We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous hotel in lovely location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Estherea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Estherea to your Saves list
Hotel Estherea
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Romantic Getaway
Ranked #11 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Saltaire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Gorgeous hotel in lovely location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights in a deluxe room on the top floor, which was spacious and quiet and the only room with a balcony apparently. Lovely bathroom with jacuzzi bath. Each member of staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The lounge and bar areas are beautifully decorated and it was lovely to stay somewhere not going for the 'Travelodge' type of decor! The location was ideal being close to the centre if you want typical shopping and the Dam Square but also on the edge of the 9 streets in the Jordaan area if you prefer the canals and smaller independent shops and cafes.

Room Tip: Room 519 - deluxe room on the top floor was spacious and very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,528
    612
    111
    28
    23
See reviews for
373
1,242
76
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Location, staff and breakfast are fine. Room was clean but so little and dark. In the morning it was impossible to know what is the weather like , we could not see anything. 4 stars is 1 star too much

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbourough
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

The hotels attention to detail is excellent. Every amenity you can imagine and the staff is extremely helpful and courteous. I felt that this hotel was the best out of all the hotels we stayed in along our trip

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, CA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Stayed 3 nights end of March at Hotel Estherea. The hotel staff were all extremely friendly and helpful. The common rooms are beautifully decorated, and we enjoyed the generous and varied breakfast buffet (worth the price to reserve in advance) as well as drinks in the bar.

The hotel is very well situated, close to the city center but also just far enough away from all the foot traffic. We walked everywhere and especially enjoyed the relative peacefulness of the neighboring Jordaan.

We booked 2 rooms - a canal view (#314) and a family room (#319). Both were well appointed with comfortable beds and nice decor. The canal view room was very quiet at night, but our daughters said they had noise into the wee hours in their room at the back of the hotel which overlooks bars/restaurants on Spui Straat. Their room also sat directly above one of Amsterdam's coffee shops so, unless you enjoy the smell, you would want to keep your windows closed.

All-in-all, it was a lovely stay and one we would repeat in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Rooms on the Singel Canal in the front of the hotel seem much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mytishy
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

In my opinion - very good hotel, especially location, interier, staff. Very tasty breakfast ;). The room was small, but very cozy and beautiful. Only one remark - the door to toilet should not be so thin!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leavenworth, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Excellent from beginning to end, we stayed here for 6 nights at the beginning of our trip and another night on the way home. Quick responses to my e-mails before arrival, staff friendly and helpful, the room had everything we needed. Rooms aren't large but they are laid out so well and so thoughtfully that the size is not a detriment in any way; the bed was REALLY comfortable. Yes, there were some traffic noises, but you're staying in the center of a vibrant city in a canal house, that's part of the experience and certainly not anything that disturbed us, and we slept with the window open. Great location, easy walking to restaurants, museums, shopping, etc. Lovely little bar in the hotel, nice lounge areas. There's a reason this hotel is rated so highly, it's wonderful and worth the price and I'm a picky traveller.

Room Tip: I love taking a bath when someone else is cleaning the tub, so we took a jacuzzi room -- it was divi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

This Hotel is small but beautifully formed mad but wonderful Decor, room was very small but clean and more mad Decor lovely Loccotane soap shower stuff etc. Well trained and very helpful Staff it's a great base there is Tea Coffee and some treats for guests with no charge in the lobby. They will book any Museums for you but there are 2 computers you can use with free wifi as booking saves queuing. To be fair we had the lowest price double but is had Canal View. Slept well but it's an old Hotel and thin walls if you know what I mean ,you could hear things !!! Not the Hotel fault the Guests.Really is well located for your stay nothing is far away we booked direct and got a later check out time at no cost and stayed 3 Days so got a bottle of Italian sparkling wine thanks it was lovely. Please note this is a great base and very small hotel. But you are there to sight see and if
Quirky is not you go to a boring modern hotel. This chic mini boutique we would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Otel, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Estherea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.