We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location/staff/food/decor” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Estherea

Save Saved
You added Hotel Estherea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Estherea
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Romantic Getaway
Ranked #16 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Location/staff/food/decor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

The location is blocks away from some of the best restaurants, the Jewel Dinner Cruise, main shopping streets, and two of the North-South Tram lines. So, it is easy to get to anywhere you want to go. We stayed here a week and were delighted with all of the staff from the woman that cleaned our room to the staff at the front desk. The breakfasts were great, large variety, and they have free coffee and cookies every afternoon. If you need an umbrella, they have that too. Their charge for laundry, unlike most hotels, was very reasonable and if you want to do your own laundry they have a cloths line in the bathroom and iron and board in each room.

In writing hotel reviews I try to point out any problem we had to alert others, but we had none at this hotel.

We will definitely stay here again when to come back to Amsterdam and I would highly recommend that you give it a try. It will make your trip much more pleasant.

Room Tip: Our room was interior, so noise was not a problem. Singel is a quite street and the rooms all are w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,117 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,389
    569
    107
    29
    23
See reviews for
331
1132
73
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Canyon, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This was our first trip to Amsterdam and we were focused on finding a hotel with Dutch charm... preferably on a canal. We succeeded!!! This hotel is on a quiet canal street but at the same time very convenient to transportation, museums and other sites - we easily walked to the Van Gogh, Anne Frank House, etc. The lobby of this hotel is elegant but at the same time we found it relaxing and inviting - aquarium, sitting areas, complimentary coffee/tea/cookies, bar and dining room. We enjoyed the buffet breakfast each morning in the dining room - the selection and quality were above expectation. Our room faced the canal, large windows, nicely updated and appointed. It was unusually warm when we were visiting but our room and the common areas were well air conditioned and comfortable. The staff was always attentive and helpful. Only downside was wifi access was inconsistent and TV stations were limited - but in no way did it dampen our experience or our desire to return!

Room Tip: Consider splurging on a room with a canal view! It was lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I stayed for 4 nights in Estherea hotel,what a nice and cosy hotel.
Perfectly situated on the canal(always ask for canal rooms even if it costs more,just for the view).
It's a 3min walk from the Dam square,shops and just next to the very delicious restaurants.
Hotel is perfectly decorated(classical European style),even small details are nice in this hotel.
Excellent breakfast,delicious and rich.very friendly staff,helpful and always smiling.
It is worth every penny you spend during your stay. definately I will return to this special hotel.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walpole, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic location, best in the city. Right beside the beautiful canals. Staff was outstanding, clean and very elegant hotel, although small rooms. We stayed for three nights would do it again. In fact, I would not bother looking elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleepy Hollow, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

If you are looking for old world charm this hotel has it. Stayed here two weeks ago and was very happy with the helpful and friendly staff. We were within walking distance to many attractions including The Anne Frank House, Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum. They offer a wonderful breakfast buffet which is worth the additional cost. I am a clean freak and they did not disappoint our room was spotless. Walk one block and you have many restaurants to choose for lunch or dinner.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the canal which was on the quiet side of the hotel,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed here 4 times And it gets better every time, lovely rooms, excellent staff and positioned perfectly to tour this great city. Since we first stayed this hotel has become really popular and you need to book early.

Room Tip: Anyone overlooking the. Canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We truly enjoyed our 4 days at the Hotel Estherea. Our entourage include my wife and I and our two (typically rambunctious) young children. We were very pleased with the hotel, and absolutely recommend it for a stay in what is undoubtedly one of the most underrated cities in Europe for families, The Estherea is well located in the heart of Amsterdam, with an attractive, and authentic European boutique feel. They have a welcoming staff that was professional and courteous, and capably assisted with all requests.

We had 2 connecting rooms --- a suite leading to a deluxe room --- that were well presented, clean, handsomely decorated, and perfectly charming. They protected us from the hustle and flow of this vibrant city as we enjoyed wonderfully quiet and sleep filled evenings.

We enjoyed the lounge, bar, and library areas of the hotel, all of which gave an appropriately refined, yet unpretentious elegance to the Estherea. In the lobby, next to the bar, is an amenities area with complimentary beverages and pastries and snacks, which we thought was a nice (and convenient) touch. Also a nice touch was the free wi-fi. I'm more than happy to pay for premium service and luxury hotels, but please don't gouge me on the incidentals. Well done there, Estherea. :) Breakfast was very good, and the choices of both hot and cold dishes were plentiful and fresh. The hotel does have room service during the day and evening, but we ate all of our meals out, other than breakfast. The gym was nicely outfitted as well.

All in all, what you see is what you get with the Estherea: An excellent, charming, and well located hotel in the middle of a great European capital city. If you wanted to spend 3 or 4 days in Amsterdam, (as a family or as a couple), I would have no qualms recommending the Hotel Esherea. It's a great find, and one to be enjoyed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Estherea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.