We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome experience! Would go back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Estherea

Save Saved
You added Hotel Estherea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Estherea
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Romantic Getaway
Ranked #13 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Falcon Heights, Minnesota
1 review
“Awesome experience! Would go back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2009

Stayed here with my husband, parents and brother for the weekend. Located on a quiet canal, yet an easy walk to many restaurants and attractions. Gorgeous lobby with complimentary coffee, hot chocolate and snacks. And don't miss the lemon/mint infused water in the lobby bar. Each room is decorated differently making each one a unique experience. Breakfast was just okay. Kind of pricey for what you get. Staff very friendly and helpful. I would definitely go back if I am ever in Amsterdam again!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,121 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,394
    569
    107
    28
    23
See reviews for
335
1144
73
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
260 reviews 260 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2009

When you enter in the Hotel you can that it is likely one of the best, if not the best, hotel in Amsterdam. With a huge aquarium and beautiful entry, many real flowers scattered by the various rooms, it is all well decorated and has an excellent service. The rooms are all different witn a great and good size and also a good bathroom. The hotel is completely renovated and guests can drink whenever they want all kinds of tea, hot chocolate, chocolate cookies or biscuits ... Excellent option to spend a few days in Amsterdam. The location could not be better, near by walk to all places of interest in the city.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnegat, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Estherea for three nights in April 2009. We had room 414. We arrived at Centraal Station and walked to the Estherea. The EASIEST way to do this is to turn RIGHT as you exit the station, then walk until you run into the SINGEL Canal, then turn LEFT. Walk straight down next to the Canal until you get to #303. It took us about 15-20 minutes with luggage. We arrived at 7:00am and did not expect our room to be ready (it wasn't!). We had the hotel breakfast since we arrived the day after Easter and most places were closed. I think the breakfast was 16€ per person. There were eggs, bacon, suasage, multiple pastries, fresh fruits, yogurts, coffee, tea, 4-5 different varieties of breads with jams an d butter. We enjoyed it that day, but did not eat there again since the price was a bit high for the amount that we eat! Our room was ready by noon, and we moved right in. When we got into the room we found a lovely gift from the hotel management since we were in Amsterdam to celebrate our 20th anniversary. The location was lovely, the room was lovely---we had a spacious canal view room, which was an upgraded room. The room was cleaned daily. Shower was wonderful--bathroom was spacious. TV reception was good. We did not hear noise from the street or the surrounding rooms. The front desk provided us with anything that we requested. The coffee, hot chocolate, tea and cookies were always welcome. It was a very comfortable and enjoyable stay. We were quite happy. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2009

We really enjoyed our stay for 2 nights in April at Hotel Estherea. What a charming hotel and beautifully appointed. The first impression was great, walking in through the double doors into a plush reception area, greeted by friendly, English speaking staff. Our luggage was cheerfully taken to our room on the second floor facing the street, which didn't pose any noise problems.

The room was beautifully furnished, every detail was thought about. The bedding and pillows were comfortable and cosy. The bathroom (with shower and separate bath) looked newly renovated with lovely fittings and tiling, complete with toiletries. The new toilet was in separate room. The big chandelier over the bed gave the room a grand look, but because the ceiling was low, we bumped our heads on it!

The lounge area near reception turned into a real bonus, as it was a great place to sit with visiting family members, in a cosy and luxurious environment. Not to mention the supply of lovely teas and coffee, sweets, biscuits and fruit available. Even while we were settling in our room, a staff member made sure our waiting guest downstairs was taken care of with a cup of tea.

The location was great and walking distance to everything. We even walked to the Artis (Zoo) just over 2klms away. The beautiful hotel is well worth every penny.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2009

The Hotel Estherea is a true gem in the heart of Amsterdam. It is located on Singel Canal, and the location is picturesque and quiet, but also convenient to everything in the city. We were traveling with our 13 year old daughter, and instead of a double room with a roll-away cot brought in for her, we were put in a big room that had a bed for my husband and I, as well as a twin sized sleigh bed for her. She was thrilled to have a "real" bed. The staff was friendly and helpful, and we loved the fact that we returned every day to 3 fresh bottles of water chilling in our room's fridge.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2009

Beautiful rooms, really well decorated. Very central for all amenities. Maybe slightly pricy but a better standard than many similar hotels. Liked the fact that hot drinks were available at all times, day and night. Library was a pleasant place to sit after a hard days shopping. The hotel always felt very quiet - though it was January! My only slight gripe was the fact that there were glass plaques in lifts and rooms warning guests that they would be fined if they smoked drugs in the hotel. I've never seen this before anywhere in Amsterdam and though it totally unnecessary. It wasn't at all the type of hotel where visitors would do this.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2009

This hotel was perfect. Friendly, helpful staff. Beautifully decorated - opulant furnishings, very comfy and luxurious. Ideal location for exploring the canals and streets on foot or by bike. Walkable from train station but in a quiet part of town. Plenty of cafes and antique shops and art galleries nearby.
I stayed here with a friend and although it's not the cheapest hotel in town, it was worth the money for sure. Would definitely stay there again if I'm lucky enough to return to Amsterdam. Being a tea-fiend I would have loved tea making facilities in the room, but there was free coffee, tea and hot chocolate in the lounge, so who's complaining?!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Estherea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.