We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Estherea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Estherea to your Saves list
Hotel Estherea
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #12 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
355 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Better than ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel several times, most recently 2 years ago. It never seems to disappoint. The rooms are comfortable, the staff is very friendly, and the breakfast was as good as I remember. Location is important to me and I am happy that this hotel continues to offer superb accommodations at usually reasonable prices. The room rates in September were outrageous due to a large congress meeting in the city so we waited until October when we could afford it!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the canal are very scenic but pricier!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbgoodkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,090 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed two nights at Estherea. The location of the hotel is in close proximity to an excellent shopping area. and some good restaurants. Guests can walk easily to Central station and Dam square.
We stayed in a Deluxe room, which was a little small but had very tastefully done if you like the romantic theme. The view from our window was the 'courtyard' - Thankfully we did not plan to spend time looking at the view.
The breakfast was good. And guests are free to make their coffee throughout the day in the lobby.
The best thing about this hotel was the location.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Atemop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Estherea once we had completed a Rhine River cruise based on the recommendations of friends who stayed there in the fall of 2012. We were not in the least disappointed! Good size rooms, very quiet, very clean. The breakfast buffet is also very good and plentiful. The front desk staff were excellent except for one gentleman who seemed somewhat gruff and impatient with some folks. This is a very busy hotel located on one the canals in central Amsterdam. It is a 5 to 10 min taxi ride from the central train station or about 15 to 20 min walk.We stayed four nights at this hotel and enjoyed it very much. It is also located very close to lots of restaurants and bars ....less than 2 blocks away. It is close to tram lines and most attractions. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KDCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Just returned from 4 nights at the Estherea. This is a very comfortable well situated hotel. It is possible to walk to most of the main sights in town. 30 minute walk from Central Station wheeling small suitcases. .
Breakfast was excellent and if pre-booked also good value. ( no need for lunch).
Very few downsides. The bath towels were not of the soft fluffy type as you might expect for this price, and surprisingly there were no bathrobes.
The staff were very helpful and friendly with the possible exception of one young lady who when we requested our room key wanted to know our name. We asked why as we had been in and out several times previously. She said that she had not seen us before. We had been there for thee days and spoken to her on a few occasions. Perhaps she has a memory problem!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikkko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Delaware
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

After much research, we decided on the Hotel Estherea for our 2 night post river cruise. What a great decision! Just as it said in Frommers guide... It is a hidden gem. It is located in the upscale area of Jordan which is an excellent, safe area . It is a quiet, pretty area right on a canal within walking distance to Anne Frank house and other tourist attractions. Also, the area had the best boutiques for fun shopping. The hotel offers a buffet American type breakfast for 18 euros pp which we did after checking prices ale carte in another restaurant. The food wad good and plentiful.
The hotel is so lovely, rooms were nicely appointed and the location was perfect We walked everywhere.
We would most definitely stay here again(if we are lucky enough to visit Amsterdam again) and highly recommend this hidden gem!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dcruisers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

This beautiful boutique hotel is located in historic buildings on one of the picturesque canals in central Amsterdam.

Attention to detail was evident throughout our stay, from the sumptuous decor, to comfortable room and friendly service. The fact that this is not an international brand of accommodation was a plus - the feeling was more of an elegant home with the quirkiness that goes with irregular sized rooms, and interesting quiet areas for reading and enjoying the free coffee and teas.

We had a reasonable sized room overlooking the canal, which gave an interesting perspective on Amsterdam life - people cycling, beautiful old buildings and daily activity. However, we are light sleepers, so were glad that we always travel with earplugs, because the active neighborhood and occasional creaking of floors above us would have disturbed us.

The Hotel Estherea is within walking distance of key landmarks, museums, boutiques, restaurants and shopping areas, and each day we discovered interesting side streets and views by chance.

We will definitely stay in the Hotel Estherea again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ehles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The hotel is in a superb location. It is a warm and friendly hotel on Singel canal. It is located near the shopping centers, museums and is perfect for a Canal ride. It is relatively reasonably priced but the hotel only serves breakfast. It has no restaurant. The staff were friendly and useful. I would definitely stay there again and recommend if to people.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jokels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,032 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#3 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 228 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#11 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#15 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 728 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#18 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 267 reviews
Centrum
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, Venere, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing