We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice familly in the centre of Amsterdam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Estherea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Estherea to your Saves list
Hotel Estherea
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Romantic Getaway
Ranked #10 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very nice familly in the centre of Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Very nice hotel located along the canals (Single area). Close to shops and living area.
The employee are very nice and helpful.
Area maps have been replaced by iPads with a local App.

I'm going back in the same hotel in October.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,558
    619
    112
    28
    23
See reviews for
375
1,264
77
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerpen
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed there in May for 3 nights.
The location is perfect for visiting the city center. Also a convenient closeby tram to go to the museum area, Pretty close to the Station to catch the Thalys. Many restaurants and eateries in the area.
The hotel has been nicely renovated, the lounge and lounge bar area are pretty pleasant, the staff is very helpful, and you are provided with a complementary iPad.
Breakfast is not great but ok, the breakfast area is congested and not pleasant, very busy.
The rooms and the bathroom are very small, and the window looks into a 3x3m2 pipe. Need to keep the curtains closed also during the day unless you want to chat with yr neighbours.
Alltogether not good enough when one pays 263 euros for room and breakfast.

Room Tip: The rooms with view on the canal will be better, but more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

The Hotel Estherea was a great choice for our stay in Amsterdam.
We stayed in the Orange Suite and found it plenty big for our family of 3.
The room and bathroom was clean and well appointed.
Having coffee and tea with treats available 24 hours was an added and much appreciated bonus. Amsterdam is an easy walking city and this hotel is well positioned to start your journey.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Texoma
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Beautiful inside and out. The lobby is wonderful. The room was pretty, clean and comfortable. Quick walk to all of the fun stuff. Ate at the bar two nights - good choice of light fair. Everything we expected and better. Only problem was the cab driver didn't know where it was and we drove around 25 minutes. Would definitely recommend. There are closer places than four blocks from the center, but we loved it. And right on the canal

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Why did I leave, because the bill for two nights was already stomach-churning. But I think, I think, the hotel was worth it: wonderfully stylish rooms; great location; a room with a view of the canal; delicious breakfasts; attentive, yet unobstrusive service. Trust me, if you're willing to splurge, this place is probably worth it. Thoroughly first-rate hotel in an exciting city.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We highly recommend Hotel Estherea for its wonderful location in the heart of Amsterdam, an easy walk to most favorite sights. We had a beautiful and very comfortable room, and excellent service. Could not find a better home-away-from-home in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Finding the Estherea from Grand Centraal Station is very simple - a stroll to Dam Square and then 10 minutes along Singel. We checked in early on Saturday morning - changing in the small conveniences used for the basement gym. To get orientated we wanted to try a canal tour and were lucky to find the hotel arranges an 11:00hrs canal tour - so we off to a perfect start. When we got back our room was ready (117) - well appointed, good size, nice bathroom, well decorated with a four poster bed - very nice.

The hotel is very clean. Well decorated. With very friendly helpful staff. Family run - and it shows.

The bar is lovely. We would recommend the cocktails!

The restaurant only opens for breakfast (which isn't great) but it doesn't matter as there are plenty of places near by to eat at.

Location is simply tremendous.

And the mark of service is what happens when problems occur ( as they do from time to time)

On our first night we were disturbed by the people above us. The building is 17th century with wooden floors and little if any sound insulation so it sounded as if our neighbours were rearranging the furniture! After a while we asked Reception to intervene which they did and all went quiet - sort of. What then transpired was a kin to water torture with a constant noise coming from the ventilation system - not an issue in the day time but accentuated by the silence of the night. We mentioned this to Reception the next morning. Sadly when we returned from our day out nothing had been done and there no other rooms available. So we were offered earplugs......and the promise of a "better room" the next day.

The next day came and we waited for the new room to be prepared to find it was not a "better room" at all. It was the smaller part of what was clearly two adjoining rooms. It seemed at this point when we said we were less than happy we were being categorised as awkward customers - actually all we wanted was a quite room for sleep of the right quality. Which to be fair to the staff we got when they upgraded the room to the Pink Suite (Room 11).

The Pink Suite is fantastic - a lounge overlooking the small courtyard, a panelled bedroom, jacuzzi, double shower and so on. What a way to make amends - brilliant!

Overall if we returned to Amsterdam we'd stay at the Estherea - it's excellent in its location, quality and service.

Room Tip: 11 The Pink Suite is superb. 117 - Nice room if the ventilation noise has been sorted but note the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Estherea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.