no drawers at all. Bed and bedding adequate at best. This place is 2.5 stars - two for the room and an extra.5 for the lobby.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2009

I stayed on my own for one night at Hotel Estherea prior to joining up with a group tour. I actually had changed my hotel reservation about a week in advance of the trip after reading a recent string of negative reviews on Tripadvisor of the hotel that I had previously reserved. I was so pleased that I decided at the last minute to change to the Hotel Estherea instead. I arrived at 11am following my arrival on the redeye flight from the US, and my room was ready even though it was well before the designated check-in time. The room was small but very pretty, clean, and the bed was very comfortable. The location was great- centrally located to many of the tourist areas, just a few minutes walk to Dam Square, yet in a nice quiet neightborhood on the Singel Canal. My only disappointment was that I only could spend one night.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2009

The hotel was great except for the fact that the Wi-Fi was not free - it cost 10 Euro per night, PER DEVICE. I was travelling with my wife, and we both have laptops, and we both have iPhones, so that meant an extra €80 for a 2-night stay (O2 Ireland charges HUGE data roaming rates, so the €10 per day Wi-Fi fee was unfortunately still cheaper than paying the roaming charges on the iPhones). I am just frustrated when I go to a four star hotel, pay four-star rates, and then get soaked for the Internet access. Someone needs to tell the hotel management that everyone - and I mean everyone - uses Wi-Fi these days, and it should not be an "extra".

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2009

This is not a hotel that I would recomend to my worst enemy. Unfriendly staf that left us waiting for an hour (!) when checking in without explenation. The room was dirty, the bed broken (!) and there where blood stains on the sheets....we left of course after complaining. The staf refused to listned and charged us for the room...never been treated this way in a hotel before.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2009

I think that this hotel show the best correlation with Amsterdam.
It’s very compact and cozy. It is located in the foot availability to central square/area of Amsterdam and other central sights (including Van Gogh's museum).
Numbers very small, but modern enough, TV accepts many channels.
The excellent first floor from the general drawing room, it’s beautiful aquarium, ancient books.
It’s very tasty breakfast with very various components – both meat, and milky, and dessert food.
In my opinion, this hotel isn’t good for family rest with children, and it’s good for tourist groups, romantic relations and people of advanced age.

  • Stayed January 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2009

The staff couldn't have been more helpful and gracious. The room was super clean and very comfortable. We absolutely loved our stay here and would highly recommend it. We had read some reviews that were not favorable about this hotel and decided to try it anyway and are we glad we did! Frankly, I think some people aren't happy no matter what you do for them. The next time we visit Amsterdam this is where we will stay!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Address: Singel 303-309, Amsterdam 1012 WJ, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Estherea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.