We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Professionalism in every detail” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Estherea

Save Saved
You added Hotel Estherea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Estherea
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Romantic Getaway
Ranked #14 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Colmar, France
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Professionalism in every detail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

The Estherea is a family run hotel they told me, and it shows. The attention to detail is staggering. The location cannot be faultered, on the Singel Canal, 5 minutes from the Dam and with easy acces on foot or by tram to all the attractions. The decor is perhaps a bit overdone,but the flower arrangements are stunning. I loved my room, with it`s quirky decor, and roomy size. The free coffee/tee facility by the reception is a nice touch, and the breakfast is delicious and more than adequate,even though a bit steeply priced. There is an ironing board/iron in one of the cupboards of the room, and the toiletries are lovely. Everything in this hotel functions like clockwork, it`s calm and quiet, they will book and inform and answer all your questions.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,171 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,427
    583
    110
    28
    23
See reviews for
346
1167
75
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Carlton, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Our first time in Amsterdam and if we go back we will certainly stay here again, an individual hotel, luxuriously decorated with extremely friendly and helpful staff. There is no evening dinner service and we didn't take breakfast but there are a number of restaurants and places for breakfast close by. Our canal side room was well appointed, we had seen a negative comment about no coffee/tea making in the room but there is free tea, coffee, biscuits and pastries in the lounge. Drinks at the bar come with a selection of nibbles and olives, a nice place to start and end an evening.
Sited next to the Singel canal it's quiet and in easy walking distance to the main tourist attractions.

Room Tip: Canal side rooms have the benefit of the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Booked on strength of TA reviews (and availability) and, while the hotel's far from bad, we left feeling it was over-priced. For over £200 per night excluding breakfast (an additional €18 per person), I'd expect room with more than 70cm around the bed, I'd expect a full length mirror in the room, I'd expect to be able to apply make-up without worrying that I'll go out looking like a clown (the bathroom lights have dark brown shades over them….), I'd expect a TV that works consistently and I'd expect the cleaner to exit the lift when we wanted to use it, rather than announce "I'm going down". They're little things, I know, but, combined, they just left us thinking that Estherea had promised more than it had delivered. Oh, and rather than get stung for €36 for breakfast, try Greenwood's, a 10 minute walk up Singel - absolutely fantastic breakfast, charming staff and you'll have change from €10….

Room Tip: Go to top floor, you'll be spared elephants above you. We can only assume the canal rooms are n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

As this was our first visit to Amsterdam we spent time researching TA for the right hotel for us. Hotel Estherea fitted our requirements and we booked a canal side room. If anything the hotel exceeded our expectations - clean, spacious room with a wonderfully comfortable bed and modern bathroom. We loved all the little extras - from the L'Occitane toiletries in our room to the free tea and coffee in the lounge. We are not particularly bothered about a full breakfast and opted to have coffee and croissants in one of the many local cafes..

The big plus for us was the friendly and knowledgeable staff. They all spoke perfect English and always had time to give advice on places to go and how to get around the city. The were able to walk that fine line between absolute professionalism and friendliness and were a key ingredient in making our stay so pleasurable. A good sign is how they cope with problems - there was a considerable difference between the quoted price and the bill when we checked out. The head receptionist carefully checked all the details and confirmed it was their mistake,

There is no evening dinner service but there are plenty of good restaurants within a short stroll. We would particularly recommend 'Restaurant Haesje Claes' about 5 minutes stroll away in Spuistraat.

Should be come back to Amsterdam, Hotel Estherea would be our first choice. Thanks to all who made our stay so enjoyable,

Room Tip: For us the canal side rooms were worth the extra 20 euros per night per room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

I needed a decent place for a recent 2-day business trip to Amsterdam and was lucky to have chosen this hotel. The location is perfect - close to everything and still not too crowdy and noisy. My deluxe double room seemed of right size and felt very comfortable. The coffee/tea machine with complementary cookies and pastries in the lobby area came in very handy late night and early morning. Finally, but the most important, is the Hotel Estherea staff and their attitude. All my questions and requests were dealt with quickly, gently and effectively. With a smile I should add! And this counts a lot for me. I do want to come back there and would highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

We spend 4 days in Hotel Estherea celebration my 70 birthday. Everything was just as we wanted it. We meet up with our daughter in law and son, who come and stay here a couple of times every year. The bed was the best we have slept in. The breakfast was good and plenty, enough to keep you going for hours. We felt very welcome . My Daughter in Law and I got a very nice present from the Hotel, this warmed our hearts. We will for sure again meet up with the family here again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Didn't know if we'd made the right decision when we chose this hotel for our week in Amsterdam. It turned out to be a very good choice as the Estherea is friendly, efficient and seemed to be in just the right location for us - a quiet, pretty neighbourhood from where we could walk to almost anywhere tourists would want to walk. Complimentary tea, coffee and nibbles at all times; fresh pillow slips daily; colourful bar - these were some of the delights. We were upgraded to a canal view as well. Good value, highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Estherea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.