We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Estherea

Save Saved
You added Hotel Estherea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Estherea
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Singel 303-309, Amsterdam 1012 WJ, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Romantic Getaway
Ranked #17 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“amazing hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Girlfriend booked this as a surprise weekend away. Very well chosen. The hotel is lovely inside, the staff are all very very nice and friendly.
It located very well close to all the main attractions without the hassle of being beside them.
Would absolutely come back again.

Free treats after 12!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,094 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,371
    565
    106
    29
    23
See reviews for
326
1116
72
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

If you are reading this then you are probably already convinced that the Estherea is the place for you,so I won't repeat what has gone before,but I must remark on the staff who are absolutely first classs.
We had a deluxe room.203,which was delightful apart from the fact that the bath towels were rather tired and on the small side and the compact ! separate wc was well..... compact.Our only other minor gripe were the pillows,horrible polyester hollowfibre,lumpy and unforgiving.Come on Esther you wouldn't use these so don't inflict them on your clients.

Grump over,the hotel only serves breakfast so you can use room service with meals brought in from nearby restaurants or go out to eat and within 100 metres I recommend Lucuis,a fabulous fish restaurant,slightly expensive but worth it or Humphreys where for e24.95 you can have a wonderful 3 course dinner, but book or be prepared to wait a while.

If you don't want to stay in a modern city centre chain hotel then you will not find a better place to stay in Amsterdam,absolutely top notch.

Oh I forgot to mention that for the energetic there is a fully equipped gym.

Room Tip: Canal view rooms are probably the most desirable but the street view rooms are also pretty good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

If you would like to stay in a beautiful 17th century historic row house, Hotel Estheréa is the place for you! It's a jewel of a boutique hotel with lush décor and excellent service. It boasts a great location with a variety of restaurants nearby (treat yourself to afternoon tea at The Promenade in a canal side table, dinner at Michelin starred Bord’Eau or take a short walk and eat with the locals at Singel 101 which was so good we went twice during our brief stay). The hotel has several lovely and welcoming public spaces that are quiet, perfect for lounging and taking a break from the hustle and bustle of the city. The self-serve lobby espresso is quite convenient -- we need our morning coffee but preferred to eat breakfast or lunch at nearby bakeries. You can walk to all the "must sees" of the city or use the public transportation that has close stops near the hotel. We had a canal view room that was pristine with a large sized bathroom and great linens. Street noise from passersby was infrequent but if you are a light sleeper the earplugs the hotel offers will muffle any sound. The wallpaper, upholstery and crystal chandeliers in this place are to die for -- tasteful opulence. The Wi-Fi worked without a hitch and we both had to access it often for work. But the shining star in this great little gem of a hotel is that it has the best hotel manager we have encountered (and we are seasoned travelers) -- Mr. Arjan Janssen. After an overnight flight from Nairobi we had a minor complaint, which he immediately remedied. He is a professional man who attentively listens and is aware that vacation time is precious. He is obviously focused on the guests and making sure that Hotel Estheréa will be included in your memories of a wonderful experience in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We had a wonderful stay here on our Honeymoon. We were here for 3 or 4 nights over New Years.
The hotel is in an excellent location, only 5 minutes walk from the main square and tourist areas.

This was absolutely mental on new years eve with fireworks and other crazy loud explosions going on all around the place. It was great fun watching the locals trying to blow themselves up.

The hotel is very well presented and had a great atmosphere.
The rooms were decorated nicely and the bed was comfortable.
I think we had a loud group of people on the first night next to us, and the noise stopped when they shut the window to the alfresco between our rooms. Plus for New Years this is to be expected and not any fault of the hotel.

They have a very cool salt water aquarium in the lobby and a couple of computers you can use the internet on for free.

We had a little drama on our arrival, which was in no way the hotels fault. We forgot the hotel only reserves the room, and as all our other rooms had been paid several months earlier we thought we had paid for it. They were very good and allowed us to use the computer to check the booking online.

The hotel has an interesting, leave the room key at the front desk when you go out.
I'm not exactly sure the reason for this. Perhaps it is keys get “forgotten about” at the local “cafes”.
We didn't have an issue with it. There is always someone there to greet you on return.

The breakfast in the morning was very nice. There is a good range of food to choose from, however this is not your large scale hotel buffet so anyone looking for that should go to a large size hotel... (do they even have them in Amsterdam?).

We would stay here again and recommend it to friends :)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here over christmas 2012 and loved it, the location is brilliant everything is within a 5 to 15 min walk from the hotel. The decor is opulant and cosy and our room (no 42) was decorated very plush with a great view over the street and shops below, even though we didn't have a canal view seeing all the wobbly dutch house stacked against each other was still pleasant! The room was small but perfectly formed and a great bathroom with whirlpool bath, walk in shower and double sinks. The loo was separate which felt abit cramped like it was in a cupboard but was ok. We would definately stay here again for the comfort and location alone. Free tea and coffee in the lobby is nice but the bar although comfortable could do with more of a selection.We had breakfast in bed on our last day as a treat and it was delicious!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful weekend with my two little boys in Amsterdam. I've stayed in many nice places around the world and I can't say enough about this hotel. It is centrally located near the train station and close to all the nice shops, restaurants and sights. For me, this is the perfect boutique hotel. Beautifully decorated lobby, friendly staff, and lots of extras for the guests in the lobby (computers to check emails, newspapers & magazines, and coffee/tea/hot chocolate). The room was gorgeous with nice bedding and a large bathroom. I just wish I had more time to enjoy the hotel. I have to commend the hotel staff as everything (hotel room and common areas) was maintained in tip top shape. Only one complaint in this digital age was that wifi was not free. Nevertheless, I will definitely come back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Have just returned from a weekend here.Hotel located in lovely area of Amsterdam with plenty of cafes,restaurants and individual shops nearby and within walking distance of most major attractions.We had a canal view room on the first floor ,it was spacious,sumptuously decorated and spotlessly clean. The bathroom however was tiny and had a louvre door,so little privacy!There was very poor sound insulation and we could hear ablutions from the room above!
The hotel staff were without exception,helpful,friendly,courteous and knowledgable.The buffet breakfast was superb and had everything you could possibly want and was of high quality.The public rooms were opulently decorated and completely OTT but in a good way! There was excellent coffee,tea ,sweets,biscuits etc. available 24 hours a day for free.Possibly the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in!A unique hotel far nicer than a corporate hotel experience only slightly mared by the minute bathroom and noise issue.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Address: Singel 303-309, Amsterdam 1012 WJ, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Estherea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.