We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Real Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Estherea

Save Saved
You added Hotel Estherea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Estherea
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Romantic Getaway
Ranked #13 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Fort Washington, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A Real Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed at this gem of a hotel for five nights. Great location on a quieter, pretty canal street. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. The hotel amenities are wonderful, and the breakfast is not to be missed. The lobby is divided into various sitting rooms, providing variety and quieter areas for reading. Rooms and bathrooms are clean and comfortable. Rooms are a bit small, as is typical of European hotels, but have great storage spaces. Bathrooms are modern, nicely decorated, well lit, with thoughtful amenities. The gym downstairs was great to have on site. The needs of the guest come first in this lovely hotel. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,455
    590
    110
    28
    23
See reviews for
358
1183
76
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Stayed for 2 nights as a couple. Unexpectedly ugraded on arrival to an enormous suite. All staff were very friendly and welcoming and their helpfulness was unstinting throughout our stay. Hotel used IPads as compediums which was an interesting innovation. The hotel lobby and bar area are very uniquely decorated and give a very cosy feeling. The location is very central and the hotel recommendations on restaurants for dinner was very much appreciated.

Terry B

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We wanted a Central hotel for a one night stay before boarding our cruise ship and choose Hotel Estherea. From the moment the friendly and helpful staff checked us in it has been absolutely wonderful. Everything about this hotel is top rate. Their attention to detail, the sumptuous decor, the comfort of the rooms - what more praise can I give. Definitely among a couple of the best hotels worldwide we've ever stayed in.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

While this hotel has been fully renovated in the dutch tradition, we found both of our two rooms very small. The hotel is well located and staff were helpful. They have all you will need in terms of push bikes or scooters and a nice bar and breakfast area. It was the size of the rooms that was the problem, tiniest of any we came across.

Room Tip: Worth asking whether the rooms are all the same size or not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nelson lancashire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Just got back from a three night stay at this hotel and it was excellent. Every thing about this hotel is good.There are a lot of hotels that are cheaper than this one but you get what you pay for and it is worth the extra money.close to all the tourist attractions.Room very clean bed very comfy staff were friendly.I can find faults with most hotels but not here.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the front are more expensive but are worth it for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portola Valley, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

This hotel made our stay. We had several rooms and I really enjoyed our lovely room overlooking the Singel Canal. Even though the street was below, it was very quiet. The room was well appointed, although the bathroom was a bit small. The lobby had a charming little bar and there are little complimentary treats in the lobby for guests. I frequently enjoyed the expresso machine.The breakfast room is quaint and the food is good. The front desk staff were attentive and friendly. Every dinner recommendation was excellent. Everything is within walking distance. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

I've just got back from this hotel, stayed for three nights. This hotel is in a nice location in a lovely area of Amsterdam but within walking distance to most of the sites. Good transport links with the tram network. It's about a 20 minute walk from the train station but a tram would take 5 mins. There are lots of restaurants, bars and cafés nearby.
The hotel it's self is beautifully decorated, the rooms and bathrooms are lovely. The free hot and cold drinks in the lobby with sweet treats too was a big bonus. The staff were very friendly, although we did sit at the bar for quite a while and no one came to serve us one evening.
We stayed in a standard room which was still lovely. High quality toiletries were provided. The shower was separate to the toilet and basin, the shower itself very good. The bed was amazing.
I honestly have no complaints.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Estherea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.