We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, well located” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Estherea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Estherea to your Saves list
Hotel Estherea
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #16 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, well located”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

A fabulously opulent room and fantastic breakfast were the highlights of my brief stay at this hotel. It is also very well located and had friendly staff. The lounge areas were very impressive too - with a nice library area, tropical fish tank and fake (TV) fire!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,716
    688
    119
    32
    27
See reviews for
415
1,397
84
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Couldn't ask for a nicer place to spend three days exploring Amsterdam. The location was perfect on the Singel Canal. Very easy to walk to all the main attractions. Conveniently located from Amsterdam Centraal. We took a taxi to the hotel because it was raining, and only cost 8 euro, but it was only a fifteen minute walk. The hotel felt luxurious but not stuffy. The rooms were spacious and beautifully decorated. All the little extra details should give this hotel five stars. They provided us with an iPad to use for our entire stay, umbrellas, ponchos, free coffee, hot chocolate, tea and cookies in the lobby. We didn't have breakfast in the hotel, but right on the corner is a great deli for croissants, and eggs. Looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed one night in this hotel while visiting Amsterdam. The hotel is beautiful and the staff were very nice. The room was clear and very nicely decorated. There was a small step up from the bedroom into the bathroom. The floor was dark slate and I think this was very dangerous. It was difficult to see that there was a step up... The bathroom itself was really beautiful and well done. In the lobby they had a wonderful expresso machine that was free. Very nice perk! Staff all were very friendly and spoke English well.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The Estherea is a great place for a romantic getaway. It is situated on the Singel canal right on the edge of the 9 Streets, a fantastic section of the canals full of stylish independent shops and cafes. But it's also easily accessible to Amsterdam's other attractions. The lobby and rooms are decorated in highly colourful fabrics and fittings that are just on the right side of quirky. Our room had a huge, very comfortable four-poster bed. There is a nice bar downstairs and free coffee, tea, hot chocolate and biscuits for guests. My only quibble would be that it felt quite expensive for the size of the room we had, though we did have a canal view. However, it was the least priceyof the boutique hotels in the area. Though not as well known as the Dylan or the Pulitzer, we would say it's a very good alternative to them if you want to stay on the canals.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Hordaland, Norway
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Last weekend was the second weekend I and two of my friends stayed at Hotel Estherea. All three of us are travellers, but this hotel is one of our absolute favourites. If it were possible to give more than five points, we would - without any hesitation - give it at least seven ... The rooms are superb, the baroque design charming, the staff helpful and the breakfast excellent. We are already planning - and looking forward to - our next stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

First and foremost: The location of this hotel is fantastic, 15 minutes away from Amsterdam Centraal, in the heart of old amsterdam. Well within walking distance to most attractions, and the train which takes you directly to and from the airport and anyplace else in Holland you could want to go.
The rooms are clean and decent sized with small wall mounted flat panel TV's and nice bathrooms. Since it is an old building however, the floors, ceilings and walls are very thin and sometimes creaky so if your neighbors are loud, you may have some small issues.
The hotel has wifi, but it is not available to you unless you a) book through their website and join their "friends of estherea" group or b) pay 10 euros per day. To throw a twist into this scheme, they will allow you to check out an iPad (so long as they aren't all locked away in the safe which happens after 11pm) but not get your laptop on.

I almost never saw the same staff twice, and the night staff seemed less friendly and less trained then the day staff. Overall I can't complain too much, but if wifi had been free, they would've easily earned 5 stars.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novara
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We decided for this hotel following the good feedbacks they got here on Tripadvisor, and we cannot complain.
The hall is cozy, with an aquarium/wall, and a nice living room, two further rooms are furnished with tables and chairs, we enjoyed more then once reading a book there or surfing the internet, the wi-fi is available allover the hotel, the connection is a bit slow, we got it for free booking it in advance with the room.
The room was way bigger than what we expected from the classic room that we had chosen, considering the standards around in Amsterdam. Our room had a comfortable king size bed, a nice bathroom and also room for our things. The bathroom featured a bathtub with shower, and the soaps etc were good and for two.
Breakfast costed us 16 euro per person, but was worth it, as the small buffet offers a complete continental choice of sweets and salty, including salads and wine. The buffet is very well kept and it is difficult to find something leaking, also when it is crowded. definitely worth theprice as after that we were able to reach dinner without stopping. There is also a choice of hot and cold beverages, always available in the lobby.
The position of the hotel is perfect, on a quiet canal, in a safe area, 2 minutes away fro Dam square by feet. We got there from the airport with a taxi for 45 €, we went back to the airport with the train with less than 10 €, you just need to reach the train station with one of the frequent tram from Dam and then a train takes you right in the hall of the airport.
The only little flaw, the cleanliness of the rooms is sometimes a bit hasty.
Overall, a positive experience, will for sure recommend this hotel.

-

Abbiamo scelto questo hotel per le buone recensioni lette proprio qui, e non ce ne siamo affatto pentiti.
La hall è particolare, molto arredata, con uno scenico acquario/parete e un comodo salotto, subito accanto altri due locali con tavolo, sedie e poltrone, dove nel corso del soggiorno ci siam più volte fermati per leggere un libro o navigare su internet (wi-fi in tutta la struttura, a pagamento, anche se prenotandolo con la stanza ci è stato omaggiato, un po' lenta la connessione).
la camera ci ha sorpreso, abbiamo scelto la sistemazione "classic" e ci aspettavamo una stanza decisamente più piccola visti gli standard in città, e invece la stanza era vivibile, arredata in stile classico. Il letto king size abbastanza comodo, il bagno con vasca e doccia a telefono, kit di cortesia completo, per due persone.
La colazione ci è costata 16 euro a persona, non avendo prenotato in anticipo, a un primo impatto sembra piccola, ma in realtà su un buffet non ampissimo si trova quasi tutto di dolce e salato, fino alle insalate, in linea con gli standard europei. Il buffet è molto seguito e non manca mai nulla, nonostante l'alta affluenza. Nel complesso vale la cifra spesa, anche considerato che dopo una colazione abbondante non ci siamo mai dovuti fermare per pranzo durante la giornata.
Nella hall c'è anche la possibilità di prendere bevande calde e fredde gratuitamente, 24h.
LA posizione è eccezionale, 2 minuti a piedi da piazza Dam, la zona è tranquilla e sicura, si raggiungono tutte le attrazioni principali in al massimo 30 minuti a piedi. Da schiphol all'arrivo abbiamo scelto un taxi, per 45 €, al ritorno prendendo il tram per la stazione da Dam e quindi il treno, si arriva velocemente in aeroporto per meno di 10€.
Il personale è cortese anche se essendoci diverse persone alla reception bisogna sempre presentarsi con il cognome con cui si ha prenotato per richiedere la propria chiave.
La porta dell'albergo chiude alle 23 e dopo quell'ora bisogna farsi riconoscere al citofono per entrare.
Unica pecca, la pulizia delle camere è forse un po' frettolosa.
Nel complesso una esperienza positiva, consiglierei tranquillamente l'hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, EasyToBook and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Estherea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.