We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Estherea

Save Saved
You added Hotel Estherea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Expedia.com
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Estherea
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Singel 303-309, Amsterdam 1012 WJ, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #14 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Lovely Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

Stayed here for 3 nights (July 24-27) and really enjoyed this little hotel. The front entrance, lobby, bar area, sitting areas and restaurant are very cozy and welcoming, but not small or cramped. Nice decor throughout the entire hotel. The rooms are lovely and if you are lucky enough to get a canal view, it can add that final perfect touch to the atmosphere of the experience. I found my room to be extremely cozy and comfortable, the bathroom was very nice and roomy, including a full size bath tub. The appointments in the room were perfect. The location is in an ideal location within the city center. Very close to everything (3 minutes walk to Dam Square) and tucked away on one of the more quiet canals. Who could want more? Lastly, I found the staff to be very attentive, helpful and polite. I would stay here again and certainly will the next time I am in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,953 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,269
    530
    103
    29
    22
See reviews for
295
1041
70
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
houston
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2009

Loved the Hotel Estherea. Beautiful (though not large) rooms; great bathrooms with nice toiletries. Inside rooms have no views but the rooms themselves are beautifully appointed. But, who needs to pay for a canal view room when you only need the rooms for sleeping and you can get the canal view in the comfortable lobby. The free cookies and cany available all day were not great but the coffee and tea were wonderful. Also, great service and best of all, the hotel is in a GREAT location; walking distance to everything including the Central train station. The free computer in the lobby was also nice but there was only one so one had to wait one's turn all the time. We'd stay at this hotel if we are ever back in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2009

We travel a great deal and this is a very special property . Most TA reviews are glowing and for good reason . This is a hotel in a fantastic location with some rooms which have magical views and with modern conveniences such as nicely sized bathrooms and a range of amenities . The staff are very knowledgable and are happy to make reservations for restaurants , bike rentals , etc . Coffee and tea and cookies are complimentary in the very nicely maintained common areas .

We were able to check in at 1 PM after a pretty early arrival . The hotel runs at near capacity in the summer so there is big comings and goings of people in the lobby managed by multiple staff . There are abundant staff and I wondered why wiht the number of people asking questions etc , why they dont designate one of these to serve as a concierge .

Our room was moderate in size with an odd sized double bed ( a bit short and we are not very tall ) and a nice litle couch and two chairs. The lighting in the room is abysmal .

The hotel is superior and tries to find a sweet spot between value and service provided. It does so to some extent . Canal view rooms are more expensive particularly on weekends and breakfast is 16 euros per person . So a 210 Euro room on a weekend ( we were not there through the weekend ) with breakfast is up to almost 250 Euros not counitng tax. If you bring a laptop and want wi-fi, it is an extra10 euros per laptop and so that can add 20 euros per day to a bill .......the place can get pricey.

That being said , on balance , location , staff, facilities, service make this a wise choice

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2009

We booked a reservation back in May and then a week before we were to travel double checked our reservations, we saw that the rack rate was over 20 euros less than what we had paid for it.. though the hotel would not accept that rate, even though it was still one week before our travel time! We also paid for a deluxe room (additional 40 euros) but hardly had place to move.. if you sit on the chair you cant pass to go to the window... the staff went out of their way to be cold, distant and rude.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2009

This is a lovely hotel on Singel, you couldn't wish for a better location in Amsterdam. We had room 302 on the other side, above Spui which is fairly noisy at night. I would recommend a room on the side of the Singel as you will get a canal view and it's much calmer.

The room was a normal size with a small balcony and a big bath tub + a shower. Bed was big and comfy. Decoration throughout the hotel is very classic but nice.

We also really liked the buffet breakfast. The only complaint would be the staff, many of them were unhelpful and unefficient, people had to wait in lines at the lobby because it took them a very long time indeed to check people in etc. Hopefully there'll be some changes coming!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

location, lobby, library and free teas/coffees all day were great. however the room we stayed in was very disapointing. clean but very grubby and worn. hadnt been refurbed since the 80's. the staff were also very mixed. one or two nice people but the rest were cold and unhelpful. apparently they've just added an extention 2months ago to hotel so try to ask for rooms in that part.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2009

Once we arrived at Estherea, we knew we were in the right place. The lobby is grand and beautiful with lovely rooms to rest, read, or have a cup of complimentary tea. Our room on the fifth floor overlooking the canal was a very nice size as was the bathroom. The canal side is quiet, although you can hear church bells at night if you are awake. The room was furnished beautifully and was extremely clean. We found the staff to be quite helpful. We weren't able to get into the Van Gogh museum in the morning so they made reservations on line for us for the next afternoon. I also recommend this for the Rijksmuseum. I would have liked a hotel where the breakfast was more reasonably priced, but there were several bakeries in the area and places for a complete breakfast if desired.
Overall, we had no complaints.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Estherea Hotel
Estherea
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam
Address: Singel 303-309, Amsterdam 1012 WJ, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Estherea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.