We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Stay, Perfect Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Estherea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Estherea to your Saves list
Hotel Estherea
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #16 of 351 Hotels in Amsterdam
North Carolina
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Stay, Perfect Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Based on reviews, booked three nights (breakfast special, complimentary bottle of Prosecco wine) and not disappointed. Located on Singel Canal within easy walk of Dam Square, floating flower market or tram; Rijk Museum 1.75-mile walk round trip; Canal Tours on Damrak less than 3/4-mile walk. Lovely room in red and gold on third floor overlooking Spuistraat (restaurant row); shower included shampoo, conditioner and bath gel; two sinks, nice bath linens, toilet separate, large cozy bed with armoire on each side (safe, ironing board, iron), desk/chair, wall-mounted TV, double French doors with heavy drapes. Hotel lobby lovely with fish tank wall, comfortable seating, two computer stations, two quiet elevators, separate library, bar and dining room; complimentary cookies and beverage, Breakfast buffet included wide range of items: fresh bread, fruit, cheese, cold cuts, eggs, bacon/sausage, yogurt, juice, special coffees and kept well-stocked. Staff extremely helpful with tours, transportation, dining recommendations; digital tablet provided upon check-in for hotel amenities and free Wi-Fi. We enjoyed our stay and the location was perfect.

Room Tip: Room overlooking Singel Canal or Spuistraat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,755
    696
    119
    33
    27
See reviews for
422
1,428
85
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Battle Ground
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

The location was perfect it felt like we were in the middle of everything. The staff was extremely helpfully with directions and tour ideas. The rose room was the best room we stayed in during our whole trip through europe. If you can stay here I would.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We reserved 2rooms for three nights. The worst rooms in the hotel. Right by the wood stairs with people running up and down till 3 am. Staff was extremely snooty and obviously were not fond of Americans. Would not recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

This beautiful hotel is in a central position, walking distance to great shopping, museums and restaurants. We had a very quiet smaller room, on the top floor, with a comfortable bed and spacious bathroom. It was unseasonably hot during our stay though and we found the air conditioning inadequate; because the room windows opened onto an enclosed courtyard there was also no airflow to cool at night. Overall the service was good.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

The Hotel Estherea is situated on a lovely canal in a fine neighborhood within an easy walk of some of the best shops, museums, and restaurants in the city. The room itself was well furnished and the king-size bed, unusual for Europe, was comfortable. The breakfast buffet was fit for royalty. Most of the staff were friendly, fluent in multiple languages, and helpful, although one staff person (Mr. Singh) was rude to the point of being hostile. D. Jenkins, June, 2014

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saanichton Bc
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Highly recommend. Attentive staff made out stay a pleasure. Excellent breakfast and service. Rooms vary in size so state your expectations accordingly to ensure satisfaction in that regard.
Among the best

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 6 nights in April. It is exquisitely decorated in period furnishings. The breakfasts were the best we had in Europe - it was all downhill at our next two hotels in Paris and London. Everything was fresh and delicious, with a tremendous selection. As a gluten-free person, I was particularly accommodated, although I would have loved to taste the many pastries.The staff was extremely knowledgeable and helpful in response to all of our requests. When I thanked the front desk manager for the excellent service, he said that they really prized the interaction between guests and staff. The only downside for us was that we had a very small room with no bureaus in which to stow the stuff that we had brought for our almost 3-week vacation. The bathroom did have 2 sinks, however. Next time, I would definitely ask for a larger room, one with a canal view if possible. However, our room was very quiet and we had no street noise whatsoever.

Room Tip: Go for an upgraded room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Estherea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.