We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Estherea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Estherea to your Saves list
Hotel Estherea
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Romantic Getaway
Ranked #11 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Saratoga Springs,Ny
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

I am very glad I booked our stay at the Estherea. It is a charming boutique style hotel with alot of elegant touches. All of the staff,without exception, were very friendly and pleasant. Little touches like continuous coffee service,cookies and lemon water added to the comfortable surroundings. The rooms were very comfortable, and very clean. The hotel is in a great location -easy walking distance from the city central area,but away from the crowds. We hopefully we return to wonderful Amsterdam, and will stay here again.
(note:book directly with the hotel -better price)

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,532
    613
    111
    28
    23
See reviews for
374
1,245
76
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

Pos
Great location , helpful staff , dozen of guides and discounts , view , everything in a walking distance , they can book tours and get you tickets to anything without charge , give you a map and explain, iPad to use with each room

Neg
No insulators between rooms , extremely expensive parking and slow to get your car by the car elevator , breakfast is expensive , one of the smallest rooms in Europe ( traveled to 5 countries in Europe )
Female staff in reception are rude / reception is slow, you have to leave the key with the reception, hard to find with one way streets all around and bicycles eveywhere

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

We had four great nights at this hotel and enjoyed them all.As a matter of fact there was nothing to describe as unpleasant ..Staff were great although some had some difficulty I think they may have been new to the position, however in that it was not a problem for or stay.It is close to everything Tram boats walking distance to a great number of restaurant's and sights at night.
Take a trip to Edam worth an hour.Then take the bus back to Voldam spend some time there some great eating places the take a sail across to Marken with a chap that will sail you there for $50 eu for 2 people less for more and is a great way to beat the crowds on the ferry.

Room Tip: Rooms spacious and super comfortable.$50 EU from the airport by cab and worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

We had room with canal view. Recommend you book early for canal view room, extra is worth it. Agree with other reviews, Ambiance wonderful, location perfect and staff very helpful and friendly. Not a modern building but well cared for. Cost of Breakfast mentioned in other reviews but if you like breakfast time then worth it, suggest include breakfast with your booking and save. Did not get to see inside other rooms but you could get view of glass lift going up and down. other reviews mention noise outside at night ? wooden windows, single glazed and you are in the city so do not expect silence but we did not notice any major disturbance. The bed so comfortable my wife wanted to bring it home. Read the reviews and know what you are getting. I highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

I stayed at the Estherea eight or nine years ago and vowed that if I ever returned to Amsterdam I would look no further for accommodation - and I was not disappointed on my return. This is a lovely hotel in a great location, the staff are delightful, it's close to everything you'll need or want to explore in the city and boasts a picture postcard canal setting. The Estherea is really cozy and the public areas are great for grabbing a quick drink or tea/coffee (complimentary all day), while the rooms (although a little on the small side) have great charm with traditional furnishings and really comfortable beds. This hotel has everything you could want from an Amsterdam hotel including, most importantly, a character and charm you won't find in one of the big chain properties. Highly recommended if it's within your budget.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in august 2014 with wife.

The hotel is along the canal of a quieter street. Once you enter the hotel, you are immediately greeted with a truly elegant and extravagant decor. The hotel is designed very traditionally with fantastic details in almost every piece of furniture and interior design. The lobby is decorated with very plush sofas and chairs, there is a reading area with table and bookshelf, open space entrance to Maria's bar (open 24/7) and entrance to the dining area. The main floor like the rest of the floors is intricately designed with meticulously and traditionally decorated. The layout is a bit of an adventure to navigate around (in a cool and exciting way) because there are nooks and hallways that lead to all sorts of meeting rooms, stairs, balconies, etc.

The hotel uses L'occitaine shower gel, hand wash, shampoo and conditioner. Toilet paper is double or triple ply and room had two twins put together to form a king with a daybed. Room was very comfy and big. There is a fridge with two complimentary bottles of water. Hotel lobby has an area right outside the dining hall for complimentary coffee and tea. Room and lobby has jars of candies for the sweet tooth folks. Breakfast all u can eat is €18.

Service was very pleasant. We came early at 10am ish, and they told us the party before us just checked out and they will clean up and prep the room within 45 mins. So we ate at the dining hall and once we finished, the bellboy brought us up to our room. He introduced the room and taught us how to use the features in it and gave us an ipad to use (the hotel goes digital and does not use paper hotel directory or pamphlets). There is wifi which requires you to connect via the email you registered when checking in or signing in via a social media account. They do have one peculiar behavior, which is that they issue one room key and you need to give it to the front desk when going out of the hotel. The key gets deactivated if you leave the building with it. Every time u come back, you get the key from the front desk. Hotel locks it's doors at 11pm, which requires u to just ring the doorbell, and someone will come open up at night.

All in all the amenities were outstanding, and the service was friendly and nice. This hotel is highly recommended but does get pricey.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

I stayed at the Hotel Estherea for 2 nights and I have to say, I was seriously impressed. It has an awesome vibe, old world grandeur meets modern touch of class. Stayed in suite 11 and it is above and beyond, especially the top of the line linens, double head shower and in-mirror tv. Location is spectacular in the heart of the old town, but on a quiet canal. Couldn't recommend it more!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Otel, Agoda, Venere, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Estherea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.