We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Nice, You Had to Remind Yourself To Go Out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Estherea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Estherea to your Saves list
Hotel Estherea
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #13 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Hartford, CT
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“So Nice, You Had to Remind Yourself To Go Out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

In an old European city, you want a hotel that at least captures a hint of Henry James. The Estherea, with its old-fashioned and pleasantly ornate lobby and public rooms, does this (without sacrificing modern comforts like a high-tech coffee machine mixing free capuccinos and lattes and a very reasonable WiFi policy). My room was great, with the option of running the AC system or opening my windows onto the street behind Singel. The location is perfect. Perfect! It's a quiet part of Singel, but everything busy is nearby. My only proposed upgrades: fluffier towels. And a bathroom door that's an actual door as opposed to a thin louvered partition. (Some of us like a little privacy when we poop.) Otherwise, Estherea, you are marvelous.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,850
    714
    121
    33
    27
See reviews for
455
1,491
89
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (494)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

There is very little that I can fault about this hotel. It is in an excellent location, next to a canal on a quiet road and close to many of the attractions, the trams, and many restaurants. The room was large, clean and attractive, with a very comfortable bed; it had very good air-conditioning and looked fantastic. The bathroom was clean and spacious. Although there were no drinks facilities in the room, complementary tea, coffee, water and biscuits were available downstairs. The bar was a little expensive, but very attractive, as was the whole of the foyer and lounge area. The staff were beyond praise; every single one of them was helpful and friendly, and they could not do enough for us. And they made a great fuss of our five-year-old daughter, who loved it! The only minor issue we had was that the breakfast, which we only had on one day, was rather expensive and a little disappointing. Otherwise, I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

Room Tip: We were at the back of the hotel, which although it did not face the canal, meant that it was very q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

A gorgeous Hotel right in the centre of Amsterdam, few minutes to shops, Anne Frank House, Dam Square and overlooking the canal. Just loved this place as it was a wonderful refuge from a busy day. The free coffee and tea were very welcome at all times of the day. Definitely recommend this hotel and we will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view...the other side can be a bit noisy if you leave the windows open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

we stayed for 2 nights in july and it was a great start to our holiday in Europe,what a great old hotel in the middle of everything, breakfast was the best we had in 6 weeks in Europe and the hospitality was warm and welcoming, we had a canal view room which was great with a four poster bed, I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: canal view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Estherea for 3 nights in late July 2013. The hotel is perfectly located (2 blocks from Dam Square) right on Singel Canal. The room was large and the bed was ultra comfortable. There is a little bar which is extremely cute and reminded me of La Cage aux Folles. The cleaning stuff is very efficient and there is free coffee and free minted water all day as well as free cookies and candies.
So why do I only give 4 stars? The reason is simple. This is an expensive hotel (close to $350 per night) but the little things are missing. The front office staff is professional but not warm or very friendly. I needed to rent a car and they did not lift a finger. They pointed me to the computer and told me to use the net. I expected much more services from an European boutique hotel as I experienced in other European cities.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We loved this hotel and already recommended it to friends.
You will get more than what you've bargained for here, we booked a room with a canal view and what a view it was..
The attention to detail is definitely a huge focus and a big plus.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed for two nights at the end of May and had an amazing time!!!! LOVED your saltwater aquarium (I'm into saltwater tanks, so I was super excited to see this!). The junior suite was fabulous and we also stayed in a canal view our first night. I normally don't use hotel bath products, but the quality and smell of your bath soaps/shampoo was great. We rented bicycles and enjoyed Amsterdam by bike. The prices were comparable to bike rental shops, AND the easiness of having the bikes rented right there was nice. The mint water, cookies, and coffee/tea in the bar (for free!) area was wonderful. It's really the little touches that made my stay. Really great hotel, REALLY nice staff. I'd absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 355 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 1,782 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#8 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 903 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#18 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 599 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Estherea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.