We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Dutch Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Estherea

Save Saved
You added Hotel Estherea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Estherea
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Romantic Getaway
Ranked #16 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Noosa Heads
1 review
“A Dutch Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

When booking from Australia we looked on the internet for a hotel that would provide us with an authentic Dutch experience while in Amsterdam. We were absolutely delighted with the Estherea Hotel. It gave us just the experience we were hoping for. Apart from the very attractive, welcoming, cosy atmosphere in the hotel the location was excellent and staff were friendly and helpful. It was tulip time while we were there and we delighted in the buckets of fresh tulips that hung from the balcony railings while we were there.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,123 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,393
    571
    107
    29
    23
See reviews for
333
1135
73
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Martinsville, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Stayed 3 nights, had a great experience. Very comfortable room and common areas. Great coffee machine. Excellent breakfast. Location makes it walkable to Dam Square, Jordaan district, Anne Frank house, flower market. Central station a little further but we walked it. Close to tram to Museum district. Wonderful room (with whirlpool tub), amenities, and staff. Bought tickets for Rijksmuseum there, had no wait at the museum itself. I have only one complaint, I wish the staff knew more about the Tours that they sell. They told us the wrong time to meet our tour, and we nearly missed it (a canal cruise).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

Very special and nice hotel with a good location. Excellent personalized service. Unique decoration of the lobby and common rooms with great flower arrangements. Nice comfortable bedding. The self-service area with coffee and tea and some bakery was an excellent extra.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Delightful 5-story inn located in attached late 1600's renovated buildings with elevators on the Singel canal. Charming room and quiet block, yet walking distance to everything you could want. Staff is excellent and helpful. A smart value. We'll be back!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

I booked two rooms at the Hotel Estherea based upon the reviews from other members of Trip Advisor. My family and I were not disappointed. The rooms are very well appointed, the service is excellent, the lobby is warm and inviting and the hotel bar is cozy and friendly. The hotel is situated in a great location for walking this beautiful city. When I return to Amsterdam I plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnetka, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We loved Amsterdam and this hotel was a big part of the experience.
We were able to walk or ride bikes everywhere we went.
Staff was lovely, rooms pretty- old world- and quiet.
We had a room overlooking a canal. What fun!
The complimentary breakfast was just OK and kind of hectic but that is my only complaint.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Canton, Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

I spent three fantastic nights at Hotel Estherea in early May and, to lift a word from other reviews, in every respect, they were truly...faultless. (I don't use that word lightly...in fact, I don't know that I have ever used it...but it applies so well here.) I have stayed at some of the top-rated hotels in Europe and, overall, they have nothing on Hotel Estherea.

The location is great...close enough that anything one would want to do is within an easy walk and yet on a quiet street away from the hordes of people and the associated noise, congestion, etc. The public areas are absolutely gorgeous...luxuriously and tastefully decorated, not completely traditional, not completely contemporary, but a fabulous and unique seamless blend of both...as well as inviting, comfortable and functional. I loved having the complimentary wide variety of beverages and snacks available outside the main reception area throughout the day...there was always a great, fresh selection of items...what a treat!

I absolutely loved my room! Requesting a quiet room, I was given an inward-facing one so there wasn't much view but plenty of natural light and, since the windows are operable, fresh air...and there was complete silence. The bed, bed linens and pillows were luxurious and so very comfortable. The lighting was perfect...lots of locations and types to provide a variety of lighting options. A mini-refrigerator with complimentary bottled water...a ton of hanging and drawer space for clothes and other items...a huge desk which was very functional for any number of things (computer work, dining, storage, etc.). All aspects of the bathroom were fantastic...lots of countertop space for toiletries...a great shower...high-end, complimentary potions and lotions...a monstrous bathtub (U.S. hotels could learn a thing or two in this respect)...separate temperature control...nice bath linens...wonderful lighting...etc. I could stay in that room for a month (or longer) and be perfectly happy!

I did not have breakfast in the dining room but had room service for breakfast every morning (usually just coffee) and dinner one evening. It was consistently fantastic...very prompt, delivered with wonderful service and extremely reasonably priced (U.S. hotels could learn a few things about this as well from Hotel Estherea). Everything was delicious...beautifully served at the appropriate temperature.

As great as all aspects of this review have been thus far, the service gets the best review of all. It was impeccable, simply impeccable...warm without being ingratiating, friendly without being overly familiar, professional without being stuffy and absolutely consistent. Every employee with whom I had contact provided absolutely exemplary service...and that is indeed a very rare quality. No matter the nature of my request from train reservations to tour information to directions, it was handled immediately with competence, grace and care. I have stayed at some of the top-rated hotels in Europe, the U.S. and elsewhere and the service was never better than what I experienced at Hotel Estherea.

If I am ever looking for a hotel in which to live, this will be it!

Room Tip: For a quiet room, the inward-facing rooms are great. There is not much of a view but plenty of natu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Venere, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Estherea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.