We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with lovely atmosphere.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Estherea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Estherea to your Saves list
Hotel Estherea
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Romantic Getaway
Ranked #12 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Aspen, Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great hotel with lovely atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were thrilled with this hotel - great location, wonderful atmosphere, comfortable bed, good service, free wi-fi and use of computers in the lobby, clean and well-appointed rooms, nice restaurant. We stayed in a room facing the back street with many businesses and it was quiet on a Thursday night but pretty noisy on Friday night. Good coffee, tea, cookies, and cakes are available throughout the day in the lobby. Some rooms face onto an interior courtyard and would be claustrophobic so I was glad to have a room with a view.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a room facing the canal - it would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,494
    600
    111
    28
    23
See reviews for
365
1,213
76
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Stayed here for one night during our visit to Amsterdam, found the hotel via Tripadvisor. As soon as you enter the hotel which is situated next to the lovely Singel canal you feel you are walking into another world almost, the reception area is really beautiful and it feels like you are walking into a 5 star hotel. The staff was really helpful at check-in and we got help with our luggage up to our room.

We spent a bit more money to get a canal-view room which was very green and flowery with a big bed that felt like it came right out of some movie with a chandelier hanging from the roof. The room felt a bit small tho considering it was an upgrade from a standard room and the canal-view lost alot of value due to some construction work going on right outside the hotel which was also very noisy. The bathroom was nice with bathtub and double washbasins.

Very disappointed with having to pay 10€ !!!!! For one day of wifi and huge amount to eat breakfast 10-18€ so we skipped both of them. I think if you pay so much for a room those two should be included. On the plus side was the bed tho which was huge and comfortable and the drapes in front of the windows which locked out all light and made you have a nice nights sleep.

The staff was also very helpful with questions but yet again if you wanted a late checkout (which alot of hotel nowadays usually can offer you for free) you had to pay 35€ !!!! All these hidden fees almost makes this feel like a Ryanair of hotels.

So it is with a bit of mixed feelings I am writing this review. The Hotel and the room was fantastic but all the extra fees makes my experience of the hotel go down alot.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is typical, old but boutique, claustrophobic but classique styled one located on the Singel canal walkable distance to Dam Square, Anne Frank house, etc.
We stayed here for 2 nights. Rooms have a classy old look with a small chandelier above the bed. No wi-fi & the TV is just for namesake. I dont remember if there was a minibar.
Bathroom was a bit different with an old cottage styled door. Bath tub was nice & classy. Very comfortable bed & drapery in purple/dark shades bring in a lovely mood. Not much space to keep all the luggages though. U ought to scatter them. The hotel key was heavy & big, probably tradional style.
The lobby adjacent to the reception was nice with a collection of books, cookies & coffee/tea/chocolate drinks.
We were happy we chose this hotel as it resembles the typical old classic styled hotels suited for the mood & surroundings.
The room we had was not far from the stairs & all through the night we were hearing foot steps.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for break on our way to another location. It was an excellent location for seeing a few places in a short time. Close to canal rides and excellent restaurants.

There was Internet service in the lobby. The people at the desk were helpful and helped us choose a restaurant for dinner and made reservations for us. The breakfast was the usual European style buffet.

Our room was very small, but I have found to be common in Europe. We may plan a longer trip to Amsterdam and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Love this beautiful boutique hotel, it has a warm environment with such a lovely red tone inside. I really enjoy the living room inside the hotel, where we can enjoy free wifi, hot chocolate or tea with cookies (also free) while looking out the window watching the river. This hotel's room was also well accommodated us as a family of four with 2 pre-teens kids. The location is superb! Near almost everywhere given the fact that Amsterdam not really big city after all, everything were walking distance. The service also satisfying, people worked there must be very happy since they always smile and helpful to all guests.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

What a beautiful hotel. To some it may seem a little dated and overdone - but it was grand and opulent.
We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a deluxe room, which was clean, well appointed and luxurious. The bed was amazing comfortable, and huge for a hotel bed! The bathroom had a jacuzzi bath and a separate shower, both of which worked well. Two sinks meant no fighting over the mirror!
The only downside was the view - straight onto a wall/other room's windows. But to be honest, we weren't there to look out of the window, so the curtains (Which were thick enough to block out the light and con you into thinking it was still night and therefore making you have a late breakfast!!) were closed.
The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. And the location is great.
I'm now desperately trying to find an excuse to go back as soon as possible!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Just back from a 3 day trip to Amsterdam. Researched this Hotel on trip advisor and wasnt disappointed. It really is a lovely boutiquey hotel with friendly and helpful staff and a great atmosphere. Followed advice of previous travellers and upgraded to a canal view room - lovely view of the Singel, spacious room, beautifully decorated, clean and an incredibly comfortable bed. No tea/coffee making facilities in room but bottles of water are stocked in the rooms fridge and tea/coffee and hot chocolate are available free of charge in the restaurant. The location is fantastic - 5 minutes walk from Dam Square, 10 minutes walk to Anne Franks house, 2 minutes walk to a tram stop - really well situated for everywhere! The bedroom was big but the bathroom was really small with two saloon type slatted doors (which didnt particularly bother us). wall to wall windows let in lots of light and air conditioning was great to have. I hate to criticise as we really loved the hotel - and to be fair its not their fault and the problem will resolve in time - but there is building work happening directly outside the hotel where they are either building or reinforcing a bridge. This resulted in us being woken up between 7.00 - 7.15 am every morning by the sound of machinery. Feel a little grieved we paid a 60 euro supplement for this 'pleasure'

Room Tip: the canal view rooms really are lovely but be warned the building work outside may wake you early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Estherea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.