We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Boutique hotel in central Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Estherea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Estherea to your Saves list
Hotel Estherea
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Romantic Getaway
Ranked #12 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
calgary
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Boutique hotel in central Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Estherea once we had completed a Rhine River cruise based on the recommendations of friends who stayed there in the fall of 2012. We were not in the least disappointed! Good size rooms, very quiet, very clean. The breakfast buffet is also very good and plentiful. The front desk staff were excellent except for one gentleman who seemed somewhat gruff and impatient with some folks. This is a very busy hotel located on one the canals in central Amsterdam. It is a 5 to 10 min taxi ride from the central train station or about 15 to 20 min walk.We stayed four nights at this hotel and enjoyed it very much. It is also located very close to lots of restaurants and bars ....less than 2 blocks away. It is close to tram lines and most attractions. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,494
    600
    111
    28
    23
See reviews for
365
1,213
76
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Just returned from 4 nights at the Estherea. This is a very comfortable well situated hotel. It is possible to walk to most of the main sights in town. 30 minute walk from Central Station wheeling small suitcases. .
Breakfast was excellent and if pre-booked also good value. ( no need for lunch).
Very few downsides. The bath towels were not of the soft fluffy type as you might expect for this price, and surprisingly there were no bathrobes.
The staff were very helpful and friendly with the possible exception of one young lady who when we requested our room key wanted to know our name. We asked why as we had been in and out several times previously. She said that she had not seen us before. We had been there for thee days and spoken to her on a few occasions. Perhaps she has a memory problem!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Delaware
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

After much research, we decided on the Hotel Estherea for our 2 night post river cruise. What a great decision! Just as it said in Frommers guide... It is a hidden gem. It is located in the upscale area of Jordan which is an excellent, safe area . It is a quiet, pretty area right on a canal within walking distance to Anne Frank house and other tourist attractions. Also, the area had the best boutiques for fun shopping. The hotel offers a buffet American type breakfast for 18 euros pp which we did after checking prices ale carte in another restaurant. The food wad good and plentiful.
The hotel is so lovely, rooms were nicely appointed and the location was perfect We walked everywhere.
We would most definitely stay here again(if we are lucky enough to visit Amsterdam again) and highly recommend this hidden gem!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

This beautiful boutique hotel is located in historic buildings on one of the picturesque canals in central Amsterdam.

Attention to detail was evident throughout our stay, from the sumptuous decor, to comfortable room and friendly service. The fact that this is not an international brand of accommodation was a plus - the feeling was more of an elegant home with the quirkiness that goes with irregular sized rooms, and interesting quiet areas for reading and enjoying the free coffee and teas.

We had a reasonable sized room overlooking the canal, which gave an interesting perspective on Amsterdam life - people cycling, beautiful old buildings and daily activity. However, we are light sleepers, so were glad that we always travel with earplugs, because the active neighborhood and occasional creaking of floors above us would have disturbed us.

The Hotel Estherea is within walking distance of key landmarks, museums, boutiques, restaurants and shopping areas, and each day we discovered interesting side streets and views by chance.

We will definitely stay in the Hotel Estherea again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The hotel is in a superb location. It is a warm and friendly hotel on Singel canal. It is located near the shopping centers, museums and is perfect for a Canal ride. It is relatively reasonably priced but the hotel only serves breakfast. It has no restaurant. The staff were friendly and useful. I would definitely stay there again and recommend if to people.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dunfermline,scotland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Stayed at the Estherea for 4 nights in September after originally booking to stay there over 3 years ago! Due to illness i had to cancel the original booking.
Well worth waiting so long - we were not disappointed in the slightest with this lovely hotel.With it's lovely decor,it has a very warm feeling,and the staff are so friendly and helpful.
Great location on a quiet canal but central enough to walk to many places - including some very good restaurants.
If ever in Amsterdam again - which we hope to be - the Estherea would be first choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We recently stayed in a canal view room at the Estherea and we were very happy with our stay. The room was very lovely with a fine bath and a great view. The staff was very attentive, helpful and the hotel is in a great location that is quiet but near everything. They also have a self-service espresso machine in the lobby for that quick pick-me-up. We would definately go back.

Room Tip: Canal view rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Estherea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.