We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Estherea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Estherea to your Saves list
Hotel Estherea
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Romantic Getaway
Ranked #13 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Cresskill
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Truly enjoyed the hotel. Apparently if you book for 3 nights you receive free canal cruise tickets -we found this out after spending $40. When asked for a credit towards our room the hotel responded "you need to ask for the free gift we don't just give it out". So mind reading is not my forte but overall a charming lovely hotel with a great breakfast. TIP make your reservation directly with hotel-breakfast is 5 euros cheaper this way

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,469
    592
    110
    28
    23
See reviews for
360
1,195
76
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Noosa Heads
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

When booking from Australia we looked on the internet for a hotel that would provide us with an authentic Dutch experience while in Amsterdam. We were absolutely delighted with the Estherea Hotel. It gave us just the experience we were hoping for. Apart from the very attractive, welcoming, cosy atmosphere in the hotel the location was excellent and staff were friendly and helpful. It was tulip time while we were there and we delighted in the buckets of fresh tulips that hung from the balcony railings while we were there.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsville, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Stayed 3 nights, had a great experience. Very comfortable room and common areas. Great coffee machine. Excellent breakfast. Location makes it walkable to Dam Square, Jordaan district, Anne Frank house, flower market. Central station a little further but we walked it. Close to tram to Museum district. Wonderful room (with whirlpool tub), amenities, and staff. Bought tickets for Rijksmuseum there, had no wait at the museum itself. I have only one complaint, I wish the staff knew more about the Tours that they sell. They told us the wrong time to meet our tour, and we nearly missed it (a canal cruise).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

Very special and nice hotel with a good location. Excellent personalized service. Unique decoration of the lobby and common rooms with great flower arrangements. Nice comfortable bedding. The self-service area with coffee and tea and some bakery was an excellent extra.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Delightful 5-story inn located in attached late 1600's renovated buildings with elevators on the Singel canal. Charming room and quiet block, yet walking distance to everything you could want. Staff is excellent and helpful. A smart value. We'll be back!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

I booked two rooms at the Hotel Estherea based upon the reviews from other members of Trip Advisor. My family and I were not disappointed. The rooms are very well appointed, the service is excellent, the lobby is warm and inviting and the hotel bar is cozy and friendly. The hotel is situated in a great location for walking this beautiful city. When I return to Amsterdam I plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnetka, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We loved Amsterdam and this hotel was a big part of the experience.
We were able to walk or ride bikes everywhere we went.
Staff was lovely, rooms pretty- old world- and quiet.
We had a room overlooking a canal. What fun!
The complimentary breakfast was just OK and kind of hectic but that is my only complaint.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, Agoda, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Estherea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.