We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Estherea

Save Saved
You added Hotel Estherea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Estherea
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Romantic Getaway
Ranked #15 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Location, location, location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had never traveled to the Netherlands before and went onto TripAdvisor to call up hotels. This ranked in the 90% and I was curious. After reading the reviews and looking at people's pictures I decided my husband and I needed to try it. It is our last stop on our three week trip from Barcelona to Nice, France, Lake Como and now here.

When we entered the double doors into the lobby my mouth fell open! Absolutely stunning! Victorian furniture, huge glass chandeliers, beautiful drapery, amazing aquarium, the smell of fresh flowers in every room downstairs. I would expect royalty to be staying here. We don't usually stay in such beautiful hotels. Our room is a court side room and it is beautiful. The best part is the comfy mattress lied a Marriott Hotel. Not like the stiff hard beds in Europe. So nice to sleep comfortably. Everyday 24/7 coffee, hot chocolate and teas served in lobby and free. The most amazing cookies out on table every after noon (free) and juice and flavored waters. Hard candy and chocolates out 24/7 for the taking. Wow we felt spoiled. They give you an IPad to use in your room also.

I had read in the reviews that the hotel was in a great location and wow is it. We have Not taken any public transport in 6 days. We have walked the city each day!

Tips:

Do not miss the Rijksmuseum - Van Gogh Museum - Anne Frank Museum
Dinner Lucius (street behind hotel). Wonderful

(Reserve all museum tickets in advance or better yet buy the Holland Pass card at the hotel to save money on most attractions. It will give you a trolley bus service for 2 days. We did not use it since we walked everywhere)

Have fun. Great city, great people and great shopping!

Room Tip: First floor interior courtyard room was great to get to lobby and out the door quickly. No need to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,120 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,393
    569
    107
    28
    23
See reviews for
335
1144
73
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel was professional and of the highest caliber for the big things and particularly for the details. Early check in? No problem. Need a stamp? They will sell you one and mail your postcard for you! Travel directions or excellent restaurant recommendations, but of course. Care to check your bags until your train so you can explore one more local attraction? Yes we can! A comfortable library with newspapers is a variety of languages. Anytime coffee, tea, chocolate candies, croissants in the morning. A clean, comfortable, quiet stay in the best location. Not cheap, but a wonderful splurge. If ever again in A'dam, will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

We have just stayed in the Hotel Estherea to celebrate our wedding anniversary and found it to be an excellent choice. The rooms were clean and had everything we needed. The public areas were great and we loved the opulent decor. The breakfast offered loads of choice. The staff were also extremely professional,helpful and friendly. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to our family and friends.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mildura, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Thank you to all at Hotel Estherea, we have had terrific time here. Value for money, with lots of luxury and staff that go out of their way to help, warm & friendly. Highly recommend you should give it a try! Great location. Would love to stay again.

Room Tip: Great view of the canal from the front, but we also had one in the middle overlooking courtyard stil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Here's what we liked: location great, decor very nice, coffee/beverages/snacks were good, our room 310 was well-furnished, bed comfortable, canal views great, hotel itself has a lot of character, library, dining room, bar very special. Here's what we didn't like: air temperature controls unresponsive and created cold draft in seating area, louvered doors to bathroom compromised privacy.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights at the Hotel Estherea at the end of May. It was our second time at the hotel and it did not disappoint. The hotel is perfectly located within a short walk to most major attractions. The room is small yet perfectly appointed. What makes the Hotel Estherea a stand out though is the wonderful front of house staff. They are warm and welcoming and eager to help you with all your needs. They helped set my husband and I up on their rental Vespa for the day and pointed out some place just outside Amsterdam to go to. This was a perfect stop at the beginning of our trip.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

This was our second stay in the hotel, and just as enjoyable as last time. The staff were friendly, welcoming and helpful. The room was nice and cool, the bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was beautiful. The room we booked was a little larger than last time as we booked a deluxe for a special birthday. Would visit again even in a smaller room. Reliably worth the money.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Venere, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Estherea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.