We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really fantastic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Estherea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Estherea to your Saves list
Hotel Estherea
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Really fantastic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Our stay here was just sublime. Awesome rooms with everything you need. Great free coffee. Location is very central and the staff helpful. Nothing is more then 10 minutes away. Nice gym. Bit on the expensive side but worth every cent.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,566
    619
    112
    28
    23
See reviews for
376
1,269
77
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ca
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

I stayed at this hotel in July with my daughter - overall, I was very pleased with the hotel. Our room overlooked the canal - lovely view. The hotel is well located. We did not eat breakfast there, but did enjoy their self service coffee bar, as well as cocktails in their bar. We checked in the night of the soccer game, so check in wasn't great (young men were staffing the front desk that night). The service for the remainder of our stay was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We has a canal view suite on the 2nd floor. It was the loveliest room we've stayed in. The decor in the entire hotel is impressive. Gorgeous wall paper and rich hues with an old world feel. The hotel was fully booked but it never felt overcrowded. It has a small amazing bar with an interesting cocktail menu. The hotel stands out as it provided good service, has character,style and a wonderful location by the Singel canal. Would definitely stay at this hotel when we next visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narre Warren South
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We found this hotel to be fantastic, as it offered great service by all the staff, it was close to the centre of the city with easy walking to most of the sights. The hotel offered a very comprehensive breakfast service that we really enjoyed. The staff were very knowledgeable and very helpful. The rooms were very quiet and well appointed. Absolutely loved our stay in this beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

My mother and I stayed for three nights in July and were extremely pleased with the Hotel Estherea. We booked it based on TripAdvisor reviews. The location is fantastic, a very walkable neighborhood near to shops and restaurants. Our double room (with jacuzzi tub) was beautifully decorated, comfortable and immaculate. Our room (101) faced the canal and we had no issues with noise. As there was a heat wave during our stay, we did have the windows closed and the air-conditioning on, which worked perfectly. (And there are elevators!) The lovely little bar adjacent to the lobby is wonderful for a drink and snacks, and there is plenty of room in the public spaces to relax in comfortable chairs and tables with a book or an iPad. The free coffee/tea and biscuits in the lobby was an added plus. In the lobby, they conveniently have two computers and a printer, so it's easy to check email or check in for a flight and print boarding passes. The breakfast (at additional charge) although a bit pricey is sumptuous. They serve eggs (cooked several ways), bacon, waffles, at least 7 different types of breads and rolls, fresh fruit, yogurts, meats and cheeses, etc. Good fortification for lots of walking. Each time we needed a cab the front desk called and a cab appeared within 5 minutes. Each time, the driver was extremely helpful and courteous, as was the hotel staff. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wyckoff
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We were there for 5 days in late June 2014. Our room overlooked a court yard and was very quiet. Luxurious touches and it was ready when we arrived early afternoon. would recommend it again to anyone who wants a special place.

Room Tip: we were on the 2nd floor in the back, very quiet. front rooms were noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi, Pakistan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Hotel Estherea was everything it promised to be.

The location was simply great. Nothing was too far away, we could walk everywhere. For places like Vondelpark you could rent a bike and have a great ride all the way. The area of the hotel itself was very charming - there was a tiny lane connecting the hotel road (Singel) to Spuistraat, which lead to a great deal of activity, restaurants and shops. Close to the hotel, on the corner of the tiny lane, was a breakfast place. On the other side we found a reasonable taxi service, which took us to the airport at a cheaper rate on the way out.

The hotel was beautiful and elegant inside, with large chandeliers and boutique wall paper all around. And even though our room was a bit small, and we didn't get the canal view room that we had booked, it was still quite nice. The size of the bathroom was quite decent. It had two sinks, and a separate shower and bath tub and high quality toiletries were provided. Tea and coffee were available at all times in the area beyond the lobby, complete with to-go cups! Great if you want to grab a cup of tea and sit outside on the benches, looking at the canal and watching people go by. The breakfast buffet was also quite decent and comfortable.

I would highly recommend this hotel to people who want to be able to walk everywhere and yet enjoy some beauty and comfort. The only tiny regret I have is that we did not get a canal view room, even though that was the one we had booked. Next time, perhaps.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Estherea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.