We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Estherea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Estherea to your Saves list
Hotel Estherea
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Romantic Getaway
Ranked #12 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Wellington, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Didn't know if we'd made the right decision when we chose this hotel for our week in Amsterdam. It turned out to be a very good choice as the Estherea is friendly, efficient and seemed to be in just the right location for us - a quiet, pretty neighbourhood from where we could walk to almost anywhere tourists would want to walk. Complimentary tea, coffee and nibbles at all times; fresh pillow slips daily; colourful bar - these were some of the delights. We were upgraded to a canal view as well. Good value, highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,501
    602
    111
    28
    23
See reviews for
367
1,216
76
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

My wife and I visited this hotel for 3 nights in March 2014 and found it to be a great hotel, it has a lot of character and is very comfortable. We were upgraded from a standard room to one with a Jacuzzi bath, the rooms are beautifully decorated and very old world. Its location is perfect and is a short walk to most attractions and only a 10 to 15 minute walk from the central station. Dam Square is about 5 minutes walking. The hotel is quite expensive but you are paying for quality. We would highly recommend it, for couples especially.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslemere
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

I couldn't have been happier with the hotel. My Mum and I spent three nights, delicious breakfasts, great location for walking to the sights, comfortable beds and lovely decor. Best of all the staff were all so helpful, patient and genuinely wanted to make our stay the best it could be. I would definitely recommend the Estherea, in fact I have already and would like to return myself.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

The best word to describe this hotel is fabulous. It's so decadently designed with beautiful chandeliers, comfy sofas and a stunning aquarium. The attention to detail is unsurpassed; it's clean, there's a coffee area with everything you could ever want for a relaxing drink such as a selection of cakes and sweets-much better than the normal kettle and cheap biscuits that you get in most hotels. Although the gym isn't big, the equipment is good. The toiletries are so nice as they're all by l'occitaine. What with this and all the fresh flowers around, this is the best smelling hotel I've ever been in. In fact I think it's my favourite ever hotel purely as it has so much character.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Germany
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Having visited this hotel almost exactly a year ago, we fell in love with it to such an extent that we decided to go back this easter holiday. To Amsterdam - wonderful city and to Estherea on the Singel canal - all romance and idyll. We booked privately - directly with the hotel and discovered that the prices were a lot higher than last year - probably because of the holidays - almost NOK 25.000.- for 3 rooms, 3 nights. We decided to swallow that - to try to find it acceptable. Then - 2 weeks after the booking was made and price was agreed - they mailed us and announced that they had the pleasure to inform us that they were going to charge us the double price of one of the rooms. That was the limit for us and we cancelled the booking. Important point: They upped the price after the hotel was fully booked - no more vacancy the net said - then they can afford to take an even higher price - they are more or less auctioning their rooms away to the highest bidder. We find this unfair and unbusinesslike. Be warned!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

I have written a full review of this hotel over on my blog, with plenty of photo's, which you can view here http://www.closbeautyspot.com/2014/03/hotel-estherea-amsterdam.html

Overall this is a wonderful hotel, nicely decorated, room was spacious, staff were friendly and helpful, and good location right in centre.

Bad points are that the window of the bedroom did not face outside but into a courtyard. And also cooked breakfast is not good, more suitable for continental taste.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

reception very helpfull. situation more than good.Breakfest is very good and always refilled. price and value are more than correct. Nearby a lot of very good and local restaurants. For renting bycicles it is not far





  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Despegar.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Estherea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.