We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we can visit again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Estherea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Estherea to your Saves list
Hotel Estherea
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #16 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wish we can visit again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We came with my parents to celebrate my daughter's 16th birthday and the hotel was a great choice. I do not think you can get more of Amsterdaym in any other place. it is located in several old buildings which are very well connected together, so there are several types of rooms, I do not think you can get two identical ones. We had two rooms, both beautiful, not too big, just enough, nice bathrooms, toiletries by L Ociitane, comfy beds. Lobby was stylish, with a chance to self service ourself with a tea or coffee and a biscuit, very pleasant after a long day sightseeing. The hotel serves nice breakfast but there is plenty of bakeries around, so you can eat outside if you prefer. The canal is just in front of the hotel and next door company provides nice boat rides - just the right size boat, also possible to have a private boat. Walking distance to all major sights, flower market, A. Frank House, close to tram station which takes you to the museums and galleries. This was one of our best weekend trips we have taken in years!

Room Tip: If you have problems sleeping ask for a room facing the water, the back track is a bit noisy from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,697
    679
    119
    32
    27
See reviews for
411
1,382
82
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Turnhout, Belgium
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Getting to the hotel was easy, use one of the P+R parking around Amsterdam and get a tram to the hotel, from there is was a 4-5 minute walk. Parking was 1 euro per day !!!
Entering the hotel we were blown away by the beauty, the classic/old style, but kept up to date & fresh. I felt right at home.

I spent one night in the Orange suite. It's AMAZING !!! you have to try it.

I have 2 points I need to get across, one "bad" and one good.

The good: OH MY GOD !! THE ROOMSERVICE !! we had the bert & ernie burger.. they were cheap and i think one of the best things i've eaten in my life. For the same money you can go buy a crappy kebab, but this was just.. WOW !! Everything on the roomservice list is very low priced and amazing quality.

The "bad": Our room had an AMAZING tv ! nice and big, good quality brand and product. But all the channels on it are standard definition and just looked awful...
If they can improve this small little issue, the room would have been perfect.

I advice this place for ANYONE wanting to go to Amsterdam

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarsdale, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Hotel Estherea was the most charming hotel I have ever stayed in. The magnificent colors were warm and friendly. The rooms are a perfect size and very comfortable. The staff is incredibly nice and so helpful in planning activities for you to do while in Amsterdam. This hotel made my trip!!!

Room Tip: the rooms over looking the canals are absolutely magical!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

When booking this hotel it states that they don't take a payment upfront but this is not completely honest as they do take a pre authorisation payment. Pre authorisation payments are clearly stated in Booking.coms Terms as "payment is made upfront by wire transfer (if available) or by credit card, and therefore your credit card may be pre-authorised or charged (sometimes without any option for refund) upon making the reservation."
This Hotel does take this payment so as stated "Payment is Made Upfront" Despite Booking.com claiming its not a payment its a pre authorisation payment its actually effectively the same thing as my funds were not available to me. I cancelled my booking as i was not happy with this arrangement and my funds were not available to me for 7 DAYS after i cancelled.
The customer service department at Booking.com were the worst i have ever encountered. they were not interested in resolving this and adopted a flippant condescending attitude.
BE AWARE THAT THIS HOTEL DOES TAKE A PAYMENT ALBEIT DESCRIBED AS A PRE AUTHORISATION PAYMENT UPFRONT AND THAT THE SERVICE FROM BOOKING.COM IS APPALLING!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chappaqua
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I loved this hotel...the design is absolutely gorgeous, and very welcoming and friendly. I loved looking at all the fabrics, and wallpapers and flower arrangements. It's VERY tastefully decorated...classic, yet a touch modern which prevents it from being stuffy, and feels really luxurious. I felt like I was staying at the mansion of a rich, fashionable relative! Such great attention to detail! We loved having the hot chocolate/cappucino machine in the lobby, and my son loved the treats. The breakfast was great, and a nice place to sit and plan our day. Super sweet that they left Easter candy in our room. Only downside was our (gorgeous!) room was on the first floor in the back and it was VERY noisy on Friday and Saturday nights and kept us up. That was too bad. The rooms are small, but very comfortable bed, and pillows. Hair dryers could definitely be improved!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Windsor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The Hotel Estherea offered my friends and Me absolutely beautiful accommodations, outstanding service, convenient location, and wonderful amenities. The 24 hour coffee bar was fantastic offering afternoon cookies and jars of yummy candies with nighttime chocolates. Fresh flower bouquets adorned the parlor and the comfortable library with magnificent chandeliers hanging everywhere. We loved the Hotel Estherea and dream of returning.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dedham, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We loved the Hotel Estherea - its location, its rooms, its ambiance, the staff, the very attractive little bar and its bartender, Leo.The Estherea was a little stretch for us financially but we felt we received great value in every way. We easily walked to most of our destinations and if too far, we took the tram which operated only a couple of minute's walk away. And if a taxi was needed, a phone call from the reception desk brought on within five minutes. The reception desk people and bellmen were so caring and helpful. We were made to feel most welcome.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Estherea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.