We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amsterdam Trip 2014” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Estherea

Save Saved
You added Hotel Estherea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Estherea
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Romantic Getaway
Ranked #13 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Placentia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amsterdam Trip 2014”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We started our European vacation with 4 days at this Beautiful Boutique Hotel and were very glad we did. The hotel is on a quiet canal (some nights not) and the interior lived up to the website pictures. We loved the 24 hour expresso/coffee/hot chocolate machine in the lobby area. we also used the 2 computers in the lounge to print our boarding passes for our flight out. we had 2 rooms. one for my wife and I and one for my daughters. my daughters had an interior room and their bathroom was actually quite larger than our canal room and much quieter than our room as late party revelers made noise passing by and woke us up so we had to close our windows. my point is if all you want to do is sleep then an interior room is the way to go but if you want and have time to spend in the room and a canal view is what you want those rooms can be noisier. We had read previous posts about having to leave your room keys with the front desk when you left and can confirm that there is no formal requesting of ID when you return and ask for your room key which is a suggestion for improvement. We did not take any meals in the restaurant or drinks at the bar (should have ordered the drink). There are complimentary umbrellas in the front lobby which was a nice touch. We were VERY IMPRESSED with this hotel and will highly recommend it. We loved Amsterdam!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,455
    590
    110
    28
    23
See reviews for
358
1183
76
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

People at hotel great, very helpful, nice and competent. Rooms great. Location great. All in all a wonderful hotel to stay at when visiting Amsterdam and surrounding areas. Our first time there, but worth coming back to.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Spent a weekend at Estherea - enjoyed everything from the super comfy beds, to the eclectic decor, to the staff friendliness, to the L'Occitane toiletries, to Maria's bar. The hotel is tastefully luxurious, without making you feel uncomfortable. Perfect location on the Singel canal, close to Dam Square, Anne Frank's Museum, and the nine shopping streets, among others. I plan on staying there again on my next trip to Amsterdam!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Dutch efficiency, quick check-in, very clean, everything is just right, not too much not lacking. Only complain is that room is a bit pricey in early June. Front desk very helpful, they give you good tips on good bakery and restaurants around the area. Euro300 per night!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

This was our first time in Amsterdam and we arrived very early in the morning from our long flight from Australia. We were delighted that they found us a room at that time and were able to check- in way before the normal time. The room was beautifully appointed and very pretty with good views of the canal. Unfortunately noise from the automatic opening doors below us and the night porter bell disturbed us a lot. I have to mention that we are quite noise sensitive. It sounded like someone was moving furniture and it was constant. This may be a small hotel but it is busy. They generously offer free coffee and tea in the lobby as well as free Wifi!
We have no complaints about anything else in fact the staff couldn't have been more pleasant or helpful. The entire hotel is beautifully decorated. We would definitely return but to another door not over the front entrance!

Room Tip: Be sure to request a larger room overlooking the canal but not room 112 which is over the entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, CA
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

If you really like walking around a city, then the Hotel Estherea is a great place to stay in Amsterdam-- you never have to take a taxi anywhere, as its central location is just minutes, literally, for almost everything worth seeing in Amsterdam. My wife and I loved its location right on the Singel canal, close to Dam Square, the Royal Palace, The Anne Frank House, the Rijks Museum, etc., etc.. etc... It's just in a great place. The rooms are a bit tight, but manageable and the staff, to a person, are helpful. This is a very fine hotel and great if you really like to walk a city to get to know it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Ontario
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We had a canal view room for 3 nights and absolutely loved it. The staff were friendly, the rooms clean and a lovely view. We enjoyed the free tea and coffee and pastries in the lobby. The location was perfect, within walking distance to many restaurants, dam square, Anne Frank's house and all our meeting points for tours. We took the advise of another review and booked our taxi for the airport at the front desk. They charge your credit card and give you a ticket for the driver. It ended up being cheaper then booking ourselves. We would definitely recommend Hotel Estherea and hope we can return sometime soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Estherea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.