We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous boutique hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Estherea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Estherea to your Saves list
Hotel Estherea
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #12 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous boutique hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Spent a weekend at Estherea - enjoyed everything from the super comfy beds, to the eclectic decor, to the staff friendliness, to the L'Occitane toiletries, to Maria's bar. The hotel is tastefully luxurious, without making you feel uncomfortable. Perfect location on the Singel canal, close to Dam Square, Anne Frank's Museum, and the nine shopping streets, among others. I plan on staying there again on my next trip to Amsterdam!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JOV8800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,073 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Fremont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Dutch efficiency, quick check-in, very clean, everything is just right, not too much not lacking. Only complain is that room is a bit pricey in early June. Front desk very helpful, they give you good tips on good bakery and restaurants around the area. Euro300 per night!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rickleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

This was our first time in Amsterdam and we arrived very early in the morning from our long flight from Australia. We were delighted that they found us a room at that time and were able to check- in way before the normal time. The room was beautifully appointed and very pretty with good views of the canal. Unfortunately noise from the automatic opening doors below us and the night porter bell disturbed us a lot. I have to mention that we are quite noise sensitive. It sounded like someone was moving furniture and it was constant. This may be a small hotel but it is busy. They generously offer free coffee and tea in the lobby as well as free Wifi!
We have no complaints about anything else in fact the staff couldn't have been more pleasant or helpful. The entire hotel is beautifully decorated. We would definitely return but to another door not over the front entrance!

Room Tip: Be sure to request a larger room overlooking the canal but not room 112 which is over the entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee3012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, CA
Level Contributor
116 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

If you really like walking around a city, then the Hotel Estherea is a great place to stay in Amsterdam-- you never have to take a taxi anywhere, as its central location is just minutes, literally, for almost everything worth seeing in Amsterdam. My wife and I loved its location right on the Singel canal, close to Dam Square, the Royal Palace, The Anne Frank House, the Rijks Museum, etc., etc.. etc... It's just in a great place. The rooms are a bit tight, but manageable and the staff, to a person, are helpful. This is a very fine hotel and great if you really like to walk a city to get to know it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oborozuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Ontario
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We had a canal view room for 3 nights and absolutely loved it. The staff were friendly, the rooms clean and a lovely view. We enjoyed the free tea and coffee and pastries in the lobby. The location was perfect, within walking distance to many restaurants, dam square, Anne Frank's house and all our meeting points for tours. We took the advise of another review and booked our taxi for the airport at the front desk. They charge your credit card and give you a ticket for the driver. It ended up being cheaper then booking ourselves. We would definitely recommend Hotel Estherea and hope we can return sometime soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank traveller6373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Estherea is a pretty lavishly decorated hotel, very well situated on Singel.

Staff is helpful and even a bit friendly at times, bed is comfortable, breakfast buffet has many things to chose from.

Room 208 was really really really tiny, with bathroom in a closet.

Room Tip: Beware of really small rooms (like for example 208)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JP_Marylebone_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erlangen, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

employees very friendly, some of them speak even German
excellent breakfast, buffet clean and continuously refilled (some guest would need a hint: take only what you can eat and minimize the food waste)
surprise to get a ipad
interesting point within walking distance
quiet place

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Josef B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,018 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#3 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 222 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#11 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#16 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 726 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#20 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 256 reviews
Centrum
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Venere, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing