We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Estherea

Save Saved
You added Hotel Estherea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Estherea
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Romantic Getaway
Ranked #13 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Salem, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Elegant small hotel,great location,great staff. Several very inviting beautiful sitting rooms where you could sit and relax ,have coffee etc.The breakfast offered a wide variety of wondeful choices. Would difinitly stay there again!

Room Tip: great hotel .our room faced the back side of the hotel and with the window open it could be noisey l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,455
    590
    110
    28
    23
See reviews for
358
1183
76
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surbiton
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

The hotel was very good in respect of the staff's politeness and helpfulness and the furnishings and fittings were high quality. Breakfast was very good. Bar was very small and cramped. Room (de-luxe) was cluttered with too much furniture so it was difficult to move around. The bathroom did not have the toilet within it. The toilet was in a separate cubicle on the other side of the room and without a washbasin. Unsatisfactory and inconvenient. Not worth 234 euros a night.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

A comfortable, stunningly presented and centrally located hotel. Having a room overlooking the canal added to the pleasures of our stay. A generous breakfast albeit in a somewhat cramped space! Recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We had been planning a long weekend to Amsterdam for some time, and we opted for 4 days / 3 nights at this hotel having selected it on the basis of other TripAdvisor reviews and once again the comments were spot on.
We flew into Schiphol and took the train into the Central Station (tickets Euro 4 2nd class purchased from easy to operate ticket machines) and then picked up tram passes at the visitors centre outside the station. To get to the hotel take the 2 or 5 tram from Terminal B and get off at Dam or Spui (better)...its a short walk from either station but if you don't have much luggage its quite easy to talk a stroll from the main station.
Check in was easy and we were delighted with the first impressions of the hotel - fantastic decor and such a lovely change from the usual offerings from the major chains. The room was small but an absolute delight and it was difficult to fault...comfortable bed, lovely view across the canal, modern bathroom, free wifi and very quiet.
Personal touches abound, and we loved the cocktail bar for a drink in the evening, catching up on the newspapers in the library or having free tea / coffee and biscuits at any time in the lobby. We had breakfast twice at the hotel (Euro 18 each) which was a buffet but very good
quality.
We had a fantastic time, and whilst a bit pricey, it was certainly worth it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We've had a delightful week in Amsterdam! The Hotel Estherea came highly recommended from trip advisor and has not dissappointed. Its outside appearance doesn't do the hotel justice but once you step inside, you're transported to a beautiful enclave; super quiet and the staff are lovely. Rooms are very elegant and well decorated, extremely efficient for small European hotels. Breakfast room is charming and food is excellent. Very luxurious and well located.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

A clear 10 for every aspect- location, service, and facility. We came as a family of 8 including young kids and booked three rooms. From the minute we walked into the hotel we were wow'd. The reception and lobby are beautiful! It's like a we decorated palace with hand picked artifacts. The service was super nice, always with a smile and always giving you the full attention you need with all the information, support and suggestions we expected. The holt helped us book great restaurants, plan our days and priorities and more. We got two connecting rooms that rally felt like one large family suite, and another canal view room for our parents. All three rooms were super clean, practically new bathrooms with designer finishing and a spa in each room! The attention to details in every element could not escape your eyes. Wow... As for location, you rally can't ask for much more. It's located at a walking distance from every destination in downtown Amsterdam. There are numerous great restaurants five minutes away on the same street or on the parallel street. For our city tour we purchased the Holland Pass at the hotel and it was great. Saved time in lines for museums, and paid off very quickly. The hotel also offered bike rentals if you're interested and umbrellas (free) when the weather was the occasional drizzle. Overall this would be our number one choice for any future trip to Amsterdam without hesitations.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

A lovely Hotel on Singel. Well located and providing a lift for guests (a rarity in Hotels that occupy older buildings in Amsterdam). Staff are welcoming and friendly. Rooms are typically small (as is usually the case in Amsterdam), but well appointed. Very nice foyer, with tea/coffee making facilities and small snacks available throughout the day/night. Also a very nice/but small bar in the hotel. Have stayed there several times. Some rooms are a little inward looking and can be dark, others have street and canal views, so be sure to exercise a preference when booking. My only criticism was an inability to connect a personal TV box to the TV in the room. All connections were there but reception were unable/or unwilling to provide me with a controller that could switch the TV input to AV. A small complaint but one that could be easily rectified. I would recommend the hotel and will stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, HotelsNL, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Estherea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.