We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Estherea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Estherea to your Saves list
Hotel Estherea
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Romantic Getaway
Ranked #10 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Fantastic stay in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We had a fantastic stay in Hotel Estherea. It was very conveniently located and walking distance to the red light district, Heineken experience and Anne Frank Museum. The facilities were always clean and it was a very large spacious room. We would highly recommend this to other holiday makers.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,562
    619
    112
    28
    23
See reviews for
375
1,268
77
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Wow! Stunning hotel from the moment you walk in. Staff were delightful.

Used the TripAdvisor offer of 3 nights and you get a room upgrade (so we got the Canal View), free chocolates/prosecco and a drink at the bar (ANY drink, so I got a Long Island cocktail - make sure you go after 5pm for cocktails!)

I needed to reduce my stay to 2 nights but they still honoured the offer - so kind :)

Will definitely be recommending this hotel to everyone visiting Amsterdam!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We LOVED this hotel. Great location, great room facing canal, nice staff, in hotel parking, You can tell that this is a family-owned hotel as it had great charm and personality. The common areas and rooms have that extra touch. We plan to return to Amsterdam and want yo stay here again.

Room Tip: I would pay a little extra and fav the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying in the Hotel Estherea for a romantic weekend away December 2012.

We were already astounded by the picturesque area you had to travel through to reach the hotel; small, idyllic book stores and bakeries dotted every couple of doors down.

We were directed down a dimly lit alley by our driver, which opened up to one of Amsterdam's historical canals we came upon the entrance. Walking into the reception we were both blown away by the warm and charming decor; without even speaking to the concierge we already felt welcome.

The hotel was simply beautiful; I could go on for days about each individual decorative feature in the lobby (fireplaces, chandeliers, statues, table pieces etc...) but this is suppose to be a brief review.

The location was perfect as it was a stones throw from a bustling square that offered top class restaurants and bars and also the markets. An added extra was that the tour bus also stopped right behind the hotel...coincidently next to a bakery that made the wait for the bus that much more glutinous.

Although the room we were given was on the small side the attention to detail in the vintage decoration made up for it. Perfect for a romantic get away; they even gifted us with complimentary champagne as it was our wedding anniversary.

The staff were amazing and even though I've forgotten the name of the lady who provided us with such excellent service; they really were a credit to their employers.

All I'm all if you're looking for a romantic, idyllic Amsterdam stay I strongly suggest Hotel Estherea; you won't regret it.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge wells
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This hotel on Singel canal and on the edge of the Jordaan area of Amsterdam, must be one of the best little hotels to stay in. The position the decor the whole ambiance is amazing. so close to all the attractions in the city . rooms were small but luxuriously furnished, bar and lounge just fantastic. The staff could not have been more helpful, especially with eating out. The Area around it is better than central Amsterdam take a walk over to the Jordaan area and you get a real feel for living in Amsterdam. The shopping is excellent too!!

Room Tip: book early and get one looking onto canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geneva
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

just spent one night in hotel Estherea in mid december and really felt at home the moment i stepped in. very cosy and welcoming lobby and reception staff, room was nice and quiet, even so the hotel is in the middle of everything there is to do and see in amsterdam!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have just returned from our anniversary trip to Amsterdam and stayed in Hotel Estherea for 3 nights. The position of the hotel was perfect - just 5 minutes walk from Dam Sq and perfectly placed to walk to all the major sights and attractions in Amsterdam.
The hotel is relatively small but beautifully appointed. The staff are pleasant and attentive and took care of our every need. The breakfasts were very good and the free drinks machine together with cakes in the lobby were a godsend when returning from a hard days sightseeing. We can highly recommend this hotel and look forward to returning one day.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Estherea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.