We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Individual Boutique Hotel Haven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Estherea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Estherea to your Saves list
Hotel Estherea
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #12 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Individual Boutique Hotel Haven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

The pictures online do not do this hotel a service, you have to see the sumptuous interiors to really appreciate the Hotel Estherea. The lobby and restaurant are places I don't usually hang around in hotels but I could happily sit and drink the complimentary coffee and nibble a pastry all day long and admire the beautiful furnishings and finishing touches. Our room was equally sumptuous and very dutch in blue and white. Lovely hotel staff made our stay even better and answered our questions without hesitation. Breakfast was expensive but good quality and plentiful. Great hotel in great location. A haven after pounding the streets of Amsterdam.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ammaforrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,071 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

What a fabulous surprise my husband and I got as we walked through the doors into this sumptuous and richly decorated hotel. This was only surpassed by our amazing room, which was a Deluxe Double room, again most beautifully decorated. The bed was large and comfortable and the room size was more than adequate. Everything was sparkling clean and the staff were very friendly, helpful and courteous. The aquarium is a fascinating addition to lobby and Reception area. The coffee machine, and selection of teas and cakes is a nice touch and enabled us to make our own refreshments whenever we wanted. Hotel Estherea is ideally situated on the Singel Canal and is just a short walk to Dam Square, cafés, shops and restaurants as well as the Hop on Hop off bus stops. We wouldn't hesitate to stay there again and have been singing its praises since our return to Australia.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Just returned from a three night break staying at the Estherea. Totally lived up to my expectations. Superb breakfasts, friendly staff, spotlessly clean, very comfortable beds, well designed and decorated rooms, fridge for storing the Leonidas chocolates, coffee and tea on tap 24 hours a day, good central location, very good restaurants just 2 minutes away. Ticked all the boxes and we will be back...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Have stayed here a dozen times or so, but realised i never took time to write a review (truth is i guess we make the time to write about poor experiences!)
The hotel is a beautiful, fantastic location, stylish bedrooms decor, fantastic breakfast - and wonderful staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KianLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

A truly welcoming place that met all our needs ...and more! The staff was wonderful, at times anticipating our needs. The room was quite large for a European hotel and quiet at night. Location was ideal and the breakfast quite sufficient to get us on our way each day. We'll rebook when we return to Amsterdam!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank KAS121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stamford, ct
Level Contributor
347 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

The hotel is on the Singel Canal, near everything, and is so lovely. The very ornate, rich and romantic decoration, which I usually disdain, somehow works here. The reef tank is totally awesome. The area with the machine dispensing various hot drinks and a beautiful buffet table with cookies, cakes and candies is delightful. Don't bother to get a room with breakfast included, a la carte breakfast is reasonably priced, delicious and ample. The staff, especially the young man with the light brown hair, are go-getters, and go out of their way for you, with a wonderful sense of humor, and highly professional. Try to get a canal view room--it is so worth it. The toiletries were wonderful, and organic, and there is a wonderful plush feel to the place--it feels like your staying at your friend's rich uncle's mansion more than a hotel.

Room Tip: Canal rooms are well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reginalampert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sausalito,CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I spent a long weekend at Hotel Estherea in early October. Such a charming and warm place with a staff to match. Everything was perfect. For my first visit I was in a room that overlooked the interior "courtyard", so no view, but very quiet. I loved my first stay so much that I changed plans and came back the following weekend. That time I had a very wonderful canal view room - quintessential Amsterdam. I will return!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank RJN_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,015 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#3 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 221 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#11 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#16 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 726 reviews
Centrum
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#20 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Venere, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing