We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Estherea

Save Saved
You added Hotel Estherea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Estherea
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Romantic Getaway
Ranked #15 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“A Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Have stayed here a dozen times or so, but realised i never took time to write a review (truth is i guess we make the time to write about poor experiences!)
The hotel is a beautiful, fantastic location, stylish bedrooms decor, fantastic breakfast - and wonderful staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,451
    587
    110
    28
    23
See reviews for
355
1180
76
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gilbert, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

A truly welcoming place that met all our needs ...and more! The staff was wonderful, at times anticipating our needs. The room was quite large for a European hotel and quiet at night. Location was ideal and the breakfast quite sufficient to get us on our way each day. We'll rebook when we return to Amsterdam!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stamford, ct
Top Contributor
245 reviews 245 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

The hotel is on the Singel Canal, near everything, and is so lovely. The very ornate, rich and romantic decoration, which I usually disdain, somehow works here. The reef tank is totally awesome. The area with the machine dispensing various hot drinks and a beautiful buffet table with cookies, cakes and candies is delightful. Don't bother to get a room with breakfast included, a la carte breakfast is reasonably priced, delicious and ample. The staff, especially the young man with the light brown hair, are go-getters, and go out of their way for you, with a wonderful sense of humor, and highly professional. Try to get a canal view room--it is so worth it. The toiletries were wonderful, and organic, and there is a wonderful plush feel to the place--it feels like your staying at your friend's rich uncle's mansion more than a hotel.

Room Tip: Canal rooms are well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sausalito,CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I spent a long weekend at Hotel Estherea in early October. Such a charming and warm place with a staff to match. Everything was perfect. For my first visit I was in a room that overlooked the interior "courtyard", so no view, but very quiet. I loved my first stay so much that I changed plans and came back the following weekend. That time I had a very wonderful canal view room - quintessential Amsterdam. I will return!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

This hotel ticks all the boxes to make a short stay in REALLY Central Amsterdam 5 star. My only issue was that the towels were very small and in short supply ...... and also soap / cotton wool etc.
However, this hotel is a real gem, with friendly staff, delicious breakfast (book ahead to receive a discounted price), and complimentary tea,coffee, hot chocolate and pretty jars of sweet that kept my teenagers very happy! We all felt it was very good value for money and would recommend The Hotel Estherea without any hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coulsdon, Surrey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We had stayed in this hotel in 1986 and remembered its central location. We were a little surprised to find that it had changed since then with more rooms and re-vamped bar and restaurant area. It is still great! We asked for an upgrade to a canal view and were given 114 which is perfect looking out at the (temporarily closed) bridge.
Our only minor gripe is that the wifi (which is free when you book direct) was patchy in the room probably because of the thick walls in this old building.
Overall, a pleasant stay and we would like to thank all the staff who were invariably friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantucket, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

This hotel is beautifully decorated with old world Dutch antiques. The staff is very helpful and efficient. The hotel is well located, quiet and is a perfect base for exploring Amsterdam. The hotel provides excellent coffee and tea in the lobby at all times, and the breakfast food and service is a wonderful way to start the day. We reserved a room a day ahead which was ready for us when we arrive at 7:00.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Estherea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.