We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at Hotel Estherea in Amsterdam Spring 3013” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Estherea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Estherea to your Saves list
Hotel Estherea
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Romantic Getaway
Ranked #11 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam
1 review
“Stay at Hotel Estherea in Amsterdam Spring 3013”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed in this hotel in Amsterdam for 7 days. Great staff and service and great location off Singel, near the tram stop two streets over, and about 10 minutes from the Central Station. The decor of the hotel and rooms is outstanding - very European and botanical. Great coffee machine downstairs, available 24/7. Fresh flowers in the hotel are exceptional and beautifully presented. Great tropical aquarium. Beds are not as soft as they could be (update?) but duvets nice. Also, need more counter space in the bathrooms (small counter around the sinks), or perhaps a small side table for "overflow". Nice whirlpool tub! Overall, very pleasant. Thanks

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,532
    613
    111
    28
    23
See reviews for
374
1,245
76
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Israel
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I reserved this hotel thru Booking.com, for a 6 nights vacation in Amsterdam, the Netherlands, mostly based on the average price that was convenient (ca Euro 240/night in avg) and its location. The surprise was complete: first grade location - less than 5 minutes to Dam, ca 30 minutes walk to Concertgebow and Rijks Museum - leaving aside the closeness to public transport. There were a lot of restaurants around and they even recommended two of them for lunch and diner (though we did not use them). The cleanness was incredible. The decoration, Art Nouveau, was wonderrful, The coffees of several kinds, accompanied by sweets and small biscuits was free at any time, Two laptops stayed in the lobby waiting for the visitors to free use them.
The rooms were large enough with mini-fridge (free, two bottles of water per day) and safe. The bath room was large enough and equipped with all the needs. The entrance to the sleeping room was through a small hall provided with a table with information leaflets. The mattress, important for people with back problems, was excellent. They even provide slippers for the clients! In short: excellent from all points of view. And the team.....! So dear and caring, ready to serve the clients at any moment. Shortly: I recommend this hotel to anybody wanting a wonderful holiday in Amsterdam

Room Tip: All the rooms are directed to interior so they are silent. They have central heating in case of cold...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

The hotel is well situated for touring Amsterdam. It is comfortable, colourfully decorated and the rooms clean and well equipped, although a little small. The staff were very helpful when one of our party fell ill. Another time I would definitely pay extra for a canal view because our back room looked straight into the neighbour's room across a tiny courtyard. The breakfast buffet was excellent and hot drinks available free of charge all day.

Room Tip: Canal side preferable, although more money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Very clean and immaculate. Staff ultra polite and friendly. Complimentary coffee, tea and hot chocolate machines as well as biscuits and sweets. Rooms very pretty and comfortable.This is our second visit. Slept well on comfy beds, no noise from outside. all in all 10/10.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Wonderful hotel. Great location, staff beyond helpful, room absolutely beautiful. We had a room with canal view, it's worth the little extra cost. Breakfast was good, even if the room was a little crowded at times. Especially I want to mention how well my 4-year old daughter was received at the hotel. She was really made to feel as an appreciated guest and got a lot of attention from the staff.

Room Tip: Ask for canal view and room in a higher floor. We didn't have anything disturbing our sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Absolutely lovely hotel Beautiful interior, helpful staff and delicious breakfast.

I had a room overlooking the canal which was lovely, room was a bit small but was very comfortable and beautifully decorated (including the bathroom). The room was also very clean and continued to be kept to a high standard throughout the stay. Family members that I was traveling with had a room looking into the court yard and it was a little dark due to lack of natural light, however was still very well decorated.

The hotel had complementary coffee, hot chocolate, herbal tea and cakes in the foyer all day, very nice touch! A large variety of delicious choices where offered at breakfast, no one was disappointed, exceptional quality. Also there is a library with a variety of newspapers, books and also toys for the kids!

Overall an excellent hotel that I would certainly recommend and would definitely go back to!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Great character hotel. Lots of wood, solid upholstery and areas to meet guests.

First night of our stay we had power a power cut and heating failure but the staff were very helpfull and it turned into a slightly cold romantic candle lit night. I don't sleep much and always wake up early, except here. The beds and bedding were so comfortable that I slept 10 hours both nights, I naturally wake up after 5 hours. I would detour here just to sleep that well. Probably in the best position to get to the nice bits of central amsterdam and some of the best restaurants and bars are only a short walk.

The bar is understaffed because there are several people wanting a to enjoy a drink and the bar man is often called away to help arrivals. But the bar man gave me a free drink because it was my birthday and I had been waiting, so service still wins

Room Tip: I always stay in the same room because it has great furniture and a small balcony. But I am not tel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity, Otel, Venere, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Estherea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.