We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Estherea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Estherea to your Saves list
Hotel Estherea
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Beaverton, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Just returned this afternoon to the USA from a 3 day stay at the Hotel Estherea after a 12 day med. cruise. This was our first time to Amsterdam and in the initial hotel search,it was a bit daunting at all the options. We finally chose this hotel as we tend to like smaller boutique hotels. This place was perfect iin every way. The location was fabulous, quiet yet convenient to everything. The room was tasteful. The room was fairly small but that didn't bother us as we aren't in the room much and it's to be expected in many European hotels. The staff was exceptional from the moment we walked in. Didn't use the restaurant at all but did enjoy the free coffee/espresso machine in the lobby to start our day. We ended each day in the bar after taking in the city on foot. The two different guys that were bar tending were very nice and provided us with excellent drinks and service in a quaint atmosphere. The bartender also recommened Casa de David, an Italian restaurant just down the street. We ate there on our last night and the food was excellent. All and all, it was a great stay and is a place we would gladly return to again or refer people to. Thanks for providing us with such a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Rooms in the center of the building or canal side would be quieter than on the shopping/cafe side of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,567
    620
    112
    28
    23
See reviews for
376
1,270
77
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

After reading other reviews, we knew this wasn't going to be your average hotel and it would be more on the luxurious side. Overall, we are very glad we chose this hotel and would recommend to others.

Pros: (1) Really great location that is quiet, safe, and close to what you want to see.... walking around Nine Little Streets, Jordaan, Dam Square, Anne Frank house, venture over to Red Light District, etc. (2) Beautifully decorated and extremely clean. The lobby is incredible. (3) Free coffee, tea, cappuchino, lemonade, candy, cookies (afternoon), and croissants (morning) was a huge plus and we used much more than we thought we would. (4) bike rentals from the hotel seemed pricy at first (16 Euro per day), but the bikes were fantastic and the best way to get around the city and super fun to explore the streets. We loved this more than walking around on foot and had lots of laughs. Bikes seemed new and much better shape than what you notice around the streets. (5) Most of the staff were very friendly and helpful.

Cons: (1) having to pay for internet in your room is ridiculous and straight penny pinching, (2) our room wasn't canal side and was tiny, but we've had smaller in NYC. What do you expect in a city and an old building? I wouldn't personally pay for a canal side room. Instead venture around the canals during the day.

Would suggest booking directly through the hotel for the best deal (discounted breakfast and free wi-fi in room). We tried, but the website said no availability... therefore we used booking.com and we couldn't cancel our reservation or receive the "perks" from booking direct.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Virginia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We spent 3 days here before starting a cruise. It was a great location - we walked to all the main attractions and museums. It is very close to the Dam, and about a 15 minute walk to Central Station. The hotel was clean, nice decor, helpful staff, good breakfast, and it was smoke free and had Air Conditioning!

Room Tip: We had a canal room which was lovely - and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

The location is excellent, very central and easy to access the sights; though the canal bridge nearest to the hotel is currently being reconstructed. The rooms are on the small side for the price but very comfortable with a decent bathroom. Note: many of the rooms have windows opening onto small internal alcoves so the room is effectively sealed from fresh air apart from the air con... rooms facing the canal are available but they cost another 55E a night... the free coffee/tea in the lobby is a nice touch, the bar is decent, but the breakfast is horrendously expensive and wifi is not included... all in all I had mixed feelings.

Room Tip: probably best to book on the hotel website after specifying what you require and discussing with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, British Columbia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

This boutique hotel is central to the Dam, the museums, train station, and canal tours - all easily walkable. Spotlessly clean. Comfy public areas with complimentary hot drinks, newspapers, computer access in the lobby. Stayed twice in July and were very happy with the lovely room decor, comfortable beds, and pleasant front desk staff. The rooms are fairly small - but to be expected in an older building. Very satisfied both visits and we would certainly recommend the hotel to family and friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Wow! The exterior is unassuming and discreet. We had no idea it would be so lovely inside! It's exquisite! We were warmly welcomed and taken to two adjoining rooms on the 3rd floor. Each room was gorgeous and immaculately clean. They were the most comfortable sheets and pillows I've ever experienced in a hotel. It was so clean that I even used the jacuzzi twice & that usually grosses me out in a hotel.

Breakfast was lovely. There were hot dishes like eggs and waffles in addition to many kinds of fruit, yogurt, breads, pastries & even champagne. There is always coffee, tea & cold drinks available in the lobby in addition to several kinds of candy and cookies. One afternoon we had croissants. The bar is gorgeous and we had nachos & guacamole one evening while we read and relaxed in the library area of the lobby.

Everyone who works here was friendly and helpful from the porter who brought us up to our room & gave us directions to the front desk staff. I had trouble printing my boarding passes for the flight home and the clerk invited me behind the desk to try it using his computer. They could not have been more helpful.

The location is perfect! We walked to most everything we wanted to do and the neighborhood is lovely and not seedy at all. Highly recommend!

There are so many wonderful things to say about the Hotel Estherea. We will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the canal. The rear street can be loud at night. For free wifi book your room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We came here in early June for a short city break of about 4 days.
On arrival we were quickly seen to and given the key to our room. The room itself was a bit small but average for a hotel this close to the centre I believe.The staff were very helpful with our enquiries about the area such as places to eat etc. The only downside to our stay here was the damaged windows, the handles of which were completely broken so we couldn't close them, lucky for us the weather was very good so we had no need to anyway.

Room Tip: Canal side rooms probably have a better view. Ours wasn't canal side but it was top floor so we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Estherea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.