We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 Night Break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Estherea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Estherea to your Saves list
Hotel Estherea
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #17 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“3 Night Break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

If you're thinking of opening an hotel go to this place first to get ideas ! The decor is outstanding , the location is ideal , and the refreshments and breakfasts are first class . Do try to get reception staff as good as those at the Estherea but that would be very difficult as these must be as good as it gets - really outstanding !

Room Tip: Canal rooms really nice but there again all the rooms we saw looked very nice !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,702
    683
    119
    32
    27
See reviews for
412
1,388
82
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We spent a week at the Hotel Estherea. We enjoyed every minute of our stay. The location on the Singel Canal is fantastic. The staff were all friendly and helpful. Our room was quiet, very clean and extremely comfortable. We really appreciated the coffee & chocolates at reception. There re lots of great restaurants and cafes close by. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We have just spent 4 nights at the Estherea and can certainly recommend it. The bedrooms are sumptuously appointed and the bathroom was well equipped with a jacuzzi bath and large walk in shower, along with lovely l'Occitane en Provence toiletries. However, our room wasn't very well sound-proofed as we could hear every word of our neighbours' conversations and they seemed to spend a lot of time in the jacuzzi bath which resonated in our room! With one notable exception, the staff on reception were welcoming and very helpful & spoke perfect English. They will book excursions for you and order a taxi within minutes. The reception area was always very busy while we were there as there were lots of Americans staying who seemed to be rather demanding! The bar area is large and very comfortable with a huge selection of very reasonably priced drinks, including lots of cocktails. The hotel restaurant only serves breakfast which we didn't have on principle when we heard that they charge 5€ extra per person (18 instead of 13) when you booked via a website such as Expedia (as we had done). This didn't seem very fair. Room service at all other times is provided by a neighbouring cafe (Broodje Bert) & seemed very reasonably priced. A really nice touch is the complimentary tea/coffee/hot chocolate and sweets/snacks provided self-service 24/7 just next to reception. There is no mini bar in the room but a small fridge with complimentary bottled water which was replenished daily. There is also a free safe and an ironing board & iron (which rather frustratingly took up half the limited hanging space in the wardrobe!) A particular plus point is the iPad which the hotel loans to you free of charge throughout your stay to access free wi-fi!
One final point, avoid rooms at the back overlooking the street as they were rather noisy (especially from about 6 am onwards) We wanted to book a canal view room but, even though I booked months in advance, there were none available (maybe this is another drawback of booking via a search engine?!) All in all, this is a beautiful hotel within walking distance of lots of attractions and we would stay here again, but would book direct next time.

Room Tip: Choose a canal view at the front as rooms overlooking the street were noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dunfermline,scotland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This was our third stay at the Estherea in the past 20 months,and once again it was an enjoyable experience.
Unlike previous stays, we had a canal-side room (107) which was beautifully decorated - however,compared with other rooms we have occupied it was much smaller in size.
Apart from the room size the only other negative was the positioning of the shower - it was recessed at the end of the bath making it impossible to get under the shower fully.
However, these were relatively minor matters and in no way spoiled our stay.The hotel staff were,as always, extremely friendly and helpful and the ambiance was as welcoming and cosy as ever. The breakfast was varied and plentiful,and the hot drinks machine in the foyer was well used - as were the goodies on offer next to it!
The positioning of the Estherea is perfect for walking around central Amsterdam and tram access is very close.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The hotel was more traditional/old school in decor and amenities; but lovely and the staff extremely helpful. Positioned very centrally and close to public transportation, one can walk every where.
The decor was a bit dated but seemed to fit with the ambience of the hotel. The bed was comfortable and having a sofa in the room was a plus. The rooms were large. The one negative is that the bathroom door was merely a large shutter - so there was no privacy there.
Having coffee/tea/hot chocolate and treats everyday in the lobby was a nice touch. The staff could not have been friendlier and more helpful.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed here after flying in from US. They let us check in early- a definite plus when you are jet lagged. The room is comfortable and charming. I would suggest asking for a room on the canal. We were on the street and it was a little noisy. Each room is decorated differently which adds to the charm.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We took two canal rooms and both were lovely. The staff are very attentive and friendly and do their utmost to help in any way. Great central location and an extensive buffet breakfast. There is a bonus of free hot and cold drinks and biscuits all day long. You can ask for a tea tray in your room. We would highly recommend this stylish hotel.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Estherea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.