We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Romantic Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Estherea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Estherea to your Saves list
Hotel Estherea
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #11 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Manama, Bahrain
2 reviews
“Classic Romantic Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Nice hotel in good location 5 mints walking to center. Hotel nicely decorated clean with good service . we did not used the hotel restaurant their are excellent coffee shops and restaurant close by. Definitely i recommend this hotel specially for couples.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,801 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,891
    729
    121
    33
    27
See reviews for
466
1,528
89
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (502)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

A very pleasant, opulent, possibly over the top hotel. You can walk to it from the station in about 20 mins, which is a good idea, because our taxi driver hadnt heard of the Estherea, and then cdnt find it when he got to Singel, the street it is in. Inadequate signage did not help.Rooms overlooking the canal cost 20euro extra per night. The hotel was expensive to start with, and no free wifi in the rooms when all the other lower-priced hotels we stayed in in Europe this trip had free wifi. There was free wifi downstairs in the public area, and it was very nice sitting there enjoying the free tea and coffee etc, and watching the beautiful tropical fish in the tank. Our room was noisy, like a disco in the room. I should have complained earlier but only mentioned it when I checked out and staff cd not explain the noise. At midnight on Friday, Saturday and Sunday nights, I did not want to invite people in to my room to listen. It stopped around 1am though. The draperies around the bed were unnecessary and just a trap for dust. The room was good, and the bathroom excellent. Go to the bakery around the corner for breakfast, as the hotel breakfast is too expensive. The Estherea is close to great restaurants and shops, and all the tourist attractions, but then Amsterdam is small and most things are within walking distance.The hotel offered canal cruises at a reduced rate. We did the cruise twice. It was excellent, and helped us orient ourselves around the city. I would return to this hotel, but would make sure I got a quiet room, maybe pay the extra 20 euro for the canal side.

Room Tip: Pay the extra 20 euros per night for a room on the canal side. If you are staying at this hotel, yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed here in July 2013. First thing which took our breath away was beautiful aquarium in the lobby. We have salt water aquarium at home and this one was just like a model. lobby area and sitting area was nicely decorated with lots of fresh flowers. Room was cozy, but big enough for two, and practically just for sleeping. we like new huge walk-in shower. There was safe and small fridge in the room. We did not need coffee/tea maker in the room as downstairs was state of art coffee/tea/hot chocolate machine - that with always fresh cookies/cakes was excellent afternoon snack.

Room Tip: close to everything, but on the quiet canal street
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericia, Denmark
Level Contributor
139 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel many times over the past five years. It is the hotel we like to stay in the Amsterdam due to its location and the friendly staff. However there could be made some minor adjustments to make the stay even better.

1: When sitting on the benches outside, it would be nice if they would clean this area up more often. It is often a sore sign when ashtrays and coffee cups are scattered around.

2: The towels in the rooms needs a serious upgrade. They are thin og worn out

3: A coat rack in the bar would be nice. No place to hang your coat if you come in for a cocktail before or after dinner.

4: Surprised that there were no acknowledgement from the hotel after you are a frequent visitor. And we did not receive the room that we had requested in our reservation.

But these things are minor. We were surprised at the noise coming from Spui this time around and will stay in a canal room next time when we visit in March. Also the new bar setup is nice, and having a bartender there full time is a good touch. The new cocktail menu is very nice and yummy.

Still we will only stay at this hotel when we are in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I really loved staying in the Estherea. We mentioned that is was my partner's 30th birthday on arrival and got upgraded to the pinkest suite imaginable! We had a lovely four poster bed, jacuzzi bath, tv in the bathroom and our own sitting area. I didn't want to leave the hotel room! The hotel is relatively centrally located, within walking distance to anywhere we wanted to go but a bit of a walk from the train station. The hotel bar is so opulent and it was lovely just to sit there and watch the fish in the tank! We didn't have breakfast so can't comment on the food.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We really liked this hotel!
The room we had was small but very charming.
The down part was that breakfast was really expensive but the venue was really nice.
Coffee,tea,biscuits,small cakes and sweets were available free at all times

The hotel is walking distance from the different sights.

Next time we visit Amsterdam we are going to stay at this hotel again but have breakfast at a bakery around the corner instead.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We spent three wonderful days in Amsterdam and the hotel was wonderful (I thoroughly recommend the breakfasts!) It is ideally located for walking everywhere and the staff could not have been more helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 356 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 1,827 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#8 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 945 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#19 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 626 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Otel, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Estherea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.