We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Estherea

Save Saved
You added Hotel Estherea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Estherea
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Romantic Getaway
Ranked #14 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Caloundra, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Lovely boutique hotel, with fantastic colourful bar and lounge. We had a small room with canal views. Generous choice for breakfast plus good coffee free all day. Lollies in room too. Central to Ann Frank, red light district and canal tours. The staff were great too. Recommend.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,121 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,394
    569
    107
    28
    23
See reviews for
335
1144
73
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, Nelson, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This is my second review of the Hotel Estherea, made a year after the first. It's only time I've wanted to write in again to emphasize my first impressions. In my view this is one of the world's great hotels. I knew I hadn't seen it all, but I thought I'd seen a great deal for one lucky guy, and I'll tell you, there may be places as beautiful, but none more. Every. . .single. . .detail is attended to. No corner is less than fascinating. Every aspect of the decor, in the rooms as much as the common areas, makes me want to run to the owners and kiss them. They've thought of everything and made what they've thought of the best it can be for the space, including the gym, the elevators and the keychains! The food I've experienced is utterly becoming of the hotel itself. First rate, over the top in copiousness with European class. And of course the staff are youthful, eager, accommodating, but real. No airs or obsequiousness. Really, if the god of Hotels has a favorite designer, this is one of their projects. This is one of those rare places one discovers when traveling that is so delightful, staying in is event enough. Things outside could be good, but better??

By the way, if you visit a second time, take advantage of the offer to become a "Friend of Hotel Estherea". For the short form they ask you to submit, you're entitled to free breakfast and internet, and a checkout time of 2 p.m. There is no end to this establishment's talent for pleasing its guests.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

My husband and spent 3 nights here for a little break away, we couldn't have asked for more. Great location a canal right outside the door. The hotel itself was boutique, and decorated beautifully. Staff were fantastic! Really helpful and polite. We were upgraded on arrival and our room was perfect. We were next to the lift but did not hear a thing! We booked Internet and breakfast before we arrived ( via the website) and everything was fine we had no problems. The food in the restaurant was varied and something for everyone and there was free drinks in reception, coffee and sweets, cool water with fresh mint in. It was lovely. So pleased we booked here and would definitely come back again.

Room Tip: We stayed in 404 next to the lift but didn't hear anything
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I just returned from a 4-day trip to Amsterdam, and based on TA reviews, I stayed at the Hotel Estherea. As others have noted, it's a perfect location on the Singel canal, a 5-10-minute walk from Dam Square and the Royal Palace and a 10-15-minute walk (at most) to the Anne Frank House. I walked everywhere in Amsterdam during those four days, including to the museum square (Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum). I had a small room overlooking the canal, and it was very quiet, non-smoking, and well appointed, including a small refrigerator. I booked directly on the hotel's Web site, so I got free wifi during my stay and a reduced rate for the daily (buffet) breakfast. It was also great to have access to the (free) cappuccino/tea machine just off the lobby. The exercise room (open 24 hours) has a treadmill, bike, and elliptical, as well as free weights and a weight machine. The staff could not have been nicer or more helpful. I would definitely recommend Hotel Estherea for your stay in Amsterdam!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salford, Pa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was very nice! Convenient to all attractions we wanted to see. As recommended by other TA reviews we requested a room on a higher floor, so not to here the street noise. The room, 519, had a small balcony that overlooked the street side. Noise was not a problem. It was very well appointed. We booked directly on the hotel site and got the free WIFI in our room, along with a bottle of Proseco! The hotel staff was very helpful and friendly.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This was a beautiful boutique hotel on the Singel Canal, within 15 minute walking distance of the Anne Frank House and the Canal Boat rides at Central station. We were there mid-week for only 1 night, and were upgraded to room #11- a gorgeous suite on the 1st floor overlooking the Koi pond. The rooms are beautiful and comfortable, with AC! Definitely splurge and buy the breakfast! The dining room is pretty, and the spread of food delicious, with local traditions and more. The coffee and cappuccino machine in the lobby are available anytime, with cookies to go with it. The bar and library area were comfortable and begs you to just sit and relax-we enjoyed a drink in the bar, served up with a bowl of nuts. All the staff were very helpful with suggestions and answers to all our questions. They lock the front door at night and you ring for the bellman to let you in-very secure. IF I had to come up with 1 thing to improve, I'd say they might want to get some slightly softer bath towels. But otherwise, 5 STAR all the way. We wish God bless to the staff! We really did want to stay another night!

Room Tip: They seem to book you into the best room available. Arrive a little early for the best assignment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

The location is blocks away from some of the best restaurants, the Jewel Dinner Cruise, main shopping streets, and two of the North-South Tram lines. So, it is easy to get to anywhere you want to go. We stayed here a week and were delighted with all of the staff from the woman that cleaned our room to the staff at the front desk. The breakfasts were great, large variety, and they have free coffee and cookies every afternoon. If you need an umbrella, they have that too. Their charge for laundry, unlike most hotels, was very reasonable and if you want to do your own laundry they have a cloths line in the bathroom and iron and board in each room.

In writing hotel reviews I try to point out any problem we had to alert others, but we had none at this hotel.

We will definitely stay here again when to come back to Amsterdam and I would highly recommend that you give it a try. It will make your trip much more pleasant.

Room Tip: Our room was interior, so noise was not a problem. Singel is a quite street and the rooms all are w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Venere, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Estherea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.