We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Estherea

Save Saved
You added Hotel Estherea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Estherea
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Romantic Getaway
Ranked #15 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

We enjoyed our stay so much. Beautiful lobby and room. We tried the breakfast buffet one morning and it was superb. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Also, its in a wonderful location! Would highly recommend.


  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,165 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,425
    579
    110
    28
    23
See reviews for
345
1164
75
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

For our first 4 night visit to Amsterdam we wisely chose this fabulous hotel. The orange suite was truly amazing and highly recommended. All members of the staff were friendly and very helpful. Location is very convenient.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marske-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

I have been to Amsterdam many times but this was my first time staying at Hotel Estherea.
We would definately stay again. Our room was lovely with a canal view. The tea, coffe and hot chocolate machine in the lobby (all free) was a nice touch.
The bathroom doors were a bit odd, thought completely private i felt on show.
My favourite feature of the hotel was the fact that it had 2 mopeds for hire which we hired the entire time we were there.
The location is excellent and i found the hotel decor to be very traditional and just what we wanted.

Room Tip: It's worth paying extra for a canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We stayed 4 nights in this beautiful hotel. Location is great, walking distance to most attractions, on a quiet area of the signel. Based on TA recommendations we booked a canal room, we got a beautiful room with large windows facing the signel canal and a lot of light. The room was very clean, spacious enough, with a wide comfortable bed , 2 couches and a desk. (We were in room 310, I must say that according to the floor plan it seems that some of the rooms might be smaller.) Bathroom was small but the bath products are all of l'occitane- what can be better?
In the lobby there are hot and cold drinks for free all day, it's fun to go out to the cold with a cup of hot chocolate in your hands…
They even have umbrella's you can borrow in the lobby- this was a life saver on the rainy days!
In general, we loved the hotel and definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We stayed 5 nights at Hotel Estherea in May 2014. We chose this hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews, having never been to Amsterdam. We were very pleased with our choice. I liked the hotel's location along the SIngel canal and found it to be very conveniently located for the typical tourist attractions. The staff was pleasant and accommodating. I was particularly happy that they had our room available about 45 min. after we checked in at 9 AM -- so nice after a long day of travel!

The rooms were beautifully appointed and very comfortable. I have read complaints that the rooms were too small, but ours was one of the smaller rooms and the size was consistent with what one finds in any large city. My husband was disappointed that ours did not have a canal view, but our interior room was EXTREMELY quiet even during the day. I slept like a rock and would choose an interior room again without question. The bed was very comfortable. The only thing I felt the room lacked was a set of bathrobes.

We loved the salt water fish tank in the lobby. It was the most well-done we'd ever seen. We also loved the coffee and treats which were gratis in the lobby much of the day. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Consider asking for a quieter, interior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Mills, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

beautifully decorated and well laid out. good location for first time in amsterdam. excellent grocery store around the corner. nice self serve coffee bar. nice view of canal. the bathroom is wonderful. small fridge and flat scree tv in room.

Room Tip: stayed in 514. canal side, very nice and comfortable. strange whirring noise intermittently througho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We enjoyed very much to be in a 4 star PLUS hotel. We appreciate very much the location because it was a very posh, silent, tiny little street. I will hardly recommend this Hotel to my friends in order to be in a very Dutch decoration instead of being in an international one.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Estherea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.