We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet sleep.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Estherea

Save Saved
You added Hotel Estherea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Estherea
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Romantic Getaway
Ranked #15 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Bahamas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Sweet sleep.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

There is always some apprehension about checking into a hotel that you find online but one of our group discovered she had a friend who had stayed here and with additional input from tripadvisor we decided to go for it. The outside of the hotel hides what is behind the front door. We were pleasantly surprised. Our room was quite large with what seemed to be a newly renovated bathroom. The only complaint, and not really one, just a bit awkward, was that the toilet was in a room on its own. This meant that you had to come out a door take two steps and open the bathroom door to wash your hands. Not too sure why they just did not open up the wall between the two. The age of the building may have had something to do with it. That being said, the rest of the room was comfortable and well done. Over all the hotel were fantastic, the staff we encountered were all gracious and helpful. I will definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,197 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,449
    587
    110
    28
    23
See reviews for
355
1178
76
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

This property is well located and within easy access to most things on offer in Amsterdam. The hotel is quirky with its interesting decor and offers larger than usual, well equipped rooms. The staff are exceptional, with service levels of the highest standard.

We stayed two nights, with another couple, prior to our cruise and we would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Warley, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

What can I say, after countless trips to amsterdam I finally found a hotel where I would go back!, again and again! Its a short tram ride away from the centre and central station, (number 5 tram) and the red light district so its not at all noisy and nothing is in your face. The staff are very pleasant and welcoming, don't be afraid to ask them anything as they're always there to help. The rooms are so gorgeous, spacious too. Every one is decorated differently, so cant wait for my next visit, we had such a great 2 nights sleep. We didnt want to get out of bed but didnt want to waste the day..... Oh ye and how could I forget to mention the abundance of sweets, hot drinks, flavoured waters and cakes, all day everyday free in the lobby! Delish!!! Unfortunately we never ate in the hotel so cant comment but if the cocktails from the bar were anything to go by I should imagine it was nice. Defiantly one to remember and to return. Thankyou to all the staff at estherea for making my valetines break extra special ...

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

The Estherea is located on the Singel, perfectly situated for visiting all things in the Centrum. The lobby is plush and beautiful in an updated late 19th c. style. Public areas are inviting, including the b'fast room. The front desk staff is usually very helpful (though there were a few minor kerfuffles). Each guest room is equipped with an iPad, a smart and helpful touch. Our room, though not large, was elegantly furnished, the beds comfortable, the air conditioning quiet and efficient. All the mod-cons you need are there. The modern bathroom with twin sinks is roomy enough, though the separate "room" for the commode is about the size of a phone booth, a minor inconvenience in an otherwise lovely hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This hotel was recommended by an Irish friend! She said it was perfectly located and very clean!
And that is correct! My friend and I were on a 3 day introduction trip to Amsterdam, and this hotel was ideal! 15 minutes walking to Anne Frank House, 20 minute walk to the Rijksmuseum, and Van Gogh Museum, a mere 5 minutes to the Flower MArket. Restaurants of excellent calibre within 3 minutes of the hotel made taxis completely unnecessary for us. The room was small for two, but clean with an air conditioner that worked perfectly. The bar is small but cozy, and there are inviting rooms to sit and read papers and guide books before venturing out. But the staff is very helpful and they can get tickets to almost anything at a slight premium, but if you do not want to do the work online yourself, they are there to help. The breakfast is generous, but very expensive, so if you sit down and even get coffee, be prepared for the bill. I would say the service everywhere in Amsterdam came with a bit of an attitude. We were Irish and American, and I am not certain if it was the factor, but it was the same in all the restaurants we went to...be prepared. I truly enjoyed my visit and recommend this hotel with pleasure!

Room Tip: Just avoid near elevator, as it is noisy and then there are doors into corridors that swing open...r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Based on reviews, booked three nights (breakfast special, complimentary bottle of Prosecco wine) and not disappointed. Located on Singel Canal within easy walk of Dam Square, floating flower market or tram; Rijk Museum 1.75-mile walk round trip; Canal Tours on Damrak less than 3/4-mile walk. Lovely room in red and gold on third floor overlooking Spuistraat (restaurant row); shower included shampoo, conditioner and bath gel; two sinks, nice bath linens, toilet separate, large cozy bed with armoire on each side (safe, ironing board, iron), desk/chair, wall-mounted TV, double French doors with heavy drapes. Hotel lobby lovely with fish tank wall, comfortable seating, two computer stations, two quiet elevators, separate library, bar and dining room; complimentary cookies and beverage, Breakfast buffet included wide range of items: fresh bread, fruit, cheese, cold cuts, eggs, bacon/sausage, yogurt, juice, special coffees and kept well-stocked. Staff extremely helpful with tours, transportation, dining recommendations; digital tablet provided upon check-in for hotel amenities and free Wi-Fi. We enjoyed our stay and the location was perfect.

Room Tip: Room overlooking Singel Canal or Spuistraat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Ground
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

The location was perfect it felt like we were in the middle of everything. The staff was extremely helpfully with directions and tour ideas. The rose room was the best room we stayed in during our whole trip through europe. If you can stay here I would.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Estherea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.