We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay at the Lovely Hotel Estheréa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Estherea

Save Saved
You added Hotel Estherea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Estherea
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Singel 303-309, Amsterdam 1012 WJ, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Romantic Getaway
Ranked #17 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
St. Louis
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay at the Lovely Hotel Estheréa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

The Hotel Estheréa is a beautiful, charming, comfortable and well-situated boutique hotel on the Singel canal. When we arrived earlier than expected at 6 in the morning, we were greeted warmly by the hotel staff and treated to hot chocolate and coffee while our room was prepared. Throughout the day, guests can relax in cozy and quiet lounges on the ground floor where newspapers in several languages and two computers are available for free as are numerous hot drinks, cookies and croissants. The lovely dining room serves a buffet breakfast only. The selection is very good, and the food is delicious. The bar area is also available for a less pricey continental breakfast. Our room 1404 looking out over the canal was beautifully and luxuriously decorated, the bed and duvet were very comfortable and the bathroom was large, with two sinks and a combined shower and tub. Note that the first room we were shown had a tiny bathroom. Since we were staying 9 nights, we asked for a room with a larger bath and were promptly given one with no problem. All areas of the hotel are immaculate and easily accessible by elevator except for the exercise room and common toilet areas which are one level below and reachable only by a slightly winding staircase of about 8 steps. The hotel staff were unfailingly polite and helpful. When asked, the staff will call you a taxi which almost always arrives in less than 5 minutes. The only negatives of this hotel are some of its rooms with bathrooms that are extremely small and the somewhat unsightly construction in process on a canal bridge near the hotel which some people might also find a little noisy. All in all, we could not have enjoyed our stay more at this lovely and reasonably priced hotel and would not think of staying any place else in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,099 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,377
    564
    106
    29
    23
See reviews for
328
1119
72
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Great Britain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

I liked everything abt Estherea, their friendliness, our double room with four poster bed,the tropical fish downstairs, and the reception seating area, with the free drinks, coffee, tea, and cake.
A few minor quibbles.Our mattress had two very pronounced dips
on either side, which was not especially comfortable.The bar did not offer free nibbles, crisps or olives, which one might have expected given its high standard.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

As previous reviews have stated the location is central on a charming canal but further to walk from rail station than told by reception staff. Town houses are tall and narrow so bedrooms are small by European and American standards yet beautifully furnished in lush colours and furniture. Exceptionally clean rooms. Plenty of lounge space with free drinks and candy although dislike instant chocolate and coffee from same machine spout. Breakfast setup had plenty of variety but was disappointing and expensive (18Euros). Local cafes give much better value and atmosphere. Family who owns this hotel can feel justly proud of the high standard of business but lounge furnishings may not suit everyone.

Room Tip: Booked on Internet with hotel and received upgrade as promised.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, Great Britain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Our stay at the Estherea Hotel was out of this world. The room was luxurious and the hotel staff were polite and helpful. We intend to return sometime in the future.
The hotel was perfectly situated for easy access to Dam Square and visitor attractions. We enjoyed our stay in Amsterdam thanks to our comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACT, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Estherea for two nights while in Amsterdam for meetings. It is a great location with many of Amsterdam's attractions within reasonable walking distance (though a bit further to walk to the central station than I had anticipated). The foyer has a look of rococo splendour about it and this is reproduced to some extent in the rooms. Although the room was fairly small, it was grandly decorated and well lit. The bathroom was also quite small but clean and nicely presented. Room safe, ironing board, iron ... all the necessities. No tea and coffee making in the room but there is a (free) coffee/hot chocolate making machine in the foyer that comes with cakes and cookies though no decaf option. Lots of places to eat nearby in the evening. Breakfasts were good as well. As the hotel is constructed over three old canal houses there is only one elevator - and a small one at that - and the stairs are rather steep with narrow tread. There is no way to secure the bedroom door from the inside. Even though the door can only be opened from the outside with an electronic key I find this lack of extra security a little disconcerting. But, all up, I would stay here again on my next visit to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lille, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We spent a few days as a family around new years eve and we had a great time. Location is really great by being in the middle of all the attractions. Rooms are small but so cleverly organised that it seems just the right size. Decor is very thought of and some could say too much. Breakfast is great. Service is wonderful. Hotel is very quiet but be aware that the city becomes the party town on new year's eve: we had firecrackers until 4 am! Special Note for your car: parking is very rare and extremely expensive in the street; the hotel however has a very sophisticated multi-million-dollar robot car parking system that was built under the hotel but not in the water, which allows for a very small number of cars (I think they have 12 spots for small cars when the hotel has more than 80 rooms) to be parked. This system is then very expensive to use but can help.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Visited amsterdam last weekend and stayed in the Estherea. Beautiful hotel, good location, great staff. Just around the corner from Spui's restaurants and coffee shops and close to the flower market and Dam Rak.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Address: Singel 303-309, Amsterdam 1012 WJ, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Estherea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.