We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved The Estherea” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Estherea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Estherea to your Saves list
Hotel Estherea
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Brooklyn
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Loved The Estherea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2009

We were originally booked at another hotel for our seven night stay in mid-May. But due to construction in the adjoining building, the hotel requested that we cancel as they were sure our stay with them would be less than perfect. They suggested the Estherea. An upgrade in price for us for sure, but we are so glad we splurged. We loved our stay. The only rooms the Estherea originally had available were non canal-view, but when we checked in, a canal-view room was available. We looked at our choice of rooms and the canal-view was a no brainer, though it was yet another upgrade. No doubt the most expensive hotel stay we've ever had (nearly $2500 for the seven nights) but we have such great memories and feelings about the Estherea. Room 110 if I recall. We found it very spacious. King size bed. Nice bathroom, small fridge, desk and sitting area, but the absolute winner was the three large windows that overlooked the Singel. Gorgeous. We had breakfast at the hotel just once as the 16E p/p price was a bit much. Several very good breakfast eateries and bakeries are nearby. Coffee/tea/hot chocolate and treats are available in the lobby 24/7. Lobby is beautiful with dark wood furniture, large, comfortable rose-colored chairs and sofas, and a stunning chandelier. There is also a bar with small sitting area. The lobby also has a huge fresh-water fish tank with an aquarium assortment of amazingly colored fish. Mesmerizing. Staff, especially Daan (double a) at the front desk, could not have been more helpful and friendly. We'll probably rent an apartment on our next Amsterdam trip. But if we don't, we will definitely stay at the Estherea again. No doubt!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,567
    620
    112
    28
    23
See reviews for
376
1,270
77
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2009

Great find around the corner from Dam Square but it seems like another world away. Sits on a quiet part of the canal which is mostly residential but is only 1 minutes walk from the centre. The rooms are quite well furnished with period reproduction furniture.This lends the hotel an old world feel. Staff are magnificent although our triple room was quite small, couldn't swing a clog in it. The 3 single beds were tiny. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fl
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2009

This is a great hotel...more boutique style. For those of you used to staying at bigger hotels....keep this in mind: this is an old building, this is Amsterdam....things are not necessarily going to be in pristine condition and yes the rooms are bit small (think B & B) With that said... our room was very nice with a fabulous bed and sitting area, we reserved a canal view room (stunning views room 310) and it was a very nice size, I recommend upgrading to a canal view if size is an issue for you. The staff was friendly and the breakfast buffet was great. They offer free coffee, tea, hot chocolate with cookies and small pastries throughout the day in the lobby...ate too many! The location could not have been better...close to Anne Frank House, red light dist, floating flower shops..etc.
Bike rental around the corner...etc.... really fantastic. If you are a beer lover there is a fantastic shop just around the corner in a small alleyway specializes in rare beers. Computer in the lobby if you need to get your boarding passes (yes it costs $5/30min). I was able to connect to wi-fi to use e-mail on my iphone from our room. I am a Marriott rewards holder, but won't think about staying anywhere else but here if I return to Amsterdam!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2009

This hotel has a lot going for it. It is in a really great location almost right in the center of Amsterdam, a stones throw away from the major city sights and destinations. It is also situated on a beautiful canal, in an enchanting old building. The public rooms (lounge, bar, restaurant, reception and so on) have a club-like atmosphere, and are peaceful and cosy. The staff are very efficient and eager to please. However, what lets this hotel down is the size of the rooms. I was given 510, which was one of the smallest sized rooms I have every stayed in. It was more like a large closet than a room. Okay, the bed was very comfortable, the bathroom was nicely refurbished, and I had a great view over the canal.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2009

My wife and I spent 3 nights at the Hotel Estherea at the end of our river cruise from Budapest. I choose the hotel using Trip Advisor and the reviews of previous visitors. We booked a canal view room to make my wife happy. I am glad we did because the view was excellent. The room was spacious and full of light from the three large windows. The bath was very clean and also spacious.

The staff was very helpful with recommendations for dinning. We had two evening meals at the hotel's recommended restaurants. Café Di David was Italian and D’ Theeboom was French both were on the same street as the hotel. Both served an excellent meal for fair prices. Our third evening meal was at Indonesian Restaurant - Selecta which was also very good.

My wife booked us a walking tour with Adam’s Apple Tours, www.adamsapple.nl. Frank books only small groups and only charges 25 euros. Frank has an excellent knowledge of Amsterdam both past and present. You must telephone Frank to arrange a tour at [--]. BTW, Frank is listed in Rick Steves’ Amsterdam guide book.

We also recommend the Amsterdam History Museum as a first stop on your visit. Book on-line for your tickets to the Van Gogh Museum and the Anne Frank House. Booking on-line will save you time waiting in long lines. The audio tour guide is a must for the Van Gogh Museum. And don’t forget a canal boat tour.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2009

This lovely four star hotel is worth the splurge. Of course for American travelers it seems to get more expensive by the day due to the value of the dollar. The staff was so very gracious and helpful. It was beautiful and on a lovely street. I would highly recommend this hotel to the discerning traveler. Having travelled to Europe many times myself, I would return to the Hotel Estherea the next time I am in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2009

The Estherea deserves all the kudos it's received on this site. I visited for four nights with my mom in late April 2009. You can't find a better location for being central in the city yet feeling like you have a quiet, beautiful canal all to yourself. There is a divine chocolate store about three blocks north named Puccini that's not to be missed. You can easily walk to the train station in 15-20 minutes for excursions out of town. The staff is friendly enough but not the highlight of the hotel. What is really cool and special about this hotel is the lobby and public space on the ground floor. I usually am never enticed to spend any time in such spaces, but the spaces are beautifully lit and furnished with lovely, warm items that make you want to hang out with a (free) cup of hot chocolate while you figure out your plans for the day, check your map, etc. Our room was spacious enough, and the place was always quiet at night The hotel is a little on the pricey side but really worth the splurge...all in all, it's pretty terrific.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Estherea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.