We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Style, location, comfort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Estherea

Save Saved
You added Hotel Estherea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Estherea
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Singel 303-309, Amsterdam 1012 WJ, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Romantic Getaway
Ranked #17 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Style, location, comfort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

This beautiful boutique hotel is located in historic buildings on one of the picturesque canals in central Amsterdam.

Attention to detail was evident throughout our stay, from the sumptuous decor, to comfortable room and friendly service. The fact that this is not an international brand of accommodation was a plus - the feeling was more of an elegant home with the quirkiness that goes with irregular sized rooms, and interesting quiet areas for reading and enjoying the free coffee and teas.

We had a reasonable sized room overlooking the canal, which gave an interesting perspective on Amsterdam life - people cycling, beautiful old buildings and daily activity. However, we are light sleepers, so were glad that we always travel with earplugs, because the active neighborhood and occasional creaking of floors above us would have disturbed us.

The Hotel Estherea is within walking distance of key landmarks, museums, boutiques, restaurants and shopping areas, and each day we discovered interesting side streets and views by chance.

We will definitely stay in the Hotel Estherea again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,095 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,372
    565
    106
    29
    23
See reviews for
326
1117
72
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The hotel is in a superb location. It is a warm and friendly hotel on Singel canal. It is located near the shopping centers, museums and is perfect for a Canal ride. It is relatively reasonably priced but the hotel only serves breakfast. It has no restaurant. The staff were friendly and useful. I would definitely stay there again and recommend if to people.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dunfermline,scotland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Stayed at the Estherea for 4 nights in September after originally booking to stay there over 3 years ago! Due to illness i had to cancel the original booking.
Well worth waiting so long - we were not disappointed in the slightest with this lovely hotel.With it's lovely decor,it has a very warm feeling,and the staff are so friendly and helpful.
Great location on a quiet canal but central enough to walk to many places - including some very good restaurants.
If ever in Amsterdam again - which we hope to be - the Estherea would be first choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We recently stayed in a canal view room at the Estherea and we were very happy with our stay. The room was very lovely with a fine bath and a great view. The staff was very attentive, helpful and the hotel is in a great location that is quiet but near everything. They also have a self-service espresso machine in the lobby for that quick pick-me-up. We would definately go back.

Room Tip: Canal view rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Absolutely one of the best hotel I have been to. The hotel is small with very cozy design, great location not far fron the tram, great breakfast with helpful staff and free coffee and snacks the whole day.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This is a wonderful family-run hotel that goes above and beyond to make their guests feel welcomed and special. Very friendly and helpful staff. Plentiful breakfast buffet in a lovely dining room. Extras like cold and hot drinks, candy and cakes throughout the day and night. Big, beautiful aquarium filled with many colorful fish. Rooms are well furnished and serviced. Very quiet inside. Five minute walk to Dam Square for people watching. Lots of restaurants within walking distance.

Room Tip: A room with a view of the canal is great for people watching.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Have just spent 3 nights in this beautiful hotel with my husband and our 10yr old daughter.
Everything was fantastic! The welcome gift for our daughter, the complimentary hot chocolate, coffee and tea with biscuits and lollies in the lobby, amazing fish tank, staff who were helpful and friendly and the cleanliness of the rooms was the best we have seen in a long while.

The rooms have everything you need too with iron and board, plenty of electrical sockets, hooks for coats and plenty of cupboard space. I really cannot find fault in this hotel and I am extremely fussy and generally hard to please.

I would recommend this hotel to singles, couples and families.

Room Tip: We had a room that faced the open courtyard on the second floor. The curtains block out light so wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Address: Singel 303-309, Amsterdam 1012 WJ, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Estherea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.