We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Estherea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Estherea to your Saves list
Hotel Estherea
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Romantic Getaway
Ranked #13 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Borehamwood, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Weekend in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Flew Easy Jet - Luton to Amsterdam - great experience, signed up to easy boarding and seat reservation - well worth the money, no hassle.

Stayed at Estherea Hotel - absolutely wonderful, lovely rooms, great staff, wide choice for breakfast which although not included was well worth it. Hotel is very well situated, easy for getting round Amsterdam.

Hotel recommended Restaurant Haesje Claes just round the corner - Dutch style - magnificent and good value for money. Consider booking as very popular.

Room Tip: Pay for a superior room - if you book direct you get free wi fi. Extra for canal view at €45+ a nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,469
    592
    110
    28
    23
See reviews for
360
1,195
76
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights last week. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms were good and when we asked for above to a canal room it was arranged and they moved our belongings for us. Because we booked direct with the hotel we got breakfast for €13. Good choice at breakfast with hot and cold buffet. In addition there was always coffee and cookies available in the foyer. The only comment I would make is that the bath towels were a bit thin and small, they could do with being replaced. Overall a very enjoyable stay.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

This hotel was even better than the photos. Much larger reception area, great lounge and seating for reading etc. Bar is just beautiful with great service 24/7!

Breakfast was prepaid and certainly worth it. Loads to choose from and open from 7 till 11 every morning. Free tea and coffee all day plus cookies and candies put out at night beside the lobby.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This is the third time I've stayed , it's a lovely hotel, very comfortable. Bathroom was huge with separate shower cubicle and separate wc.

Only quibble is for this price might have expected a bath robe to be included.

The breakfasts have improved a lot. I remember being disappointed the first time I stayed but were pretty good this time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This is a great boutique hotel with wonderful staff that will always go out of their way to accommodate any request. Good location and walking distance to just about everything. Great breakfasts and while the rooms are small, like many European hotels, they are tasteful and the Hotel ambience is special. Only minor "quack" is they need to upgrade their towels and linens. Getting a bit thin for this quality of hotel. Would be happy to go back and recommend to others.

Room Tip: Stay on the canal side as there are several "coffee shops" on the back side that see young...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, NM
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Just returned from 3 nights at the Estherea and had a wonderful time, enjoying the hotel and the nearby sights, museums etc. Friends told us about this hotel and we are very grateful to them as it was lovely.....our room, 214, was very pretty, overlooking the canal and totally comfortable albeit a bit small. We know this is typical of European boutique hotels so we didn't mind that at all. Breakfasts were really delicious and well worth the money; if you pre-arrange to have breakfasts, there is a discount offered that makes it more attractive. Staff couldn't have been nicer, friendlier or more helpful, making reservations for our dinners and for our return van ride to the airport. We used Conexxion both ways and thought that was the easiest, most efficient way to get to and from; if you buy a round trip ticket, again, there is a nice discount. While at the hotel, we ate at Luden which was very good, 5 Flies which we thought was overpriced and very over rated (although the interior is historic and interesting, the food is ordinary), and our favorite, Lucius, where we had great seafood and excellent service. All are within a block or two of the hotel. We walked everywhere.....the museums, Anne Frank House, Dam Square etc......just watch out for the bicycles! They don't always watch out for pedestrians, and they often fly right by you at rather high speeds.
We would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: #214 is lovely, overlooking the canal. If a light sleeper, just know they begin working on the brid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

We booked the Hotel through BA. The hotel is within walking distance of Amsterdam Centraal and is conveniently placed in the Centrum. The hotel is on the Singel Canal and is situated in a lovely and lively part of the city with bars and restaurants close by. The immediate impression when you walk in is one of luxury. Our room was tastefully decorated and very spacious. The hotel provides free hot drinks from the lobby day and night. There is free wifi in the lobby. The breakfast buffet with hot food was sumptuous. Al the staff were very accommodating. The bar is very pink but did a mean cocktail! The hotel is well placed to discover the city on foot which is exactly what we did. It's all the little things that the hotel did and provided that made the difference. We have stayed in many city hotels on weekend breaks and I have stayed in many hotels in Amsterdam over the years but this hotel is far by the best. The area is delightful and quirky and original and this just adds to the experience. We really enjoyed our stay and it's nice to stay in a hotel that provides a great service.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, Agoda, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Estherea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.