We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for the price.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Estherea

Save Saved
You added Hotel Estherea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Estherea
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Singel 303-309, Amsterdam 1012 WJ, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Romantic Getaway
Ranked #17 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Ok for the price.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This hotel is on Singel and is about a 10 min walk from C Station and similar to Leidesplein. A traditional building, you enter up steps into a pleasant reception area - traditional dark wood décor. There's a bar, reading/library room and a lounge facing the canal.
There are 2 PCs with internet access ( free) - wifi is 10e a day!, and free tea/coffee facilities. At the back is the dining room. Reading room had books and games and a few Dutch magazines and papers. You could buy UK/US papers at reception.

I had a room on 1st floor, facing a small courtyard. Room was decent size, double bed and small seating area. Plenty of storage areas/cupboards. Nice bath/shower room - all v clean. Décor is traditional ( read old). TV has about a dozen channels - BBC 1 BBC2 Dutch/Belgian and CNN.
Minibar had 2 free bottles of water and that was it - no booze to buy!

Didn't have breakfast as it was 18e - you can go round the corner and have similar for a third of the price ( it mounts up if there's 2 of you).

It's location is good but at 245e a night plus city tax it isn't cheap. It's ok but there's no real wow factor or USP. There's a 2 star for half price 6 doors down and is probably better value. Don't get me wrong there's nothing wrong with this hotel it is clean, tidy and central but that's about it and I think it's overpriced.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,093 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,370
    565
    106
    29
    23
See reviews for
326
1115
72
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We booked the hotel because we were hoping for a great place to sleep in a great location and we found it! There were 3 of us sharing the room with 1 king size bed and 1 day bed. The beds were very comfortable. Our room overlooked the back of the hotel. I agree with the review that said this was somewhat noisy and there is a coffee shop below which brought marijuana smell into the room. Using the AC worked well to avoid this. The location of our bathroom was in the room with a shower/tub, sink and toilet.
We avoided the 18 euro breakfast and had a wonderful breakfast down the street.
The computers in the lobby were appreciated and easy to use.
I expected to pay more for a hotel in Amsterdam, and I would say this hotel is worth it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stayed three nights in June and loved the hotel. It is elegantly furnished and will appeal to those who enjoy elaborate and classical decors throughout, from the flowers to the cushions in the rooms. Room was a tad small but the view of the canal from the room made up for it. Spotlessly clean and well-maintained! Breakfast was just too expensive at €18 but there are fabulous bakeries and breakfast joints in the next street that served up value-for-money food, so that's not a problem. The biggest bug bear must be the lack of free wifi, except for those who book directly with the hotel. In this day and age, the hotel should consider providing this service. Nevertheless, the provision of two computers and a printer in the hotel foyer is much appreciated. Will go back on my next trip to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Good location on the Singel canal. The hotel has a very subtle front door -- no big sign out front. The lobby is lovely with uniquely displayed fresh flowers everywhere, from the front desk to library to dining room. The hotel has about 90 guest rooms, each subtlety different. The classic style of the lobby extends to the guest rooms.

We had booked a deluxe room overlooking the canal and were assigned a large corner room on the second floor. Unfortunately, after flying all night, the construction equipment on the adjacent building concerned us about noise, so we asked to move room. The hotel accommodated us on a higher floor, but in a smaller room. The new room was still charming with a king-sized bed, small sitting area and a workable bathroom. We did sleep well.

We opted for the breakfast buffet each morning which had a generous selection of cereals, breads and fresh fruit, plus eggs, sausage and bacon. Plenty to hold us until dinner.

We walked or took the water taxis to museums and restaurants. The hotel is convenient to most attractions and the front desk staff is happy to recommend restaurants in the area. We had a wonderful dinner at the "5 Flies" restaurant next door. Yes, that's the English translation of this unique restaurant that extends across 5 buildings.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

A special thank you to all the staff at Hotel Estherea. Everyone adored the hotel and all the amenities that came along with it. The location was perfect, the rooms beautiful, breakfast delicious and again the staff could not have been nicer. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This hotel wants to be something it is not. Perhaps, it can only do so much with what it has, but it is definitely not an upscale hotel as it thinks.

The room doors don't close very well, so all hall noise is very apparent. Having the toilet in a small close across the room from the bathroom is absurd and impractical. The rooms feel cramped and small with all the grandiose furniture added. Perhaps, some will like the "Charm" of the decor, but I want practical. The only good things were the central location and the SUPERB bakery on the street next to the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framingham
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This hotel was beautifully decorated, each room different and luxurious. Beds were very comfy with nice sheets and bedding. The lobby and downstairs bar, library and breakfast rooms were also just gorgeous with vases and pots of beautiful flowers and chandeliers. The basement bathroom and gym room were also modern and beautiful. The staff were very helpful and pleasant. The breakfast buffet was delicious with home made breads and croissants and lots to choose from. It was included with our room but would have been too expensive at 18 euros. There is also drinks like coffee/tea/cappucino and others at the machine in the lobby free all day which included cookies and snacks. They give you a free bottle of water for each person each day which is a nice touch.
My only complaint is I had a back room which was quite noisy if we opened the windows so we ended up closing them and using air conditioning which helped a lot. There was also construction going on near the front of the hotel which could at times be noisy but that's not the hotel's fault. All in all this centrally located beautiful hotel was a treat.

Room Tip: Front and back can be noisy. Close windows and put AC on and it's fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Address: Singel 303-309, Amsterdam 1012 WJ, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Estherea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.